Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sierra Elementary School

Public | K-6

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 8, 2012

My daughter went there here enitire 1-6th grade years. She just started middle school. This is great school with wonderful teachers and a great education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2012

My kids and I LOVE this school! We moved here from out of state 3 years ago. I have a child in Kinder and another in 3rd grade. The teachers here are awesome! The principal is both kind and professional. There are plenty of opportunities for parents to become involved as well. The teachers really welcome it. I am also a big fan of the IB program and the Spanish programs. Sierra Elementary feels more like a family to me than a school. It's really fantastic!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2011

with 2 kids attending this school for the past 4 years I can say that this school is an excellent school. I love the IB, Vapa and other programs that other schools cannot afford. I believe the teachers are great, treating the kids fair. i like the push in different areas (AR, AM ...) The teachers involving the kids in different social activities is awsome. And on the con side, the office staff could be a little more friendly. Never had problems, but I got that feeling that if you don't look a certain way they kind of look down on you. I only give 4 stars because they're doing a lot of fundraisings and they're monetary excpectatins are kind of high for our budget. We have 3 kids in school and we only stay in the area for the school. Otherwise we cannot afford to live in this area. I belive overall is a very good school. My kids love it, they love their teachers and they do not want to go to another school. and that is all that matters to me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2011

I wasn't referring to your original post regarding being treated like a "second rate citizen". I was responding to someone else and also suggested to that person that she should speak to the principal. I'm sorry your child feels that way because I know that no teacher at Sierra would want that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2011

I never said my child was unhappy at Sierra Elementary, nor did I say we felt like "second class citizens". I was simply stating my observation as a parent and what I have seen take place over the last 3 years. My child has accepted the fact that children related to teachers are treated differently. These are her words. She sees what goes on in the classroom and at school functions. I don't feel the need to address this with the principal, I would prefer to keep my child's identity anonymous. It's hard enough just being a kid now a days. I would prefer not to get caught up in school politics. She is here to get an education and make friendships.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2011

From the first day that I tried to enroll my daughter into this school I received a strong feeling got unwholesomeness. We are a mutli racial family recently down graded from a upper middle income family to a middle income family and we were in my opinion treated as if we were second class citizens. After having a one on one conversation with the principal I was left feeling empty, disgraced and disrespected. She spoke to me as if I were completely an invalid without ever having received my college degree from a highly accredited college. Or even a high school diploma for that matter. I have fought very hard to keep my daughter inspired because I believe in the IB program itself. Yet I do not believe that the office staff was present on the day when the class was taught on hospitality. How every child should be treated equally no matter what their parents financial background is or the color of their skin.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2011

WOW, I'm surprised to see some of the recent reviews. We've just completed our first year (kindergarten) at Sierra and only have insight as to our current teacher and the small dealings with staff that I've had, but I've been pleased with our experience. Our teacher is WONDERFUL and the office staff/principal have been supportive and helpful. I see children laughing and smiling each day when I drop off/pick up, just as you'd expect to see at any school. Our entire neighborhood sends their children to Sierra and every family has expressed positive experiences at Sierra Elementary. My ONLY complaint, so far, is the junk food that other parents provide as snacks for our class! I'd much rather send a snack myself or see the parents pay closer attention to ingredients lists and remove the high fructose corn syrup/hydrogenated oils/large amounts of sugar. I'm giving the school a 4 star rating because it's our first year and the K students only attend 3 hours a day. I'll write another next year during or after first grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2011

After having a student there for several years and volunteering through the years, I am qualified to say that this school is NOT a good school. The parents are phony, the teachers are lifeless and the kids are in the crossffire. Reading goals are the main focus. When the bell rings and the kids are dismissed there are few smiles and no laughter from the kids, API scores are great, but walk the grounds of the school and you will see children that lack the spark that HAPPY children have.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

The teaching staff and principal are the best ever, the students are wonderful, bright and outstanding and the parents are great contributors in every aspect making Sierra Elementary a wonderful learning environment for its students and for future students to come!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2010

This school recently went through their IB inspection and will probably move up next year from a IB candidate school to a full fledged IB school. I am thrilled that my daughter gets to attend one of handful of school in CA offering the IB PYP program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2010

This school is fantastic! They are an IB school with a wonderful, caring principal and faculty. A great sense of community and lots of parental involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2010

Fantastic school, I couldn't ask for better for my daughter. She has attended for six years, and loves it there. The teachers are outstanding, the staff is helpful and they all know the kids. It is very family oriented and open to all. The kids feel at home there, and they make it great for the parents there too! Love it!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2008

My children love Sierra Elementary, their teachers, classmates, and the schoolyard. When teachers are afforded the opportunity to move-up with their students and/or maintain combined classes, retaining student-teacher relationships, the child-teacher-parent bond and trust is strengthened. A strong trust lends itself to discovery of personal tastes, reinforces the notion of making good choices, and helps build positive learning habits and higher self-esteem. A strong student-teacher bond helps alleviate perceived fears and anxieties. Although learning the nuances and subtle expectations of a new teacher can be a good exercise, it can be a hindrance to a young child who needs nurturing before discipline. Sierra Elementary with its accelerated reading program and adaptive teaching methods brings the positive old fashion school experiences of the mid 20th century right into the Digital Internet Age. The 'Shark Tank' is a great place to learn and grow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2008

I think that Sierra has some of the most compassionate teachers around. From the office staff to the teachers, they all work together to ensure that the students follow the disciplines of learning, community and self. I love the AR program as it incents my daughter to read more. The school promotes family involvement with the AR program through using the Family Reading night. I LOVE THIS SCHOOL!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2008

The principal is really nice, but seems to care too much about the numbers. The reading program 'AR' is shoved down the kids throats. Which doesn't seem to encourage reading instead it encourages them to make their goals (for the numbers and the 'oh so wonderful 'Word O Meter')'. For punishment, children are left out of activities for not making their reading goals. There is no sense of community between the teachers. Parents are only willing to help their teachers which leaves the PTC struggling to meet the demanding needs of the school. There is way too much teaching to the test. The school would funcion better if they would quit worrying about how they look.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2008

The principal is wonderful and the staff seems very professional and welcoming. Some teachers use a punishment and reward system (ie. pulling cards, tickets etc.) which I find disconerting. (Recommended reading: Punished by Rewards by Alfie Kohn). I also see too much teaching to the test and not enough child centered learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 24, 2006

You think this school is great now, (IT IS!)....but it's only going to get better. Check out the program at www.ibp.org.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2006

Excellent school with a small town feel. The principle knows the kids by name. Lots of parental involvement. Amazing test scores.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2005

Excellent teachers and beautiful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2005

Absolutely TOP quality California school. We had a special needs child attend this school when Cobblestone elementary refused to include him fully in a kindergarten classroom. He did need some special attention, and Sierra provided this and more. The secretaries were wonderful and friendly, the kindergarten teachers were so kind, the special needs teacher bent over backwards to help our son. My son attended kindergarten only in the 2001-2002 school year. The school building itself is beautiful. If you have a special needs child, Sierra elementary will treat your child with love and respect.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

903

Change from
2012 to 2013

0

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

3 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

903

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

0

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

3 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
65%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
54%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
78%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students60%
Females58%
Males62%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino42%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)63%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability60%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only60%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)50%
Parent education - college graduate62%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate59%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students74%
Females61%
Males83%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino50%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)79%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability74%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only75%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)50%
Parent education - college graduate82%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate76%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students64%
Females71%
Males56%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)65%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability65%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only68%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate71%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate68%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students82%
Females84%
Males79%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability83%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only85%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate77%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate94%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students92%
Females98%
Males84%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)93%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability93%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only92%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)86%
Parent education - college graduate92%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate97%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students90%
Females93%
Males84%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)92%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability89%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only91%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)86%
Parent education - college graduate92%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate94%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students89%
Females86%
Males91%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability90%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only88%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate89%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate94%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students83%
Females80%
Males86%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability87%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only84%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate74%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate97%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students93%
Females91%
Males94%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)93%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability95%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only93%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate93%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate97%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students89%
Females100%
Males79%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability92%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only91%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate88%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate90%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students81%
Females80%
Males81%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability81%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only82%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate85%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate90%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 75%
Hispanic 11%
Asian 6%
Two or more races 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Black 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 13%N/AN/A
English language learners 3%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 10%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6811 Camborne Way
Rocklin, CA 95677
Website: Click here
Phone: (916) 788-7141

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Heritage Christian
Rocklin, CA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT