Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

S. Christa Mcauliffe Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 741 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 28, 2014

S. Christa McAuliffe Elementary School has been our daughter's school since K, we loved the environment in there since the first day of school, her first teacher was Ms. Coupe, she was a great teacher, our daughter loves her! She's in 4th grade now and we are still very thankful with Mcauliffe School, our daughter feels very confident about getting involved in every single activity they offer to students, they learn about how to become to be good citizens and respect others. They offer our kids good basis for their own future. I truly believe is the best school in this area of Riverside. The only inconvenient we have are the hours that changed this year for entrance and our schedule is very tight, but is something we can work out. Thank you!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2014

Christa McAuliffe School is an awesome school. The teachers are very caring, polite, educated, and serious about not only providing students with the knowledge they will need to succeed, they are also concerned with helping students to become good citizens as well. The principal is involved and always makes sure all staff is knowledgeable about new agendas. I'm proud to have a granddaughter attend this school.


Posted August 22, 2013

S. Christa McAuliffe Elementary School has become a part of our family. Has some of the best teacher, who want to help with our children needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2010

This has been a great school for all our 3 childern, two of which are still there (grades K and 2). The teachers have been so genuine and involved with the kids that it's renewed my faith in public educators and public education in general. We considered Catholic school as I am a product of that system and know it well but our experience here has convinced me that we couldn't do better!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2009

I love this school and my child lovews this school. My childs teacher is awesome,Ms Coupe. And the staff is wondefull!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2008

This school is amazing! We offer choir, chess club, drama club and art club on a weekly/monthly basis. The staff are exceptional - high quality teachers all around who truly care about what is best for their students. I have taught her for 3+ years now and have been so impressed with the wonderful students that have come into my classroom. I personally make a sincere effort to keep up communication with parents and to also remain academically focused, positive and flexible. I am priviledged to work at the highest performing school in the school district. Go McAuliffe!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 19, 2007

This is our first year at McAuliffe and our first experience with a public school. Our daughter is in 2nd Grade and, with exception of the candy incentives, we could not be happier! Her teacher is enthusiastic and a true lifelong learning advocate who seamlessly and effectively relates the subject of the class with other subjects, creating a curriculum that is at once exciting, informative, and meaningful to everyday living. From art to p.e. to appropriately planned field trips, this teacher is a model of excellence and we feel blessed to send our child to her for 6 hours a day. My only hope is that we should be so lucky in her classes as she continues at this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2007

The school is the best in the school district. The teachers are great, but all my children had a hard time adjusting in 3rd grade. The teachers in third grade can be a little demanding. I realize they are trying to get the kids to become self starters. I just wish the transition was a little easier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2006

I have to say this is one of the best schools that I have seen or been to. The teachers and staff are very helpful with the education for my child
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2006

This is the first person in my family to go to a public school. Everyone has always gone to private schools. I am very impressed. Mr. Sullivan, the principal, is always available to talk with parents, he interacts with the students. There are a lot of extra activities for the students to join, drama, chess club, art club etc.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2006

Over all this is a very good school, my oldest child has been attending this school for three years now. They really need to focus on resources for the children that struggeling I feel they are not putting fourth the effort to help these students. Follow up with parents seems to be another issue....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2004

My Daughter is a 5th grader, she has been @ McAuliffe(S.Crista) since Kindergarden. We have been so lucky to have this school around! We moved here from O.County. We Just lucked out. When my Daughter was only 2. I had no idea of the schools out here. I have been room mother for the 1st to 4th grade. I have worked with some awesome teachers! Also I have been Choir mom for 2 years. Our Choir directors have worked ever so hard on it. But it is still fun for our kids. They sometimes will be tough, but the kids still sound great and have fun.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2003

Our two children,a boy and a gril now 15 and 14, attended McAuliffe K-6th grade. This is wonderful school and we wish they could have gone to this there K-12th grade.The teachers are the best and my children are better students and human beings for having been there. My 5 year old will start there next year and we are looking forward to another great 5 years.We wouldnt trust him to any other than McAuliffe teachers! Special thanks to L.P & C.C. The Mirabella's
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

826

Change from
2012 to 2013

-2

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

6 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

4 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

826

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-2

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

6 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

4 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
66%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
32%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
54%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
65%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
51%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
62%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students59%
Females66%
Males52%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino53%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)64%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability60%
English learner53%
Fluent-English proficient and English only62%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate45%
Parent education - high school graduate54%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)68%
Parent education - college graduate81%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate71%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students70%
Females74%
Males66%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino65%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)84%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability71%
English learner77%
Fluent-English proficient and English only66%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate64%
Parent education - high school graduate57%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)72%
Parent education - college graduate94%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate82%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students31%
Females37%
Males25%
African Americann/a
Asian46%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino26%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)36%
Economically disadvantaged18%
Not economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability31%
English learner33%
Fluent-English proficient and English only29%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate6%
Parent education - high school graduate23%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)41%
Parent education - college graduate35%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students52%
Females50%
Males53%
African Americann/a
Asian77%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino49%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)52%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability51%
English learner58%
Fluent-English proficient and English only48%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate44%
Parent education - high school graduate45%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)51%
Parent education - college graduate65%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students69%
Females71%
Males67%
African American64%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino65%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)71%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability69%
English learner66%
Fluent-English proficient and English only70%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate54%
Parent education - high school graduate60%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)69%
Parent education - college graduate78%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students78%
Females84%
Males73%
African American73%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino82%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)64%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability78%
English learner88%
Fluent-English proficient and English only74%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate69%
Parent education - high school graduate75%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)74%
Parent education - college graduate82%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students68%
Females72%
Males64%
African American54%
Asian75%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino65%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)73%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability69%
English learner56%
Fluent-English proficient and English only73%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented96%
Parent education - not a high school graduate50%
Parent education - high school graduate56%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)74%
Parent education - college graduate84%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate83%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students67%
Females74%
Males58%
African American46%
Asian81%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino62%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)73%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability67%
English learner47%
Fluent-English proficient and English only74%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate32%
Parent education - high school graduate56%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)79%
Parent education - college graduate81%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate83%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students59%
Females59%
Males58%
African American31%
Asian81%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino54%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)55%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability58%
English learner32%
Fluent-English proficient and English only67%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented96%
Parent education - not a high school graduate20%
Parent education - high school graduate56%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)67%
Parent education - college graduate77%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate75%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 60%
White 20%
Asian 7%
Black 7%
Two or more races 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 59%N/AN/A
English language learners 30%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 8%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Gerardo Aguilar
Fax number
  • (951) 351-2184

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4100 Golden Avenue
Riverside, CA 92505
Phone: (951) 358-1625

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




La Sierra Academy
Riverside, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT