Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Francis De Sales School

Private | K-8 | 208 students

We are best known for family atmosphere!

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Riverside

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $153,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $910.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 19, 2012

One of the best decisions I have ever made was choosing St Francis De Sales for my 2 sons education. The family, community and educational environment is unmatched. Thank you teachers and staff for all that you do to assist us in preparing our children for the future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2012

My daughter is so ready for High School because St. Francis DeSales has really prepared her for the Honors classes she has been placed in at Notre Dame High School. A Catholic education is the way to go, all of the student's in the 8th grade class are well prepared to enter into their next stage of their education. No matter where they go to high school, I'm sure these kids are more than ready for what ever is dealt their way. The teachers here have credentials and care about the education our children are receiving. Highly recommend this school! Thank you so much for guiding my child for the next stage of her life. You have taught her values that she will carry on for the rest of her life. May God continue to bless and support St. Francis DeSales!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2011

Wonderful school! Highly recommend it academically. Both of my children went here from K-8. Son graduated 4th in his high school class and is enrolled in campuswide honors program at UCI. He scored high enough on PSAT to qualify as a National Hispanic Merit Finalist! 2150 on SAT! Teachers prepare you for success in college from day one. Daughter is a sophomore in high school and following in her brother's academic footsteps! Both were placed in many AP and Honors high school courses and fully prepared for them by SFDS teachers! The school really does have a family-like atmosphere! The only thing I find lacking is Diocesan support. The Catholic Diocese in our area does not do enough to support the Catholic schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2011

This school has recently made huge improvements in its technology. Each classroom has interactive whiteboards and various means to incorporate different styles of learning. There is definitely a family atmosphere did the school is smaller than most.


Posted April 21, 2011

I graduated from SFDS and it was an important part of my road to college. I was well-prepared to take advanced/honor classes throughout high school and graduated with high honors. Teachers are available for extra help, there are countless school activities that I loved participating in, and there are so many extra study resources like tutors after-school. I also heard they've recently acquired a lot of new technology in each classroom. That being said, I always pushed myself while studying at SFDS and managed to get Honor Roll. Overall, I greatly recommend this school.


Posted March 27, 2011

My daughter graduated from this school and was well prepared for high school and is very successful in college. She was an "A" student at St. Francis, so if you challenge yourself with the academic curriculum you will be prepared. I highly recommend this school to anyone who wants a challenge and learn about the Catholic Faith.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2010

Very happy with this school. The principal is prompt in addressing concerns of parents. The school has a family oriented atmosphere which I appreciate. Most of the teachers are excellent, and the issues we have had with one or two have been satisfactorily addressed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2010

We are very dissatisfied with the teachers and the academic standard of this school. The school is seriously lacking in needed resources which affects students.......
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2010

Not happy with this school at all, the principal is too close with the teachers so parent concerns are not addressed. Academics are lacking, my child graduated from this school and is struggling in high school, not up to the other incoming students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2007

This school is great in academics, discipline, and instill the catholic teachings and values. The school has a close family atmosphere. The staff are friendly and other parents are great. Everytime I drop my son in the morning, it feels like I am dropping him off with family. The faculty even the principal is very approachable and very accessible. My commute to this school is 25 miles away, and hands down this is the school of my choice compared to other private catholic schools around where I live. Highly recommended!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2006

I am a former student. Some of the teachers are still teaching there and I remember most fondly. The academics were great. I walked into high school at a junior math level and sophmore english levels. Lots of activities are available for the kids to participate in and we won championships in sports.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 56% 52%
White 28% 26%
Black 8% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Miss Kathy Kothlow
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
School facilities
  • Auditorium
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of San Bernardino
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Volleyball

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Notre Dame Catholic High School
Poly High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4205 Mulberry Street
Riverside, CA 92501
Website: Click here
Phone: (951) 683-5083

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Riverside Virtual
Riverside, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT