Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 68 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


71 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Riverside Christian Schools 5

Posted November 06, 2014
- a community member
I have seen RCS go through some ups and downs in my time at and around the school but it seems as though things are as good as they have ever been right now. Enrollment is still down but what is left is a group of kids who love Jesus and are interested in bettering themselves. The staff and the administration is also much stronger now than any time in recent memory. There has been so much negativity and rumors but I believe God is really blessing the school and its families right now!
2 people found this helpful

Riverside Christian Schools 1

Posted October 23, 2014
- a parent
When the leadership has made so many enemies that there is a "Not Allowed on Campus" list, there might be a problem! A former principal, a former board member, and at least 3 former parents all made the list! And these people don't randomly go on campus to create drama. Their kids now play sports at other Christian schools and when their game happens to be at RCS, these parents are being threatened by campus security on behalf of a coward hiding in his office - leave or we'll have you removed by police. I haven't been impressed by the leadership at RCS in quite some time, but now....I just find them disgusting!
3 people found this helpful


Riverside Christian Schools 2

Posted August 22, 2014
- a parent
Used to be a good school. It's on life support now. My child took high school Spanish there for 2 yrs and didn't learn squat. I pulled him this year and put him in a far better college prep school. He took their Spanish class over the summer (the immersion method), he can now write, speak and read it. He has learned more in 6 courses over the summer than 2 yrs at RCS. The teachers are woefully underpaid but then a lot of them are not as skilled as in the better schools. The good thing about the teachers is that they do love the kids which is a blessing, but unfortunately does not make up for the questionable leadership now in place at the school. 5 or 6 board members have resigned in the past 3 yrs and some have taken their kids out which makes you wonder if they saw the titanic heading for the iceberg and got out before impact. I'm extremely pleased with my childs new school, it has rules, high standards and strong, teachers, leaders and programs. Tuition is double but you get what you pay for. The supt. that rescued RCS 3yrs ago has now killed it.
1 person found this helpful

Riverside Christian Schools 1

Posted July 25, 2014
- a parent
Sad to see the school we love in rapid decline due to compromising, murky leadership. Too many details don't add up and accountability is non-existent. Contradictions found in communications coming straight from the top...makes me want to scream at the emails, "get your story straight!" So here are a few facts: 1) In one year the elementary school has seen nearly a 100% turnover of teachers. 2) In three years at least 6 board members have resigned, leaving them with only 3 board members currently. 3) Registration is at an all time low, dropping from 675+ (preschool thru 12th) in 2011-12 to less than 300 for the 2014-15 school year...now that's an underwhelming leadership resume!
1 person found this helpful

Riverside Christian Schools 1

Posted June 23, 2014
- a parent
An alarming concern is that this school lacks proper administration, strong Christian leadership, and academic excellence. This school has shrunk in size over the last few years due to unstable leadership and administration. At the cost of academic excellence, the current administration, lacking in experience and education, continues to scramble to pull things back together jeopardizing the academic and spiritual future of our children.
1 person found this helpful


Riverside Christian Schools 5

Posted May 09, 2014
- a parent
Love the school. Have three kids going there now. The teachers are great. Truly Christ centered. Have so many programs that nobody else offers, like 'Race for Space" engineering, Robotics, unbelievable Drama department and many more. Really hope we can pull together the new "Campus of the future" . What ever it is,as long as the spirit of the school alive, which is deep care for the kids and strive for excellence in spiritual and academic growth, we will support and follow the school.
2 people found this helpful

Riverside Christian Schools 5

Posted April 13, 2014
- a parent
I have had my son at RCS since 7th grade and let me tell you myself as well as my wife is extremely picky and selective of where and with whom we leave our son with. We have no reservation when it comes to RCS. My son has grown spiritually and academically by leaps and bounds, this is because the staff is deeply involved in each child s development. I have to tell you, that even though the school is going through changes their focus and drive to the school of the future is a reality, while keeping Christ at the center and foremost. It is expected that when you are growing, the pains will come. As they in order to make an omelet you must crack some eggs. Over all I have seen and experienced that nothing supersedes the SAFETY, ACADEMIC, AND SPIRITUAL growth of each child.
2 people found this helpful

Riverside Christian Schools 1

Posted February 27, 2014
- a teacher
The elementary school should be greatly concerned. Yet another assistant principal hired at the secondary level, though the school is at it's lowest student enrollment in 10 years, and still no elementary principal hired. If I were an elementary parent being asked (and you will be asked!) to donate to RCS's "School of the Future" above and beyond my child's tuition, I'd pass. I'd be unsure as to whether or not those plans included my kid.


Riverside Christian Schools 1

Posted February 26, 2014
- a parent
It is with a heavy heart that I have decided to remove my child from RCS. Despite promises from the superintendent that the school of the future will become a reality, I do not see that as a possibility in any way. With a deficit of 1.4M this school year and a claim of 2.2M in the bank, it leaves only 800K left to purchase land and build the campus. I hate to, but I must leave before the school is destroyed.

Riverside Christian Schools 1

Posted December 21, 2013
- a parent
Horrible school Poor quality teachers Horrible IPad Implementation Low SAT scores Low ACT scores No official parent-teacher conferences Too many changes, bad leadership

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Riverside Christian Schools
3532 Monroe Street, Riverside, CA  92504
(951) 687-0077
Last modified Riverside Christian Schools is a Private school that serves grade 8
Riverside Christian Schools Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 71 reviews. Top