Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Dapplegray Elementary School

Public | K-5

 
 

Living in Rolling Hills...

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $1,200,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,400.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

31 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 22, 2013

Dapplegray is a great school. The focus on education is always evident. Expectations for students are very high, which is necessary for success. The strong educational program thrives on innovative techniques for learning, which are endorsed and encouraged by the leadership and teachers. In addition, there is emphasis on the arts, science, field trips, etc. which supplement the students learning and allow for a complete learning experience. In addition to what is provided during the regular school day, Dapplegray offers fee-based after-school enrichment programs and a structured child-care program for working parents. It is no coincidence that this school has a 10 out of 10 GreatSchools Rating and a 936 API score. The teachers and administration offer a solid program based on what is proven to result in student success. It is truly a privilege for each and every Dapplegray student to have the experience of attending this outstanding elementary school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2013

My kids are having a great experience at the school. It's supported by a great community and the teachers are really engaged. Recently, we've found that with funding cuts our class sizes continue to creep up. More disturbing though is that Dapplegray has set acceptable class sizes to max at 36. That means it is acceptable for the school to have classrooms that size. This is incredibly disappointing and had we known this, we may have made a different decision to go here. The California education system is troubled and this year our school has received the brunt of it. I'm hoping these problems are resolved for future students as there is great potential here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2013

I have two children at this school 2nd and 4th graders that have been there since Kindergarten and it has been great. There is so much parent participation that sometimes it is difficult to even get into the rotation to help in the classroom because so many parents are volunteering. The Art at Your Fingertips and music are great programs in the school and allow the children to not just focus on the tests and scores but to explore the artistic creative sides of themselves. Mr. London is not warm and fuzzy but my kids think he's great so I'm happy. We've had great teachers every year. The grading is a bit weird because in general you get proficient all the time even when you know your child is doing above the bar but I'm actually okay with them not focusing on grades yet. There is an expectation that your child can read at the start of first grade but that's because they teach them in Kindergarten. My son was not interested in learning to read in Kindergarten and I knew the expectation for first grade. I didn't talk to Mr. London but did talk to his teacher and she was very supportive and worked with me to get my son up to speed. Now in second grade he's doing great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2012

The education my three kids have received at Dapplegray has been adequate though not impressive. I am not crazy about their approach to reading, it seems like there are a lot of worksheets and not a lot of quality reading going on to prepare them for work they will be doing in middle school and high school. At the high school level thank goodness, there are few meaningless worksheets. I think the reason they are so heavy on the worksheets is for testing purposes. Everything seems to be about getting high test scores and not to to attain a joy of learning. However, the parent participation is wonderful. If you want to volunteer, there are are many good opportunities. Grading is interesting. On a five point scale, my oldest kids always received 4s which meant they were "proficient." Interesting, when they got to middle school (and now high school) they have received all A's with the exception of a couple of B's. Worst part of the school by far is the parking situation. To pick up your child is the biggest ordeal at Dapplegray. Plan on spending 30 minutes a day in line to pick up your kid and be at times be yelled at!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2012

Not all that shines is made of gold. Unless you're child is able to read by the START of 1st grade, you're going to have issues. On the 1st day of orientation, we're told your child is expected to write a book report each night as part of homework... the best part? Your CHILD is the one that's supposed to do the reading. Seriously? Get ready for TIMED TESTS including for reading/spelling which is absurd when they're just LEARNING to read. It's like throwing a stumbling toddler into a relay race and expecting them to do well. God forbid your child fall from their "average" learning curve because you'll get NO WHERE with the Principal. He's dismissive and will ignore you until you go away (or pull your kid from the school). The one great thing about the school is the parental involvement (you'd think it was a requirement). MOST of the teachers here are amazing but the CORE STAFF (office/administrative/principal) are RUDE. Ask them a question and you'd think they were doing you a favor by bothering to respond. I wish they'd clean house at this school... there'd be a lot of parents celebrating if they would.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2011

My child has been at this school for 3 years and it is excellent. I was nervous about sending her to public school, because she is a very high-energy child, and I was not sure she would do well in a conventional school environment. But she has thrived and loves it. The teachers we have had so far are excellent - they go the extra mile. Many of them have children here (or did), and so are very invested in the school - there is a real sense that parents and teachers are here to work together to provide a great education for their children. Parent involvement is very high. As for the comments regarding special needs kids, my own child is not , but she has a classmate who has a full-time aid, and I know that the parents are very happy with the support he has received. It's true that Mr. London can come off a bit gruff with parents, but whenever I have witnessed this, it has been because a parent was clearly violating a school rule - usually a traffic rule in the parking lot. So, yes, he could work on his 'bedside' manner, but there's no question he works very hard, and the school is well-run.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2010

First off, Mr. London, a big thank you. You work non-stop to provide a better future for our kids. You attend every PTA meeting, Booster club meeting, and go above and beyond everytime even when you are facing certain struggles in your own life. You have a dream of what you want Dapplegray to be, and our kids will be the benefactors all due to your tireless effort! so once again, Thank you. Thank goodness we have a family enviroment with dedicated parents that understand that the funds that Dapplegray does raise all goes back to benefit the kids. Give what you can when you can. If you need to see the difference these funds make, try visiting a school that doesn't have the support from their community. You will quickly realize what a difference every dollar makes, from teacher quality to soap in the bathrooms!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2010

I have to agree with the commentator who posted Dec. 7, 2009.... I know that Principal London isn't exactly warm and fuzzy, but he does a fine job running an exceptionally large elementary school. We have a child with special needs since the beginning of school, and--contrary to so many horror stories we had heard from other parents in the PV district and elsewhere about getting cooperation with the IEP and special needs--Principal London and the school's professional staff have been NOTHING BUT HELPFUL AND WONDERFUL. There was no fighting or resistance in implementing all the aspects of our child's plan, including providing a one-to-one aid. Even with all the budget cuts, they put the child's interest first. Plus, all the teachers we've had have been absolutely wonderful. Too many reviewers on here are obsessed with their competitive fantasies for their own kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2009

After reading the last two reviews, I have to say that Dapplegray is one of the best schools on the Peninsula. INCLUDING the principal. He is blunt & straight forward & doesn't beat arround the bush. He is always on the go, trying to do whats right for the kids. How do you make 500 + parents happy? You don't. So you do what is good for the kids, deal with it parents! Hes not gonna go easy squeezy softy on you. Is the world gonna hold your childs hand every time they walk out the door? No. My kids are stronger more independant, they listen and thrive at this school. They LOVE their principal, he speaks to them at their level, he lets them know the bad and good but also what he expects of them. The teachers here WILL make your kid smarter even the special needs child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2009

My son has special needs in Sec. 504 and the principal is so judgmental. His teacher last year and his teacher this year both gave him so many negative reports because they consider his special needs to be 'bad choices that he makes' He comes home crying most of the time and the principal encourages the staff to take a no-exceptions approach when it comes to what they call 'disciplinary behavior'. He was going to private school before this economic time hit me so hard, and I wish I could send him back... Good public schools are so hard to find and my son has to suffer in the meantime. And this school deserves a low rank, not because of the quality of education; but because of the quality of personnel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2009

Dapplegray would be such a perfect school if the principal leadership were a little better. The teachers are just fantastic. There are many teachers that seem to go above and beyond what they need to do. We are very proud to have had such great teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2009

We love Dapplegray school. The teachers are very experienced. I do have to agree with some of the other parents, that the school is lacking principal guidance and that at times he seems very unprofessional. The schools is in a great location and the district is also excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2009

Dapplegray's teachers are excellent. Unfortunately, I will have to lower the rating because of the principal. He needs to understand how to talk to parents in a nice way. There are many parents that have had bad experiences with Fred London. Other than that, the district and teachers are excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2008

My family love Dapplegray and the school's commitment to excellence. All the teachers that my children have had contact with are all wonderful. The parents are very involved and supportive of most school functions and activities. The only concern I have is perhaps the teachers are pushing the younger children too hard academically to keep up with the high API scores that the school maintains. I want my kids to enjoy their first years in school without getting overly stressed out by weekly testing just to prepare for the 'real' tests' to come in the 2nd grade. I'm one to challenge kids intellectually but I don't want them to be broken. Weekly spelling tests in the 1st grade I think is absurd, especially when only a few months back parents were being told to allow the children to use their 'kid spelling' and let the children learn to read and recognize
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2008

The Dapplegray campus is wonderful and on the whole my children have had great learning experiences on many levels. I have found that some teachers seem to be doing their jobs without the enthusiasm I saw 4 or 5 years ago. I have always been concerned about the safety of children at school. They are dismisssed from classrooms onto a grassy area, without any adult supervision during pick-up. This seems extremely dangerous, and thoughtless. At times there is a administration member helping to direct traffic, but this has been extremely erratic as of late. The pick-up/traffic situatioin is chaotic for the most part, as parents who are eager to collect their children ignore previously agreed upon 'rules of the road' at Dapplegray. The Principal seems indifferent as he sometimes is present outside at the end of school, but does not consistently intervene with problems, and doesn't watch the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2008

Dapplegray is a fabulous elementary school. Our children are very lucky to attend!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2007

Absolutely excellent school...without question.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2007

Dapplegray is a great school. The teachers team teach and there is consistancy between the classes. They love what they do and help bring out the best in the children. Fred London may be harsh at times, but only with the parents - he is great with the kids, and he knows what he is doing. His leadership has brought the largest elementary school on the peninsula to a level of excellence that will help all of our children succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2007

Although I was pleased with the first two years at Dapplegray, I have found the 'political' aspect of the school to be overbearing. So interested in collecting money. The principal is more interested in siding with the teachers than finding out what the real problem is. I was very pleased with Mrs. Gonzalez as a teacher, she should be rewarded. The school seems so nice from the outside, however, there is a bit of poison within which they so eloquently try to hide.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2007

This school is amazing, it has helped me through some 'education emergency' and the teachers are incredible- I used to go there and I loved it!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

932

Change from
2012 to 2013

-4

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

10 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

5 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

932

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-4

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

10 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

5 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
74%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students86%
Females84%
Males88%
African Americann/a
Asian96%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino55%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability86%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only85%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate82%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate94%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students92%
Females88%
Males96%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino73%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability92%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only91%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate86%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate96%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students84%
Females87%
Males81%
African Americann/a
Asian80%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino81%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability85%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only84%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)58%
Parent education - college graduate91%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate86%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students89%
Females91%
Males87%
African Americann/a
Asian93%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino76%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability92%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only88%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)67%
Parent education - college graduate93%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate93%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students93%
Females93%
Males93%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino89%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability95%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only93%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)90%
Parent education - college graduate88%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students89%
Females88%
Males90%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino84%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability90%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only88%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)85%
Parent education - college graduate88%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate93%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students84%
Females83%
Males85%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino71%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)82%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability85%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only84%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)85%
Parent education - college graduate80%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate91%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students88%
Females87%
Males91%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino76%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability89%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only88%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)85%
Parent education - college graduate86%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate94%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students79%
Females73%
Males85%
African Americann/a
Asian88%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino71%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)78%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability79%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only78%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)69%
Parent education - college graduate80%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate81%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 58%
Asian 19%
Hispanic 15%
Black 2%
Two or more races 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 5%N/AN/A
English language learners 5%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3011 Palos Verdes Drive North
Rolling Hills Estates, CA 90274
Website: Click here
Phone: (310) 541-3706

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Valmonte Elementary School
Palos Verdes Estates, CA


Riviera Hall Lutheran
Redondo Beach, CA



Silver Spur Elementary School
Rancho Palos Verdes, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT