Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Riverside Christian Schools

Private | 8 | 1200 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Riverside

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $165,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,090.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 7 ratings
2013:
Based on 18 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

62 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 7, 2008

The middle school does not really provide Christ-like role modeling in my opinion. It is more a school that educates and adds a little God in the program, instead of a school that is centered on Christ in all ways. The middle school teachers don't pray with the kids on a regular basis, and they seem to allow secular entertainment in the school instead of teaching the kids to, 'Not love the world or the things in the world,' as the bible directs us in John. I want to find a more Christ centered school in town, but there really is no better choice in this area. Very sad, as middle school is the time these kids are really battling the world's influence. This school needs to bring in more true sold-out for Christ teachers, instead of the luke warm believers it has at this time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2008

Regarding the 2-2-08 posting, my experience with RCMS has been the complete opposite. I would like to go into all the details, but I am only allowed 150 words. The bottom line is that RCMS has helped us to turn our troubled son completely around. The principal there has shown consistent love for him through Christ. Any discipline has been Christian based and is always geared toward teaching and restoration. He has gone from a failing student with behavorial problems, to an honor student with great citizenship. Personally, I mainly credit the principal for her outstanding leadership. She has made our son feel loved, respected and safe. The academic education he has received is outstanding! He is thriving there. The entire staff works together to provide an incredible environment for learning. I have always had immediate communication, and great results.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2008

I love this school, I have a 7th grade daughter and she has great friends and teachers and has had the best priciples since 4th grade. She has been so enriched spiritually and acadimically. I have to move about 45 min away but in no way plan on taking my child out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2008

My son has attended this school for 9 years, starting in preschool, with a wonderful educational, spiritual, emotional ... experience I loved this school! Until... Middle school I am so disappointed the education he has experienced here. And the lack of response and accountability by the principle and staff!! My spirit is deflated and I am disappointed that I have to put my son public next year due the the lack of quality of education that we have/are experiencing now. I will also be sending my kindergartener to public so it won't be such a shock when he has go to public middle school I am so disappointed!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2007

My son went to this school from preschool to 1st grade. I absolutely would not recommend this school. Teachers have little to no compassion if your child is having difficulties. They are very quick to say ADD, instead of finding a way to improve a childs learning. Administration also backs up teachers and do not care about parent concerns. My only regret was not pulling my son out sooner.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2007

This school says it is a Christian school but they are more concerned with an advanced education than they are a Christian education. I recommend not sending your kids here if they are JUST average. They don't like average.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2007

The preschool is amazing with a terrific director and loving staff. The elementary school has amazing teachers who care about the students and want each child to be successful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2007

Even though I would agree that the pre-school is excellent and the elementary has been a blessing, our son has attended the high school for two years and we are not happy. Discipline is a farce and the new administrator, although a nice man, does not seem to care what the students do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2007

My son has attended RCS for the past seven years. We have found the teachers and administration to be helpful, loving, and caring. My son does have difficulties in some learning areas; however, with an understanding principal and a loving staff he has developed into a fine young man. My daughters attended another local Christian school and had a limited amount of care and concern. However, when I moved my youngest daughter to RCHS several years ago, the care, love, and education was top quality! She graduated from college with honors! I know my son will have the same experience!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2007

My daughter attended from 'K' almost through the 6th grade. Don't expect help if your child has emotional/behavioral issues. You will not receive it here. Child is now very happy in a public school with better amenities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2007

I have been very pleased with RCS, as my daughter has attended since preschool. Teachers are great and very supportive towards the children and parents. I recommend this school to anyone who wants there child to have a blessed education
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2007

My daughter went here for preschool and absolutely loved it! The teachers are very patient and loving. It has truly been a blessing for her to go there. I'm hoping my 3 yr old will be able to go there too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2007

Riverside Christian provides a well rounded program involving academics, music, arts, sports and other extracurricular activities which are lacking in many other schools today. The level of teacher and parent involvement is phenomenal. I am thrilled to have my daughter attend this school for the overall balance that Riverside Christian provides.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2006

I have two children enrolled. A junior and a 6th grader. They have been here for four years. The teachers are exceptional, competent people who sincerely love the kids. I am very happy with the quality of the academics, there is a fair amount of sports and such, the security and care for the children is very good. Parents have alot of opportunity to participate, staff is sincerely interested in the student population and love in Christ is always a part of the day. I love each elementary teacher we have had but Mrs. Manning is a real jewel. She is hard but to the great benefit of the children and she really cares about the kids. Great school, growing too fast, lucky to be a part of it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2006

Excellent quality academic program within a loving, caring Christian environment. The extracurricular activities are plentiful and the parent involvement is extremely high.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2006

My daughter attended riv christian her kindergarten year. We loved it. Unfortunately, we moved out of the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2006

I was not thrilled with the school. In my opinion it was not a kind and loving environment. Two of my friends and myself all pulled our children out of the school due to the lack of caring by the staff/principal. Our students complained about words/actions by other students that were very inappropriate and did not feel supported by the staff that they approached about these matters.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2005

My children have attended RCS for the last two years. I really have been impressed with their curriculum that they apply. My 3rd grader was required to learn an instrument while in other Christian schools this was not a requirement and I believe that this is great for all children to learn. They also offer.other programs past the third grade for them to participate. The Junior high area is wonderful and my 7th grader did a wonderful job at RCS. They do have a great program and the teachers at this school are great and really care about their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2005

I have been very happy with the teachers at Riverside Christian School. They are caring and supportive towards the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2004

Riverside Christian Schools has provided both a a sound academic and Christian education to our two children who have attended RCS elementary for four years, with our 3rd child (3 1/2 year old) enrolled in the pre-school program. My wife and I have found the administration to be very responsive to the students and parents needs, and the teachers are nothing short of outstanding. Like with any school that has seen it's student body enrollment grow considerably over the last few years, there are some minor growing pains. However, all in all the school has responded very well to this growth and we are quite pleased and very much blessed to have enrolled our children at RCS. As such, I would without hesitation, recommend RCS to any parent who is serious about obtaining for their children, a solid education in a Christian environment and with solid Christian principles.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 57% 26%
Black 16% 6%
Hispanic 14% 52%
Two or more races 5% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
College counselor(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Security personnel
Special education coordinator
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Visual arts
  • Architecture

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:45 am
School end time
  • 2:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • John Moran, Superintendent
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Swimming
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3532 Monroe Street
Riverside, CA 92504
Website: Click here
Phone: (951) 687-0077

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Chemawa Middle School
Riverside, CA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT