Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


19 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Arizona Middle School 2

Posted August 13, 2013
- a parent
This school has no reviews from 2009-20012 and only 1 in 2013. There are great reviews from 2008 and before. These reviews are definately outdated. This school provides students with limited (if any) opportunities for extra curricular activities. Cheerleaders, soccer team, and any other sport at this school is only based on who you know and does not give all students equal opportunity to join a sport. In the past, school is undoubtedly the best place for children to be involved in sports. This school does not promote that. You can only be a part of the sports team or activities, if you know someone who is doing the picking and choosing. The college promotion program (AVID) at Arizona Middle School is not for everyone to join. In fact they interview your student and then send a letter whether you are accepted into the program or rejected in being college bound. My daughter took the initiative and wanted to be a part of this program. After 1 interview with 1 person, she received a letter of rejection. So, basically there are no activities that your child can be apart of unless they interview and are approved by the interviewer. This leaves a student with no opportunities to improve.

Arizona Middle School 4

Posted June 06, 2013
- a community member
Middle school is difficult. Not everyone gets along, but staff tries their best to stop and prevent bullying. The teachers are fun and most know what they're doing. Arizona isn't the nicest looking school but many students, staff, and parents try and keep it clean. It's fifty years old, it shouldn't look brand new and perfect. Overall, Arizona Middle School gives students a good education and makes things fun. I loved my three years at Arizona and I will miss it when I go to Hillcrest.


Arizona Middle School 0
no rating

Posted June 30, 2009
- a student
This School Is amazing! I love it(:'

Arizona Middle School 5

Posted June 11, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Arizona Middle School 5

Posted June 25, 2008
- a parent
my son goes to Arizona Middle School and he gets a very good education and the teachers are great


Arizona Middle School 4

Posted May 22, 2008
- a parent
My son and two nieces currently attend Arizona Middle School. The staff is great and the activities are good for the students. The after school program is awesome. Test scores are comparable. Our sports program is awesome and growing. I recommend this school to anyone. My son is a honors student and is going to La Sierra next year in the AP program.

Arizona Middle School 1

Posted November 01, 2007
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Arizona Middle School 5

Posted October 04, 2007
- a student
I'm currently attending Arizona Middle School, receiving straight-As, and participating in several of the clubs offered by my school. I think very highly of my school (and coming from a student, that should mean a lot), but if I were to congratulate it in one aspect, I would have to say that whoever interviewed and chose the staff members (the principal, I would assume) did an excellent job. Every teacher I've ever had at this school has put extra effort into making it easy for me to learn. Almost all of the teachers are strict when it comes to enforcing rules and making sure we learn the concepts yet very cool and upbeat. Students actually enjoy classes, but the teachers make to discipline us as well. Also, the counselours are always kind and ready to be helpful. Overall, I am proud to call myself a soon-to-be alumni of this school.


Arizona Middle School 5

Posted August 20, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Arizona Middle School 4

Posted March 29, 2007
- a former student
There are both good and bad things at this school. The mathematics department is having trouble for a reason; the school has a lot of new teachers. Some positive aspects include Pentathlon (the signature club), AVID (from which it became a model school), and a friendly atmosphere. Arizona may also be very old- but will get a new two-story building in fall 2007; in addition, the district is expecting a new gym for it in the future. Test scores have risen dramatically over the years. If people would just give it a chance, then it would be just as good as any wealthy middle school in places like Irvine or Poway.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Arizona Middle School
11045 Arizona Avenue, Riverside, CA  92503
(951) 358-1675
Last modified Arizona Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Arizona Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top