Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Maria Montessori Charter Academy 5

Posted April 10, 2014
- a parent
The Teen Community Emergency Response Training (Teen CERT) program, robotics, and interactive history in the middle school program is awesome! I like that my son is switching teachers for different subjects (like at a regular middle school), but within a small school environment. It's a great group of kids and an even better staff to teach them.

Maria Montessori Charter Academy 4

Posted August 25, 2013
- a parent
I have three kids in the school, 1st/2nd/4th grade. I myself am very well educated and want some dynamic school that meets all three of there needs and reaches out and teaches and instructs each individually. My son had a hard time focusing and the teachers went the extra mile and helped him - thank you. My other kids teachers were also amazing - It's the parents job to teach and help their kids help hit and unlock their child's potential. The teachers at MMCA do try to unlock their potential and have a genuine concern.


Maria Montessori Charter Academy 1

Posted May 16, 2013
- a parent
This school from the administration down to the classroom teachers are not focused on educationing, stimulating or allowing children to progress. I have watched my child sit and do work that she did the year prior at her old school and never learn anything new. Teachers have no plan to teach any topic to the class. Lack of organization, classroom control, and inability to provide parents with an exact recap of what child has learned at any given time. Do Not Wait for this school..... NOT A MONTESSORI. Your child will learn more at home with you or in your neighborhood public school. I have witnessed "new discipline" plans to destroy a child's self esteem, demean them in publicly, and focus the day on discipline because the teachers can't control the class. The principal is disconnected and has no idea of what is NOT happening in the school. Parents provide 50% of the daily instruction as "volunteer hours"

Maria Montessori Charter Academy 2

Posted April 08, 2013
- a parent
Poor excuse for a charter school. Not a lot of teacher involvement and students are not learning well.

Maria Montessori Charter Academy 5

Posted March 21, 2011
- a parent
Our children have attended this school for the past 2 years and we cannot speak highly enough about it. This school is a "blend" of both the Montessori philosophy along with traditional school standards, which we feel will actually provide a better foundation when moving on to high school. The key to this school's success (any school, really) is to recognize that the school is not solely responsible for the successful teaching of your children -- PARENTAL INVOLVEMENT is key! The only negative at MMCA is that you see the same group of parents volunteering each year, while the majority do not put in the time required of them.


Maria Montessori Charter Academy 2

Posted March 18, 2011
- a parent
While the "newness" of the campus is a plus, the bottom line is that Montessori principals are not adequately applied here nor or all of the instructors "montessory credentialed". Many of the students initially admitted had disciplinary problems/learning deficiencies in other schools and had no prior Montessori educational base. When you lack leadership in students, test scores decline and to lower the bar of expectation is unacceptable. The overall education level is not equitable here in comparison to other schools and will take several years to turn get them up to speed if ever.

Maria Montessori Charter Academy 1

Posted March 01, 2011
- a parent
This is a very poor excuse for a school. They specialize in hand-outs, hand-outs, and more hand-outs. No textbooks. Lots of silent reading for kids who get their work done. Very little in the way of dynamic teaching, collaborative learning, or curiosity-based research. Instead of real Montessori, you get "teach to the standards." So, why bother going to a charter? This is a boring, boring school.

Maria Montessori Charter Academy 5

Posted July 25, 2010
- a parent
Great School. Great teachers and parents. New school, second year at beautiful new campus in Rocklin. Focus on learning in all areas reading, math, science social studies/history and practical life. It's great!


Maria Montessori Charter Academy 5

Posted January 28, 2010
- a parent
Loves our school!! Loves the fact that each child can work at the level he or she is at that they don't have to conform to the average student.

Maria Montessori Charter Academy 4

Posted July 27, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Maria Montessori Charter Academy
1850 Wildcat Boulevard, Rocklin, CA  95765
(916) 630-1510
Last modified Maria Montessori Charter Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Maria Montessori Charter Academy Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top