Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

D. H. White Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 5, 2014

There will never be 100% satisfaction with every parent so I will speak from my past experience with other school districts, My child started 'K" at a school in Fairfield and was sent home early everyday. The teachers didn't have time to work with a child who needed something extra because they had 34 other students. When I enrolled my child at DH white, I braced for the worse. My child NEVER got sent home. My child had 4's all year long ( which is considered 80-100% proficient) The teacher was very honest with me and told me what my child needed to work on, but it wasn't academics! My child is now going into second grade and is reading at a 4th grade level. The teacher took the time to realize my child needed harder work and books sent home. The school had a new principal start last year and from what I hear, he's better then the last. The classes have about 23 students which is a lot better than 35. Im scoring this school a 5. I don't think a bad relationship between a parent and teacher speaks about the school as a hole. Unfortunately, this school doesn't have an afterschool program which would be great in a little city with no childcare BUT provide FREE bussing services.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2014

This school is terrible, and I find it interesting that my previous review was deleted from this site. I'm not gonna go through the whole thing again, but I will say the bottom line is if you want your child to have a good education DO NOT send them here... I will say that the only good teacher they had was Mr. Wright but he no longer works there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2012

This School didn't do anything to help my Daughter in her education at all. All the teachers would say is that she is a pleasant to have in classand that she there is nothing she needs help with. She went there for kindergarten to 2nd grade. When we moved we found out she was way behind and has a learning disability. If you want your kids to get a great education look into other schools for it. This school will not give it to your children! I am only giving it 1 star because it wont let me leave it empty.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2010

I do not understand how this school has a 6 out of 10 rating. The teacher my child had for 2009-2010 was terrible. I am really hoping this year will be better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2009

DH White has incredible teachers!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

D.H. White school has the best teachers, staff and parent involement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2008

We are now going on to our second year at this school and we are looking forward to it. My daughter loves it here and I am finding myself glowing with pride when I talk about D.H White. The are a lot of things that this school needs to do to become a bit more modern but funds are hard to come by. We are going to be getting new computers this year thanks to the fundraising by the PTC. I am a stay at home mom for now so I have more time then others so I volunteer as much as I can. I joined the Parent Teacher Club and I love the feel of knowing more about the goings on at school. The staff are wonderful people and they work very hard for our kids. I wish we had better parent involvement but at every event I saw the same few parents. This is a public school after all so parents need to help out when ever and where ever they can. I am going to be happy to be sending my youngest to this school as well. I'm going to be at this school for a long time. Hope to see you here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2008

My child is in Kindergarten at this school and would be lucky to have any one of the kindergarten teachers here. They are all fabulous, energetic, and attentive to the kids. They make themselves easily accessible to the parents. The school is typical of a small town in that the staff knows all the students and a lot of the parents and families, but I come from a big city and I think this is wonderful! It makes me confident in knowing that my child and my requests will not be ignored and lost in the system. The office staff is great and the PTA group is dedicated and welcoming to all parents that are interested in helping in any way they can. I work full time and have still been able to find a way to be involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2008

I had my son attend here for 1st and 2nd grade. His first grade teacher was Ms Fredrick and she was very attentive to the students. My son enjoyed going to school and doing his homework. His Second grade teacher ( Ms. Hunt) is very motivating to her students. She really helped my son improve in his reading skills. Overall the teachers have been good. The school administrative needs more assistance. Principal is not always around. Short on staff in the office. This town a is your typical small town feel. Where everyone knows your name and your business. They gossip too much amongst each other. There is not enough diversity within the town or the school. If it wasn't for the Superb Teachers ( Ms. Fredrick is no longer teaching there) I would not have my child in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2008

This school is a decent school, my child is in kindergarten at this school and had 2 fabulous teachers his first teacher was a temporary Mrs. Saldana and his current teacher Ms. Bonner is also amazing they both care a lot for the children and make lots of efforts to help all chilren. I work in the class frequently and couldnt ask for a better teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2007

My child attended this school for 5 LONG years. There are very few good teachers at this school. My child only received a decent teacher in 4th grade as there weren't any bad 4th grade teachers. [My] child does not fall at or below the national standard there isn't any effort put in to helping [her] exceed that standard. This started in Kindergarten and went thru 3rd grade. The principal is very unhelpful [to us] and doesn't seem to want to be there most of the time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2007

Last year my daughter was in first grade and really loved it. Her teachers were wonderful and cared about her and her progress. First grade is great as they separate into groups per reading level and all the first grade teachers are pretty good. Second grade seems to be another story. As far as I can tell there is only one possibly two good second grade teachers and my daughter does not have them. She is in the top of her class academically but is bored and has become unmotivated to read or excel as she is forced to perform on an average or below level and the work is easy and boring for her. There are no programs for students like this and the teachers don't show any sign of caring for her academically or personally that I can tell. I work in the class what else can I do?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2006

The kindergarten program at this school is stellar. The parent involvement is very strong and the school provides an after school choir; fall, Christmas, and Spring musical.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2005

Last year was our first year at DH White school and I felt our daughter was very blessed to have Mr. Nick Glende as her teacher. He is very focused and attentive to his students. My daughter attended pre-school before going into Kindergarten, but she really didn't show any interest in reading until Mr. Glende worked with her and got her really excited. I was a parent helper in her class, and was fortunate to observe his work. The only thing that I have been disapointed in at DH White is the lack of activities outside of the class rooom for our kindergarteners and the lack of parental involvement. I am a working mother and still found the time to be there for my child and as a resource for her teacher. Unfortunatly I am one of a very small group. We need to be partners to expect excellence!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2004

I love this school. My kids are coming home from school eager to do their homework, and keen to learn. Both of my sons are already reading Harry Potter books (all 400+ pages) and they are only in first and second grade!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

834

Change from
2012 to 2013

+18

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

5 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

3 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

834

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+18

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

5 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

3 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
33%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
41%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
26%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
41%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
77%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students72%
Females77%
Males68%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino65%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)78%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability77%
English learner64%
Fluent-English proficient and English only77%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate57%
Parent education - high school graduate59%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)89%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students83%
Females90%
Males78%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino82%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability88%
English learner86%
Fluent-English proficient and English only83%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate79%
Parent education - high school graduate76%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)89%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students56%
Females58%
Males54%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino35%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)65%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability56%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only59%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate47%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)50%
Parent education - college graduate75%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students63%
Females61%
Males66%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino60%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)65%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability65%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only62%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate47%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)58%
Parent education - college graduate75%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students75%
Females68%
Males79%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability78%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only78%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)82%
Parent education - college graduate71%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students78%
Females84%
Males74%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino73%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability81%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only80%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)79%
Parent education - college graduate71%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students45%
Females62%
Males25%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino29%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)51%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Not economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability49%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only52%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate33%
Parent education - high school graduate38%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)48%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students55%
Females67%
Males39%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino47%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)57%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability58%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only60%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate31%
Parent education - high school graduate54%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)65%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students41%
Females45%
Males35%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino38%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)43%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Not economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability40%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only47%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate33%
Parent education - high school graduate23%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)50%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 56%
Hispanic 33%
Two or more races 6%
Black 2%
Asian 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 44%N/AN/A
English language learners 21%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 4%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Pierre Laleau
Fax number
  • (707) 374-4364

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

500 Elm Way
Rio Vista, CA 94571
Website: Click here
Phone: (707) 374-5335

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Paideia Academy
Bethel Island, CA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT