Advertisement
Advertisement

Don Bosco Technical Institute

Private | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Rosemead

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $370,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,390.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 26, 2014

This school operates as a business, every student is a number. The teachers are ok. The school principal is nice and all but doesn't step up to the plate when he needs to. The Office people are really mean. I am sure they are good at keeping the accounts in order but maybe the school should invest in sending them to a customer service training They can be very rude and incosiderate. Its pretty sad how things work in a Business like this. Your child's education becomes second priority. First is always the money in this business. I have come across parents who have been in situations where they could not afford to pay the tuition at the time it was due or a sports or fundraiser fee and the child was not allowed back in school because of it. Parents have actually been asked to obtain loans to pay the fees due so their children are allowed back in school. Students have not been allowed back in school for a period of two weeks in a row due to none payments. If the student is really the first priority would this actually be allowed to happen? NO, it wouldn t but sadly it does.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2014

I am an alumnus of this school and a long time teacher. I wanted to respond to some of the less positive reviews listed below. This is truly a great school, but you need to remember that a school can only provide the resources to learn; the student must provide the effort. Bosco Tech provides an amazing range of resources to its students that allow them to expand their education far beyond the three Rs. Some may criticize the business aspect of running a school, but Bosco Tech is a private, independent school, receiving no support from the state or the LA Catholic Archdiocese. That means when tuition is not paid, the school runs at a deficient. The Catholic philosophy of charity only works when you have the resources to give away. The tuition at Bosco Tech is not cheap, but compared to other private schools across the San Gabriel Valley, it lands very much in the middle and the school still provides almost $1 million in aid to its families. 100% of seniors graduate, over 90% attend college after high school and, in a recent survey, parents gave the school a 96% high-satisfaction rating. Bosco Tech is the finest STEM high school in southern California.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 5, 2012

Save yourself time and money. Find a good charter high school. They are free and are accountable, unlike DBTI. I sent my son here based on my experience with its reputation when I was in high school. I attended a girls high school. Back then the focus was on academics now it is something else. They did not bother to keep up with changing technology but instead wasted time and resources on a football field and team. Both are far from being complete. The most recent claim to fame was putting a/c units in the classrooms. Wow! The new president, in his attempt to salvage the academic reputation of the school, directed a mass purge of students who were allowed to fall below academic requirements. Congrats Bosco! You have better scores but you stole time and money from those students you failed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2012

To correct one misstatement, graduates over many years have been accepted to MIT. They do not always chose to attend though.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 17, 2009

How far will this school fall? When I attended in the early 80's, enrollment was about 1,100 students in 5 years. You did high school in three years and had college for two. Sports were a side salad in a wonderful academic meal. Now enrollment is 500 students, high school takes 4 years, there is no college, football permeates the school and tech shops are now the side salad. What the heck?? After Fr. Reina left, the school lost it's way. Poor decisions are dooming the school. What market study showed that a new football program with a new stadium would be a boost to the school? Football hadn't been a tradition for 30 years. Oh, and lets kill the 2 year JC. And lastly, lets not do high school in 3 years, but 4.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2009

Great school, great people, GREAT kids! What a privilege to be able to send my son here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2009

Used to be a great school. Lacking leadership and direction. Makes major program changes without consulting parents or faculty.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2008

As an alumni, I see what Bosco Tech did for me in the long run. After graduating from there I realized how much class, intelligence, and respect each student had. Besides the rigorous academics, the school was a big character builder. Each student that graduates from there is ready to face what's ahead. I applaud Bosco Tech for nurturing more than the individual, but the whole as a community.


Posted June 13, 2008

Don Bosco Tech, My son chosed this school since he was in fifth grade, now he is in his second year at Bosco! He works very hard and, he also has fun when all the techs classes for example electronic vs. construction or [design] vs. computer science compite and do games. I like the teachers they always available and ready to listen, answer any question from parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2006

Great academic college program and technical classes. New sports fields and programs. High parent involvement. To bad they discontinued the 5th year aa college degree program
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2006

As a current parent of a sophmore I can say nothing but good things about the faculty, parents and students at Bosco. The Technologies offered are very important to the students, they take pride in them. Honors classes are available for students that need challenging. All instructors that we have encountered are dedicated, carring and available to provide extra assistance when requested. All kinds of sport activities are available for the boy everything from Golf to Football and all coaches give 110% to help the boys. 5th year was somthing we looked forward, sorry to see it go. Bosco was and continues to be a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2006

Not a parent but a graduate from 3 years ago. The only thing going for this school was the math and econ departments. The tech electives can be a great assest but the school seems to be letting the tech side fade out. Not many of the kids take advantage of the tech degree once they get out since the majority of them don't take it too seriously anymore. Not many graduates go to universities or better private schools after leaving and MIT will never take our graduates no matter how well they do. But even though it is difficult to truly succeed at the Tech, a good education can be obtained through lots of individual hard work. Its a good measure to how your child will do at a University.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 29, 2006

An all-boys Catholic school located in Rosemead, CA, DTB boasts a nice campus and a good overall academic program
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 16, 2005

Not the greatest school. The academic programs are pretty low and everything else is going downhill. Every thing is focused on the recent projects with the sports, such as the football field. With the recent closure of the college program, the school will not get money from big corporations. As a result, the technology programs will also begin to fall as they will not have the resources to teach students. Bottom line is if you have other choices, reconsider Bosco!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 13, 2005

As a partent of an entering Senior (2006), this school has proven to be one of the best. We must remember as parents that education begins at the home and the school is only there to enforce of what we started. My son has been very fortunate in having some of the most dedicated instructors there that go above & beyond the scope of teaching. It was a shame to see that DBT did remove the 5th year program. However, the young men of DBT took it with STRIDE and are making the best of their Senior year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2005

Back in the 90s, this school was very prestigious where students did not only learned academics but also a technological shop of their choice. This led up to some students sticking around for a 5th year so they could get an AA. But little by little this faded away and you can tell by the population. I think it was a very good school when I was going there but now, I am not so sure.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 28, 2005

Very good school! I go toPomona because of Bosco Tech.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2005

Don Bosco Tech is an all-male high school that provides a strong education by following the Salesian educational tradition and philosophy of emphasizing the personal, religious and moral growth of each student, so as to become moral and productive citizens in the technologically oriented society of today and tomorrow. The academic program combines technical and practical skills development with a college prepatory education, organized around eight specialized tracks that provide advanced knowledge in the theory and application of computer science, electronics, construction, design, graphic communitcations, manufacturing, materials science, and power and transportation technologies. The Tech has completed a major capital improvement program that has renovated the school's infrastructure, and provided modern athletics facilities. My two brothers and I graduated from the Tech. The practical skills we gained were a strong foundation for the college and graduate studies we completed in science related fields. I also served as an instructor at the school.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 74%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 7%
Two or more races 7%
White 5%
Asian 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Black 1%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • All boys
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Los Angeles
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1151 San Gabriel Boulevard
Rosemead, CA 91770
Phone: (626) 940-2000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Logsdon School
Rosemead, CA



Schurr High School
Montebello, CA


South El Monte High School
South El Monte, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT