Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
184 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 25 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St. Thomas The Apostle School 2

Posted July 10, 2016
- a community member
My children attended this school, and none of them speak favorably of their experiences here.

St. Thomas The Apostle School
Grateful to: Student

Posted July 10, 2016
- a community member
I would thank my kids for working so hard, and congratulate them on succeeding in a school with so many negatives.


St. Thomas The Apostle School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted July 10, 2016
- a community member
As a whole, the teachers appeared sincere and hardworking, but few of them make a favorable impression as educators, especially when school-parent communications are rife with errors in spelling, punctuation, and grammar.

St. Thomas The Apostle School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted July 10, 2016
- a community member
Homework seemed to be a rarity, and what is given is often trivial. Reading never seemed to be age/grade level appropriate, either.

St. Thomas The Apostle School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted July 10, 2016
- a community member
Probably not, at least not any more nor any less than any other school does.


St. Thomas The Apostle School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted July 10, 2016
- a community member
Bullying has been a problem long ignored at this school. Administration pays lip service to the problem, but as long as the tuition check doesn't bounce, the troublemakers are allowed to attend.

St. Thomas The Apostle School 5

Posted May 07, 2013
- a parent
My children currently attend St. Thomas and I can't say enough positive things about the school. The staff is so welcoming and loving to students and parents. I drive 20 minutes so my children get the quality education they do at St. Thomas. There are other private schools closer to me, but as soon as I walked into St. Thomas I felt like I was home

St. Thomas The Apostle School 5

Posted October 08, 2012
- a teacher
I am a parent of three St. Thomas graduates and a teacher at St. Thomas School. I cannot say enough about the school, its faculty/staff and the wonderful families who are a part of our community. Like in many small communities, things get miscommunicated and misunderstood and unfortunately parents second guess their decisions. Parents need to choose a school that is a good fit for their children and themselves and then work with the teachers in providing the best education possible. Parents are the primary educators of their children and St. Thomas School supports this 100%. Our Schoolwide Learning Expectations are truly lived in and beyond our school. Our students become Faith-filled Catholics, Life-Long Learners, Effective Communicators and Responsible Students ready to face challenges that may lie ahead. Our school philosophy and mission statements are the driving force to providing our students with a solid spiritual and academic curriculum that educates the whole child. All three of my children graduated from universities and are successful adults in their fields. It is without any doubt that St. Thomas School laid a foundation that led to their success.


St. Thomas The Apostle School 2

Posted August 07, 2012
- a parent
My son attended St.Thomas School for Kinder 2011-2012. It all started out great. Mrs. Ryerson was amazing with our son. We were very happy with every aspect of the school. But once she left it all went downhill. Communication was terrible and we were offered no support for him and his needs. If your child fits into their mold then I am sure this would be a great school for them but I would think twice otherwise. When he interviewed they were fully aware of him and his needs. We were assured that it would not be an issue. But it turned out to not be true when it came down to it. The school constantly pushes boosting enrollment.They talk about the decrease in enrollment at Catholic Schools. After this year I can understand why this is such an issue. They don't care about helping children succeed they care more about tution and their scrip and fundraising requirements. We are moving to a better fit for our son. We feel very blessed that all the flaws of the school came to light this year and he did contiue on without the proper school support.

St. Thomas The Apostle School 5

Posted February 03, 2012
- a parent
My two daughters currently attend St Thomas school and I thank God they do. The teachers, staff and Administration are second to none. They enforce family values; Catholic morals, quality education, student safety and the Administration are quick to address issues with students. My daughters Love the school. They Love their teachers, teachers aids and the different school functions throughout the year. We are pleasewd to welcome St Thomas into our family . Thank You St Thomas, Mrs Thompson and facility.

Nearby schools

St. Thomas The Apostle School
9136 Magnolia Avenue, Riverside, CA  92503
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. (951) 689-1981
Last modified St. Thomas The Apostle School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top