Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
26 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 34 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Polytechnic High School 5

Posted June 06, 2016
- a parent
The teachers at Poly go beyond their duty to assure student success. There are plenty of sports and clubs for the students to get involved.

Polytechnic High School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted June 06, 2016
- a parent
My Zlacket: he makes "class fun and interesting" that is a quote from my son. Mr. Aniol (chem teacher) for always dressing professional and taking his work serious. Ms. Larsen for always updating the parents in what is happening in her math class.


Polytechnic High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted June 06, 2016
- a parent
The teachers are effective as the students listen and follow their recommendations. I feel the teachers provide the students with the tools they need i.e. books, haiku, emails, and hard copy announcement and notes to help them succeed.

Polytechnic High School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted June 06, 2016
- a parent
My son does an average of 1-2 hours a day. Honors chemistry requires more and honors English too.

Polytechnic High School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted June 06, 2016
- a parent
I don't see much evidence of persistence and motivation; homework is emphasized and graded therefore perhaps the motivation to get a higher score by doing homework can assist students in persisting their educational goals.


Polytechnic High School
Develops respect: Agree

Posted June 06, 2016
- a parent
According to my son, many of the teachers e.g Mr. Aniol, Mr. Zllacket earn the respect of students with their knowledge and positive relationships towards their students.

Polytechnic High School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted June 06, 2016
- a parent
Perhaps there are some programs that develop such skills but it is not widely evident as the culture of the school.

Polytechnic High School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted June 06, 2016
- a parent
Fairness is evident by student students grades i.e. they earn the grade they deserve. Using programs like turnitin.com helps teachers and students to write authentic essays without getting credit from someone else's work.


Polytechnic High School 5

Posted August 12, 2013
- a student
great school, and great teachers. The teachers are great with working with students and teachers.

Polytechnic High School 2

Posted April 24, 2013
- a parent
This school is fantastic academically. However if your student needs a little extra nudge then this is not the school for you. We moved to this school from another state. The experience was horrible and ended in him having to go to live with his father to save his schooling. First nobody helped him to learn the system even though I personnally talked to the VP and told him he needed direction because he is too shy to ask for help. Second my straight A student plummeted to a Straight F student in less than 3 months. He is not stupid but the teachers never bothered to catch him up to the rest of the class in what they expected and when. I never once got a phone call never once was told that there was a website that I could use to track his progress. Until the day we checked him out of school. Bottom line is. There are too many students and the ones that need a little guiding get lost in the masses. And the administration don't care enough to help them. My daughter goes to the same school and because she is out going and asks for what she needs she is doing well. Pity I miss my son but this school was not at all what he needed.

Nearby schools

Polytechnic High School
5450 Victoria Avenue, Riverside, CA  92506-3362
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 34 reviews. (951) 788-7203
Last modified Polytechnic High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top