Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Saint Catherine Of Alexandria School

Private | K-8 | 272 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Riverside

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $225,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,070.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 21 ratings
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

49 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 30, 2007

I feel our school gives our children a sense of home away from home. It offers stability, knowledge, and values.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2007

I am very happy with St. Catherine's. One year ago, one of my daughters was failing, having been in another private school in Riverside for the first years of elementary and not getting the help she needs. My other daughter was bored with school. Both are very happy now. Although we are not Catholics, my children have never been treated like they don't 'belong.' Thank you to the staff and teachers of St. Catherine of Alexandria.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2007

The previous principal has been leading the school a bit down, but the new principal is leading the school to recover and improve. Music, Sports (5th and up), Spanish, Student Council (7th and 8th), and Academic Decathlon are some extra curricular activities. The parents are all very supportive. I have been attending all 9 years, and I am happy to be graduating this year.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 22, 2007

My child has been attending here since kindergarten. We are very pleased on the academics and the spirituality that the campus fosters. The principal and assistant principal are wonderful and have a great open door policy. I recommend it totally!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2007

This school has been a great disappointment to us and we have had to remove our children this last school year. As a alumni of catholic school I was shocked at the lack of morality and ethical conduct of the staff.The classroom management skills were obsolete and the level of academics was at least a grade level or more below the California State Standards. I think it will take a long time for this school to recover.The image it once had is definitely gone and has been made public by newspaper articles in the local paper this past school year.I do not think that the school can come back from such public scrutiny.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2007

The quality of the school has gone down in the past 3 years. The staff does not have longevity. It is too soon to see if the new principal has had a positive effect on the school community. Although music and Spanish have been added to the curriculum, the quality of many of the academic programs has been diminished.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2007

I had three children who attended SCOA and we were very disappointed in the level of education they recvd. We had to pay for extensive tutoring and help our children catch up. I would think twice before putting my children in this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2007

Our child has gone since kindergarten to SCA -- the support he receives academically and spiritually is superb! He is far above his peers academically in the public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2007

My three kids attend st catherine school. The academic part is average the space for any recreation activities is very limited, but the meetings the fees the fundraiser the requirements are very high
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 43%
White 28%
Two or more races 22%
Asian 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Black 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Richard Howick
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of San Bernardino
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7025 Brockton Avenue
Riverside, CA 92506
Phone: (951) 684-1091

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Growing Place School
Riverside, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT