Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

9-12|Private
397 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
23 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 26 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Don Bosco Technical Institute 5

Posted June 24, 2015
- a community member
My high school Experience ther was geat for the most part. The fact that the 5th year college program was removed during our sophmore year was very disappointing and we as a student body felt cheated not being able to complete what we were promised. The technology side of the school had been deminishing for sometime and hopefully is improving now. I was in the Power and Transportation Technolgy which is no longer availabe at the Tech.

Don Bosco Technical Institute 5

Posted September 29, 2014
- a community member
I graduated from Bosco Tech in 2004. I majored in Construction and was heavily involved in campus activities (youth ministry, student council, etc). I believe that Bosco Tech provided me with a strong academic foundation that has allowed me to fulfill my academic and career goals. The teachers genuinely care for their students and work tirelessly to help their students succeed. The only students that fail out of Bosco Tech are those who want to fail. The school is challenging but not impossible. You will work hard and take more classes than any other high school students. Most high school students will graduate with between 245-260 credits but at Bosco Tech, a student will graduate with 330 credits. The pre-engineering education is one of a kind and over 66% of the graduates every year pursue a degree in engineering when they are in college. That's 4 1/2 times the National Average of 15%.


Don Bosco Technical Institute 5

Posted May 27, 2014
- a parent
My son is graduating in a few days. We have been very impressed with Don Bosco Tech. I am not originally from this area. So I knew little about the school and was a bit leery. I thought it seemed like a trade school. But it is a very serious college preparatory school. If your son is willing to put in the effort, he can get a superb education here. Lots of honors and AP level classes. Teachers are willing to put in after school and weekend sessions to be sure everyone is on top of the material. My son will have completed nine AP classes and has passed every AP test he has taken. So he is more than prepared for college. Of course, you can be a slacker here too. But that is your choice. The administration keeps parents involved. Every year, they discuss the college application process with parents, and what is to be done at that point in time. Overall, our experience has been tremendous. Great school!

Don Bosco Technical Institute 2

Posted March 26, 2014
- a parent
This school operates as a business, every student is a number. The teachers are ok. The school principal is nice and all but doesn't step up to the plate when he needs to. The Office people are really mean. I am sure they are good at keeping the accounts in order but maybe the school should invest in sending them to a customer service training They can be very rude and incosiderate. Its pretty sad how things work in a Business like this. Your child's education becomes second priority. First is always the money in this business. I have come across parents who have been in situations where they could not afford to pay the tuition at the time it was due or a sports or fundraiser fee and the child was not allowed back in school because of it. Parents have actually been asked to obtain loans to pay the fees due so their children are allowed back in school. Students have not been allowed back in school for a period of two weeks in a row due to none payments. If the student is really the first priority would this actually be allowed to happen? NO, it wouldn t but sadly it does.

Don Bosco Technical Institute 5

Posted March 26, 2014
- a teacher
I am an alumnus of this school and a long time teacher. I wanted to respond to some of the less positive reviews listed below. This is truly a great school, but you need to remember that a school can only provide the resources to learn; the student must provide the effort. Bosco Tech provides an amazing range of resources to its students that allow them to expand their education far beyond the three Rs. Some may criticize the business aspect of running a school, but Bosco Tech is a private, independent school, receiving no support from the state or the LA Catholic Archdiocese. That means when tuition is not paid, the school runs at a deficient. The Catholic philosophy of charity only works when you have the resources to give away. The tuition at Bosco Tech is not cheap, but compared to other private schools across the San Gabriel Valley, it lands very much in the middle and the school still provides almost $1 million in aid to its families. 100% of seniors graduate, over 90% attend college after high school and, in a recent survey, parents gave the school a 96% high-satisfaction rating. Bosco Tech is the finest STEM high school in southern California.


Don Bosco Technical Institute 1

Posted February 05, 2012
- a parent
Save yourself time and money. Find a good charter high school. They are free and are accountable, unlike DBTI. I sent my son here based on my experience with its reputation when I was in high school. I attended a girls high school. Back then the focus was on academics now it is something else. They did not bother to keep up with changing technology but instead wasted time and resources on a football field and team. Both are far from being complete. The most recent claim to fame was putting a/c units in the classrooms. Wow! The new president, in his attempt to salvage the academic reputation of the school, directed a mass purge of students who were allowed to fall below academic requirements. Congrats Bosco! You have better scores but you stole time and money from those students you failed.

Don Bosco Technical Institute 5

Posted January 17, 2012
- a teacher
To correct one misstatement, graduates over many years have been accepted to MIT. They do not always chose to attend though.

Don Bosco Technical Institute 1

Posted October 17, 2009
- a parent
How far will this school fall? When I attended in the early 80's, enrollment was about 1,100 students in 5 years. You did high school in three years and had college for two. Sports were a side salad in a wonderful academic meal. Now enrollment is 500 students, high school takes 4 years, there is no college, football permeates the school and tech shops are now the side salad. What the heck?? After Fr. Reina left, the school lost it's way. Poor decisions are dooming the school. What market study showed that a new football program with a new stadium would be a boost to the school? Football hadn't been a tradition for 30 years. Oh, and lets kill the 2 year JC. And lastly, lets not do high school in 3 years, but 4.


Don Bosco Technical Institute 5

Posted September 25, 2009
- a parent
Great school, great people, GREAT kids! What a privilege to be able to send my son here.

Don Bosco Technical Institute 1

Posted April 15, 2009
- a parent
Used to be a great school. Lacking leadership and direction. Makes major program changes without consulting parents or faculty.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Don Bosco Technical Institute
1151 San Gabriel Boulevard, Rosemead, CA  91770
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. (626) 940-2000
Last modified Don Bosco Technical Institute is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Top