Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public
Rocklin, CA
Students enrolled: 478

4 stars
Based on 24 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


24 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Parker Whitney Elementary School 5

Posted August 30, 2014
- a parent
This is are first year here and my son loves loves his school and teacher. Everyone is so nice and approaching here I feel at home. They have a lot of different subjects compared to any other schools we have been too. I really like the fact that fusion dance comes out to do an 8 week program with them. They are known for there reading program. The community seems to get involved a lot. All the schools out here have out standing ratings and reviews. I would recommend this school to everyone!

Parker Whitney Elementary School 1

Posted July 12, 2014
- a parent
We were at PW for 2 years and it is not the best school in the area. The principle is so disconnected, she cannot remember her students' names and cannot put a face to a name. There is no 6th grade camp and parents had to rise above the principle and had to put on their own 6th grade camp. There is a lack of communication of events at the school and very little notice for events, so you cannot plan accordingly. The upper grade teachers need to retire and get some new, excited teachers for grades 4-6. Their GATE cluster concept is an epic fail... my student was bored and not challenged! Choose a different school in the RUSD! I do not recommend Parker Whitney and am glad to be at another school!


Parker Whitney Elementary School 4

Posted February 25, 2014
- a parent
This is a charming school. The teachers are kind and caring. The upper grade teachers have been especially helpful to my children. The office staff are organized and efficient. I appreciate the support I receive from them when I enter the office. The facilities are a bit older, but the energy and enthusiasm is high!

Parker Whitney Elementary School 2

Posted June 21, 2013
- a parent
I have had two children attend Parker Whitney. The lower grade level teachers are amazing k-4. The staffing under went some changes in the last few years and the upper level teachers are a total misfire. They are tenured possibly because they are very dis connected. From the gross lack of organization ( no specific lesson plans) to the poor communication. There is a team teaching approach in the upper grades and this translate to a passing the buck attitude which has not been managed by the supervisory staff. The principal is sweet but the staff "click" has created a CYA attitude and it is very relaxed with little supervision , accountability and no desire for improvement. The upper level teachers do not want to be bothered with your child if they are stuggling. They really don't have the energy to deal with it so they bombard you with notes stating your child is not up to par yet they can't offer any real solutions and the special education staff does the minimum required which is very sad on muitple levels.

Parker Whitney Elementary School 2

Posted June 21, 2013
- a parent
continued- really don't want to write this because more involved parents would help this school, but it is not worth you losing years of education because they don't have the energy to care. Very little school pride in upper grades from the staff. They never show up to events and really seem to be just putting in their time. No inovative or exciting teachers - they are all just punching the clock in grade 5th and 6th. They need to clean some house but the principal is most likley not up to it because she most likley has little support from the district. The schools with strong leadership are still thriving regardless, Parker Whitney is not one of them that is good without the support. The demographic has a lower income level and I think this may have influenced the priority level of the school . Todd Culter at the school district is a wreck. he approaches things with a CYA attitude rather than a " let's work together one a solution" he is didactic and has an over inflated sense of his leadership in Education skills, he has a on-line degree and this district really deserves better, but since Todd is on the board it will never change, . So sad really, ....No zest for teaching ,


Parker Whitney Elementary School 5

Posted September 22, 2010
- a parent
We have been at Parker Whitney school for 5 years now and my kids love it! We have had wonderful teachers and my kids are all making great academic strides. Many wonderful families here.

Parker Whitney Elementary School 5

Posted October 12, 2009
- a parent
The school is great and all of the staff are attentive to all of the students needs. My kids love it there and are making great academic progress

Parker Whitney Elementary School 5

Posted June 25, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Parker Whitney Elementary School 2

Posted June 14, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Parker Whitney Elementary School 1

Posted June 12, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Parker Whitney Elementary School
5145 Topaz Avenue, Rocklin, CA  95677
(916) 624-2491
Last modified Parker Whitney Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Parker Whitney Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top