Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public
Richmond, CA
Students enrolled: 437
Before care: No
After care: Yes

3 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Washington Elementary School 1

Posted September 12, 2014
- a parent
Unfortunately, leadership is lacking. Pulled my daughter out after 4th grade and sent her to Olinda.

Washington Elementary School 1

Posted September 08, 2014
- a parent
This school only offers a sub-par dual immersion program. Some of the teachers are competent while others are not. So you must hope your child is assigned the higher performing teacher. There is little teacher, parent or student support. Leadership is lacking and there is no synergistic approach to student learning between teachers or the day and after school programs. Don't expect any enrichment or support for high performing or average students - no literacy night, art night, meet and greet with principal, no math night, no science fair, no attendance assemblies, no student awards, no teacher awards, no spelling bee. If it were not for dual immersion most of the parents would not enroll their children into the school. You sacrifice so much for language immersion. The PTA host most of the events but the principal doesn't attend, even when it is at the school.


Washington Elementary School 1

Posted September 08, 2014
- a parent
Qualified, dedicated, enthusiastic teacher retention is low. No leadership. The afterschool program is disorganized. Bathrooms are unsanitary. Sometimes your child is assigned to a competent teacher and sometimes they are not. My son would have been enrolled in the 6th grade class there this year but the program is compromised after 3rd grade. Too bad. The former principal was a gem.

Washington Elementary School 1

Posted November 09, 2013
- a parent
Washington seems to have two very different schools on one campus: Dual Immersion (bilingual) and English only. Unfortunately, the English only classes are crowded (33 students to 1 teacher) with no aides and almost no volunteers in upper grades. Teachers deal with broken desks, windows and doors and are often missing state-mandated education materials (including textbooks). My child didn't have all her math books and materials until early December. Many of the teachers are excellent, but outside class the atmosphere is one of constant bullying which is tolerated by the principal. Even students who start physical fights, shout racist and sexist slurs, and throw things at adults are allowed back in school the next day. There's no clear code of conduct for the entire school and teachers are on their own. The free after school program (different from Y-Care) is plagued with the same discipline problems and high staff turnover. There have also been too many intruders on campus, including men who aren't parents or staff. We didn't feel safe there and were very disappointed.

Washington Elementary School 4

Posted August 04, 2013
- a parent
Washington's dual immersion program is a gem! My son is entering 6th grade this Fall and has been in the program since kindergarten. He has had one terrific teacher after another -- the program attracts not only seasoned professionals who have continued to build their skills as dual immersion educators, but we have also had inspired, energetic Teach for America teachers who have been terrific. This is a great program and school for families who want their children to be bilingual and biliterate.


Washington Elementary School 5

Posted April 10, 2011
- a parent
Tengo dos hijas en el programa de doble inmersion, mi hija mayor esta en segundo grado, lee como un ni o de tercer grado, en los dos idiomas, a pesar que en casa solo hablamos espa ol. Mi hija menor esta en kindergarden y ya esta empezando a leer, cada dia estan ansiosas por ir a la escuela, gracias al ambiente que se respira ahi. Gracias: Sra Directora, Maestros y Padres voluntarios!!

Washington Elementary School 4

Posted September 17, 2009
- a parent
because the teachers are great!

Washington Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
Washington Elementary School in Berkeley California epitomizes a strong sense of a caring and supportive community.


Washington Elementary School 5

Posted May 21, 2009
- a parent
This school is peaceful and pleasant. The teachers and staff are happy to be there. Parents are pleasant and my children are in their excellent Spanish/English Dual Immersion program.

Washington Elementary School 4

Posted May 04, 2009
- a parent
I'm very pleased at the progress my son is making in the Dual Immersion Spanish Program. By first grade he is writing and reading above grade level in both English and Spanish, though we only speak English at home. He is challenged through this program, where he might have bored at another school as an early reader. Definately happen we applied for a transfer, and I look forward to having my other child there soon.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Washington Elementary School
565 Wine Street, Richmond, CA  94801
(510) 231-1417
Last modified Washington Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Washington Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top