Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 21 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


21 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mildred B. Janson Elementary School 5

Posted August 08, 2012
- a parent
WOW what a year and transformation this school has taken! Ever since Mr. Cardenas became principal and applied the 7 Habit leadership program, the school has turned for the better. There is more parental involvement, student pride, and teachers are being help more accountable. Keep up the wonderful job JANSON!

Mildred B. Janson Elementary School 5

Posted September 26, 2011
- a teacher
I am a teacher at this school and I can proudly say that Janson has improved so much over the years. We have more parent involvement and student involvement than ever before. We teach Franklin Covey's 7 Habits and it really has made a difference in the students attitudes and behavior! We have been awarded the title of a Lighthouse school by Covey and we were the first on the west coast.


Mildred B. Janson Elementary School 4

Posted May 26, 2010
- a parent
I have a graduating 6th grader at this school. The only problem is that the students don't receive enough math time. They only learn 150 min ( 3 days) math time a week. I don't think it's sufficient for this level and the historical results of the 6th Grade CST reflect the insufficiency. Just don't be fooledl by just looking at the surface of the statistic. Look carefully into the poorest performance of the subgroup! Since Math & Language Art are the core curriculum, especially at the 6th grade, the students should be prepared properly, so they can transition into different environment in middle school.

Mildred B. Janson Elementary School 5

Posted May 13, 2010
- a parent
Janson school is a great school. However, not just Janson but all schools do not teach to learn they teach to take the CST or Star testing. This is a huge mistake. Teachers are there to assist students in learning actual material not to teach how to take a test. Teachers also do not encourage parent involvement. Parent involvement is critical at the grammer school level. During those precious years a child does not mind if their parents come to school. After 6th grade kids really do not want their child around. So parent involvement is benefits the child and parent along with the teacher. REC after school program is awesome.

Mildred B. Janson Elementary School 3

Posted May 12, 2010
- a parent
My daughter is attending this school and she is in Kinder for 2009-2010. She enjoy the activities in school but as a parent I feel that the school is not as active as the other school. I think we can do so much more to improve the school academically and more support from teachers and parents. I give props to the teachers- they are doing a great job. But !!!! please at least have time to update the Janson website. The schedules posted was dated 2007 and it's already 2010...so simple things like this can help the school. Us parents just want the best education possible for our kids !!!!


Mildred B. Janson Elementary School 5

Posted January 17, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Mildred B. Janson Elementary School 5

Posted August 18, 2009
- a parent
My daughter has done very well at this school. I feel that it is a safe environment. Last yr was her first yr there and she loved it. Everyone is friendly and helpful.

Mildred B. Janson Elementary School 5

Posted June 04, 2009
- a community member
Janson is a very good school. It has begun to have sports. In the mornings on Mondays they have a weekly assembelies. They pass out certificates to students who have done well and was positive. I believe that people who have been going to Janson are lucky. The teachers do their best to help the students succeed in their work.


Mildred B. Janson Elementary School 5

Posted April 11, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Mildred B. Janson Elementary School 1

Posted August 02, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mildred B. Janson Elementary School
8628 East Marshall, Rosemead, CA  91770
(626) 288-3150
Last modified Mildred B. Janson Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mildred B. Janson Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top