Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public
Richmond, CA
Students enrolled: 350
Before care: No
After care: No

4 stars
Based on 41 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


44 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Valley View Elementary School 5

Posted January 14, 2015
- a parent
Valley View is a wonderful neighborhood school. Don't let the (needs-a-facelift) exterior fool you - the inside is full of energetic and dynamic teachers, caring staff members, and a community of families that support each other. The parents club is the backbone of the school, providing extracurricular activities for the students through the After School Enrichment Program, and financing classroom activities and programs that are not funded by the district. There is a very strong sense of community at Valley View that sets it apart from the other WCCUSD schools.
2 people found this helpful

Valley View Elementary School 5

Posted January 13, 2015
- a parent
I love our school and I think you will too! Please come to our Incoming Kindergarten/New Family Tour on Thursday, January 15, 2015, 9:30 - 10:45 a.m. Come for a school tour and meet the dynamic group of teachers and parents who are building a great public school in El Sobrante. Learn all about our programs, and what sets us apart. Light refreshments will be served and children are welcome. RSVP at: valleyviewcommunity@gmail.com or call the school at 510-223-6363.


Valley View Elementary School 5

Posted November 20, 2014
- a parent
Our son is in Kindergarten, and we LOVE Valley View. His teacher is wonderful--enthusiastic, energetic, and incredibly on top of fostering a positive community in her classroom. Our son is now doing reading, writing, and math at a level that I didn't even touch in school until the end of my 1st grade year. The afterschool enrichment programs are great, and my son loved the science program this semester. The parents club is very active and does a great deal to support and enrich the experiences of all kids at the school. And on the rare occasions that I have brought up a troubling dynamic with other children or parents, the teacher and principal responded immediately and reinforced that they always want to know right away when parents notice something that might be an issue. They are ON IT. We are so fortunate to have this school right around the corner from us. The diversity of children and families is such a terrific mix, and my son is really enjoying school and learning a lot. It's a real neighborhood school.
2 people found this helpful

Valley View Elementary School 5

Posted October 16, 2014
- a parent
This is a great school. I don't understand why people are writing bad reviews. I understand there might be some issues that need to be address, but overall the school is good and improving every day. We have the most wonderful first grade teacher. She is great and organized, her method of teaching is great. she encourage our children to do their best every day. The Valley View parent club is awesome, they brought back music to the school and recently the After School Enrichment Program (ASEP) allow students to have a variety of classes such as LEGO ROBOTICS, MAD SCIENCE, QUILTING, and HOMEWORK CLUB, . Valley View is a school that welcomes everyone no doubt. We are very happy to be part of this great community.
3 people found this helpful

Valley View Elementary School 5

Posted October 02, 2014
- a parent
We were initially leery about sending our Kindergartener to VV considering some of the horrendous reviews below. After actually taking the time to speak with parents of children who have attended Valley View for several years and visiting we decided we would make a go of it and we couldn't be happier!! My daughter loves her class- she comes home telling me all the wonderfully engaging activities she gets to do daily. We look forward to being part of the VV community for many years to come. One huge suggestion- don't let reviews from this or other websites sway you. Come check us out! Between the amazing teachers & staff, the great after school enrichment classes & the VERY hard working parents club, Valley View has transformed into a spectacular environment for students.
3 people found this helpful


Valley View Elementary School 5

Posted September 21, 2014
- a parent
Great School!!! I love the community, the new principal is working very hard with teachers, parents, stuff and community members to make the school the great school we knew. I have been in Vally View since 2005 and experienced the difficulties for the last years when we had principal issues, but the new principal is bringing the school together again. We have great teacher who do their best despite the difficulties of having many students in their classrooms. We love and support Valley View our great school.
3 people found this helpful

Valley View Elementary School 5

Posted September 18, 2014
- a parent
Valley View is beginning to thrive again! My daughter is in 1st grade, and her second year at Valley View. We are exceptionally pleased with the changes that have been occurring during this time. We were well aware of the troubled past with poor principals, but the current one is phenomenal! She is engaged, interacts with the kids, talks to the parents, and really has our children's success at the forefront of her mission. The teachers are also fantastic. A huge part of the school's success is the relentless Parents' Club, who has brought in the SF Opera, has just opened enrollment for our 3rd session of After School Enrichment Programs, and is continually thinking up new ways to include every student and family in the VV community. There was a lot of mess to clean up, but the current team work and collaboration at this school is making it better than ever! I am proud to have my daughter learn and grow here.
4 people found this helpful

Valley View Elementary School 3

Posted September 17, 2014
- a parent
A comment on the 4/5 grade split class for 2013-2014: Frankly, only those who had children in the class or TRIED to participate in helping in the classroom or for class events, should comment. No one is interested in hearing about what one THINKS the experience was like. This class was FULL of families that give much time, money and energy in to Valley View. Plus the majority of them had been doing so the whole 5/6 years. Attitudes were stellar among the families, and their frustrations were valid. The bottom line is, they made the best of it because there was no other choice other than to pull their kids out of the school. How do you know that parents didn't try to be part of the solution? Are you privy to the countless conversations many of these parents had with the teacher and principal?


Valley View Elementary School 4

Posted September 04, 2014
- a parent
I love the feeling of community at Valley View. There is a lot of parent involvement on all levels. The principal is friendly, but firm, easily accessible and interacts well with students and parents. This is her second year at Valley View and fits well with the school culture.

Valley View Elementary School 5

Posted August 17, 2014
- a parent
Valley View has amazing teachers, a strong community of families, and a new principal who, going on her second year, is successfully leading the school in a great direction. ZSharp and and the SF Opera music programs will be continuing into their second year at Valley View, exposing students to professional music, opera, and theatre production. It's an exciting time to be at Valley View and we are so glad that our two children attend this school.
1 person found this helpful

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Valley View Elementary School
3416 Maywood Drive, Richmond, CA  94803
(510) 223-6363
Last modified Valley View Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Valley View Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 44 reviews. Top