Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 58 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


58 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Rolling Hills Country Day School 5

Posted October 16, 2014
- a parent
It's pretty clear that all of the bad reviews are coming from ONE person that had a bad experience. I mean, no art/music programs?!? Did your child even attend Country Day??? My child has art AND music multiple times per week and is learning Mandarin and Spanish in Kindergarten. Name another school in PV that does that! The fact is, there is no other place that your child will be more completely educated from moral character, science, art, music, athletics, and academics than Country Day. If you are fine with your child only learning what some test scores need them to learn then go ahead and make another choice for your child.

Rolling Hills Country Day School 1

Posted October 05, 2014
- a community member
The school ranks very low academically, school administration needs overhaul and change is needed. The leader is not the right person to run the school...pity to see the existing students in the school....there's better schools around the RPV area. Even those not in the school has nothing good to comment about the leadership of the school. Pity those parents who are in the school.


Rolling Hills Country Day School 5

Posted April 14, 2014
- a parent
Best school ever! My kids are so lucky to get to go here. They have such warm and nurturing teachers and administration. We are lucky to have found this school.

Rolling Hills Country Day School 5

Posted February 08, 2014
- a parent
We started after the school year began and loved the school from the first minute! The admissions dir. is the sweetest and most proactive person we came in contact with in our entire school search. She made us feel at home and made sure my kid had some one to play with even before we were accepted into CD. LOVE our teacher. Best thing we have done.

Rolling Hills Country Day School 5

Posted November 13, 2013
- a parent
RHCDS is an amazing place for children and fosters a love for learning. They obviously have the standard curriculum covered, but also go beyond and offer many other classes that youngsters crave to break up the monotony of daily school work. My child's favorite is computer, but Mandarin is a close second with the recent addition of this program for the lower grades. The teachers truly care about their students and want them to succeed. I love the feeling of community among the parents and the positive vibe on campus. They are definitely doing things right.


Rolling Hills Country Day School 3

Posted October 17, 2013
- a parent
In September 2012 our son attended the middle school, finding the promise of a "welcoming & accepting " student body to be far from the truth. Being new arrivals we knew no one at the school or within the community. Sadly once school began we found the class to be non-inclusive, dismissive and at times bullying to our son. There were a few serious incidents that had to be brought directly to the Executive Director before any action was taken. The lack of response from an unclear administrative chain of command was shocking. RHCDS could benefit greatly from a "counselor" who parents could seek out if there are issues. There is a distinct sub-par language program and the science program is mediocre at best. There are wonderful facilities such as the computer lab and the pool which initially enticed us. No music/art program. Teachers were caring professionals but there are a few horrible exceptions. The Exec. Director has a no-nonsense approach which was very appreciated, although this is not supported by her 2nd tier administration. Parent community is very familiar, a tight knit group. We found cocky confidence + sports enthusiasm = valued traits here. Academics rank lower.
1 person found this helpful

Rolling Hills Country Day School 5

Posted October 04, 2013
- a parent
RHCDS is an outstanding school and clearly the best choice for any parent in the South Bay or Palos Verdes Peninsula area. RHCDS provides an an academically challenging curriculum at each grade level, appropriate to the students capabilities. Before we chose a school for our children, we visited all of the local private schools and spoke with parents at each school. After these encounters, the choice was clearly RHCDS. Our family would love it if the school went through High School.

Rolling Hills Country Day School 1

Posted September 12, 2013
- a community member
One of the worst school ever and the team should be overhaul completely. The school needs a fresh perspective of a quality education. Feel sorry for the existing students who are in the school.


Rolling Hills Country Day School 5

Posted July 30, 2013
- a teacher
Thank you to all of the parents who have given your support to our school via this website. As a teacher, I know how hard the faculty and staff work o make the educational experience for the students successful. We all feel so lucky to work in an environment where the parents and teachers work as a team. RHCDS is truly a special place!

Rolling Hills Country Day School 5

Posted July 30, 2013
- a parent
RHCDS is an amazing school. The teachers and administration are so caring and involved. The teachers give individualized attention, and know our children so well. The communication is incredible. Our daughter's teacher even came to her sporting event on the weekend to cheer her on. Thank you, RHCDS!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Rolling Hills Country Day School
26444 Crenshaw Blvd, Rolling Hills Estates, CA  90274
(310) 377-4848
Last modified Rolling Hills Country Day School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Rolling Hills Country Day School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 58 reviews. Top