« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public
Roseville, CA
Students enrolled: 995

Contact this school

2525 Country Club Drive
Roseville, CA 95747

School website
(916) 780-2620
(916) 780-2635
Nearby homes for sale
Map of Silverado Middle School address.

Profile Completeness

INTERMEDIATE

Want to improve this school’s profile? You can!

All schools on GreatSchools begin with BASIC completeness, which includes important information like contact details and test scores. It’s up to the school community to take the next steps. As a parent or community member, you can share what you know with other families by writing a review or answering a few questions about what the school offers. As a school leader, you can upload photos, describe school programs, and more with an Official school profile.

The completeness meter moves to INTERMEDIATE, then ADVANCED, and finally HONOR ROLL as you complete the following: 10 or more reviews, at least 1 photo, and 9 program questions parents find helpful.

Want to improve this school's profile?
for Parents
for Schools
 
June 24, 2014
Silverado is a great school,but the students there are pretty mean. The teachers just talk to the students who get in trouble and a point deduction. If your going to make friends in this school, be friends with the people who have common interests. This school is great but most of the students are pretty mean.

- submitted by a community member
March 23, 2014
I spoke with other parents about this school to see how they feel. I was told about bullying, no music programs, nothing special for the kids ie: enrichment programs. Some kids came from a loving school that encouraged the children to learn using positive words and pleasant environment. Other have described the children's environment as if they are doing time in prison...just numbers with faces waiting to get out or to get in trouble. I have read several reviews on this school that echo my sentiments. It's all about image. They don't care about knocking the students' self esteem into the ground as long as they don't have to deal with a problem head on. I am very disappointed with the mindset of the office staff. Sensitivity training is needed all the way up to the principal.

- submitted by a community member
March 11, 2013
The teaching staff is great for the most part. They are helpful and involved with student development. The administration is a whole other story. I have read several reviews on this school that echo my sentiments. It's all about image. They don't care about knocking the students' self esteem into the ground as long as they don't have to deal with a problem head on. I am very disappointed with the mindset of the office staff. Sensitivity training is apparently not part of new hire orientation. Sad....

- submitted by a parent
January 22, 2012
Most of the teachers are nice but the princiable and staff are not. My Son went to that school the begining of this year. All because he moved one block away from his old school Cooley and they made him tranfer to another school. Silverado does not care about the kids are the learning just the image of there school. I have my son in homeschool now and hopefully can get him back to his old school next year. If you are looking to go to silverado I would think twice.

- submitted by a parent
July 28, 2011
My daughter Jessica just graduated from Silverado and will be attending Woodcreek this fall. She enjoyed her 3 years there very much. I thought that the teachers as well as the administration did a really good job. We were told horror stories about certain teachers and staff and never experienced any of them. I think you need to go there with an open mind. I believe you and your child will get out of it what you are willing to put in to it. Thanks, from a happy student and parent

- submitted by a parent
July 27, 2011
I'm might be going to Silverado, I can't wait! I'm going into sixth grade. My names Kyra, and I'm excited for middle school!

- submitted by a community member
May 16, 2011
The school district is awesome, but this particular school it terrible. The administration is strictly concerned with the image of the school, and could care less about the well being of the students. They are inconsistent and selective at enforcing their rules and policies. My wife worked as a campus supervisor and quit because she could no longer handle the way she was told to discipline the students. If a child was a constant trouble maker, they got away with it because the staff did not want to deal with complex problem children. However, when a good child made a bad decision and broke one of the rules that child was punished very harshly. Both of my kids went to Heritage Oak elementary and it is a great school. My daughter is now in Woodcreek High School and loves it, but her time at Silverado was a complete waste. My son is finishing up his last year at Silverado and will be going to Woodcreek High School next year. Thank God! Silverado Middle School is nothing but a waste of three years of your child's life. My advise is to either home school them for those three years or transfer to another school. Trust me, Silverado Middle School is terrible!!!

- submitted by a parent
December 13, 2010
Very clean and new school, but the leadership is AWFUL! This is probably the strictest school in the district. It's great that they protect children from being bullied, but they forget the spirit of the rules and kids get in trouble for the stupidest things. One kid got in trouble for throwing his backpack in the air and it got stuck in a tree! If two friends wrestle or punch each other playfully, they will get detention. It is truly a zero tolerance school taken to the extreme. Beware!

- submitted by a parent
December 07, 2009
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a student
November 12, 2009
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a teacher
no rating July 10, 2009
i am going into 7th grade and even though i have only been there for 1 year i love this school. i love being able to meet new people from different schools and that the teachers treat you with more respect and responsibility

- submitted by a student
February 28, 2009
This school is truly amazing. In my year, an advanced math class has started, and I will be beginning my time in highschool in Algebra Two. I have had many amazing teachers- one from seventh grade that I visist every day, and still another this year in math, Gregg Motarjeme. He won some sort of award this year, like 'Best Teacher Award' or something, and it was judged for teachers throughout the state. So, yeah we have an amazing school.

- submitted by a student
January 25, 2009
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a student
December 30, 2008
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a student
December 11, 2008
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a student
December 08, 2008
We have not had a very positive experience thus far this year. My son has been picked on by the students and not supported by a certain teacher. There seems to be a lack of understanding of his learning dissability and other diagnosis'. I am truly considering seeking a private school to help support him in the next few years of school. From a previous meeting with the teachers I have learned that that certain teacher is not aware of my son's feelings and anxiety caused by herself and his peers. There are teachers and peers that have been sucessful and effective with my son but I think that it is unfair that he is picked on, shoved, name called, ignored by classmates during projects, and feeling alienated during school-time. I would appreciate more support from the school.

- submitted by a parent
September 18, 2008
this is a wonderful school my daughter has been at this cool for 3 years and for the past three years she hasnt said anything bad of this school. And the whole TRL thing is great for kids these days. Because of the teachers she has broughten report cards and progress reports with a A's. She has always had a i dont care thing for school but these teachers are great. plus there support is over the top.

- submitted by a parent
July 28, 2008
This is defenitly the best school i have ever been to. After being bullied for so many years, Silverado was the place where i finally felt very welcome and in my place. They encouraged us to have a great time, unlike some other schools who do the stupid 'be nice everybody' and 'sharing is caring' you have to realize that most kids don't care about that crap. Having fun rallys, games, and other things is what kids care about. Not that softy bullie stuff. Now the TEACHERS! They are great, especially the 6th grade teachers. All the teachers are very helpful and resouceful. They have great things to share they help you with personal problems to. I would reccomend and kid or parent to check out this school. It amazing and i would reccomend it to anybody!

- submitted by a student
May 30, 2008
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
January 04, 2008
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
December 24, 2007
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a community member
November 01, 2007
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a community member
October 27, 2007
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a community member
October 23, 2007
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
October 20, 2007
This school is always having fun learning activities! The exploraties are amazingly fun! So are the feild trips. This school also has the best of the best teachers! They all know how to work with your child when they need extra help. There is also an Avid program for 8th graders who learn studying skills aand go on trips to local colleges like Sac State and UC Davis. This school I rate a 5. 5 being the best ever!

- submitted by a student
no rating September 25, 2007
Starting new at this school has been a challenge for my children. Although Jr. High is always a crazy time for kids with hormones and everything, the kids seem too into their clothing and material things than their studies. The kids have been rude and seem to have a problem with respecting the teachers, so I'm not suprised that that the disipline is tuff. I am a big fan of the new grading system as it shall let the kids that are truly working hard suceed. I'm looking forward to a cutback of students next year so the staff is not so overwhelmed.

- submitted by a parent
September 17, 2007
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a student
August 31, 2007
Silverado is a GREAT School. It has some over crowding issues but this will be resolved when another middle school opens in 2008. My daughter graduated Silverado last year and I can say that Silverado did a great job preparing her for High School - both in academics and sports. I also have a son who is a 7th grade GATE student at Silverado. I asked the school to get him into advanced math - he is now in 8th grade math. I would recommend the students take advantage of band, sports and other extracurricular activities! Hopefully the new principle succeeds in being a GREAT school leader.

- submitted by a parent
May 31, 2007
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a student
December 07, 2006
This school is very enterjectic and academically and emotionally involved. The teachers are extremely wonderful and the principles and vice principles are excellent. Also their card/point reward system is genius and their activeties P.E. etc.. are professional. A++

- submitted by a student
November 27, 2006
I think they need to let them have less of a dress code.

- submitted by a parent
November 15, 2006
This school is just awful. It lacks leadership from the campus monerators,teachers, and any other staff. If you want your child to suceed, I suggest something else...

- submitted by a parent
November 01, 2006
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
September 21, 2006
I love Silverado Middle School. There are so many friends to make and the staffs are so friendly! Silverado is the best school we have tried. Thank you Silverado Bears! GRRRR !

- submitted by a student
September 12, 2006
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a student
June 29, 2006
My daughter has finished two years at Silverado. She has been challenged and has worked very hard both in academics, music and sports. SMS is a GREAT school. My only concern is the student to teacher ratio is on the high side. With a large class size, students may lack the individual attention they need to succeed.

- submitted by a parent
May 29, 2006
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
May 13, 2006
A great school in a great community! Top notch teachers and staff. High performing and forward thinking district.

- submitted by a parent
August 12, 2005
We are brand new to this school and this district. My daughter started 7th grade this week and so far she seems very excited about her teachers and the school. I felt they were very organized when I checked my daughter in and got her school schedule. I like that they have 2 sets of books (one for school and one for home) so that my daughters backpack doesn't weigh more than her.

- submitted by a parent
July 03, 2005
the sport programs are very good.teachers give students individual attention and allow them to work at their own pace,and read on their own.their Reading Challenges are very exciting,and give us students incentvesfor reading over the limit.

- submitted by a student
May 27, 2005
My school is a competer of Silverado and I have to say they have good test scores but some of their students can get kind of rude......Still they have GREAT *athleates

- submitted by a former student
May 19, 2005
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
April 04, 2005
This is one great school, administration, teachers and all staff are excellent. Students who are not used to the high standards, are encouraged and supported. Great job all.

- submitted by a parent
February 19, 2005
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
June 15, 2004
Silverado is great at reaching out to students. Projects and assignments in all classes are integrated with all subjects. Group work is stressed, but the teachers are expierenced enough to watch out for groups in which one person does all the work. My daughters find that their homework is 'interesting' instead of 'boring' like at their elemntary school. Along with its supeior academics, Silverado has an athletic program that is well-organized and coaches who understand students and the middle school age. Performing arts at Silverado consitsts of beginning and concert bands, a dance elective class as well as club, arts classes, and a jazz band.

- submitted by a parent
March 19, 2004
My son loves the school, that is important to me. He tells me the teachers 'respect' him; they say good morning, hello etc. He seems to have become quite social and has made many friends. The teachers are strict, which is necessary. They care a lot about the students. Whenever we have any issues, the Principle and Vice Principle are more than willing to get involved. Disputes are handled quickly. They keep a tight ship. They make the student 'take responsiblity' for his actions, I like that! They are willing to sit down and discuss any grievience. They have ample opportuntities for students to participate in government, dances, sports, music, field trips and volunteer. They have a 'buddy system' where the older kids tutor the younger students. An A+ school to me. Keep up the dedication, hard work and committments. We all benefit in the community. Great Job!

- submitted by a parent
January 06, 2004
I am very happy with our experience at Siverado. My daughter started mid-year(Jan.2003)in 6th grade. She was welcomed by her peers as well as her teachers. The teachers welcome e-mails and were very quick to respond. Now half way through 7th grade we are still very pleased. From the office staff all the way through the administration, Silverado is a great school!

- submitted by a parent
December 16, 2003
I am dissapointed with Silverado Middle School. I don't believe they encourage parent participation nor do they motivate children to want to learn. The atmosphere is cold and un-inviting. Some [meth]ods of discipline used by certain teachers are unfair and in-appropriate.

- submitted by a parent
Need help choosing a school? We can help »

Media Gallery

Media missing

Uh oh! No photos. This frame will look much better when you upload photos »


Facebook


Nearby homes for sale

     

Last modified: October 28, 2014

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Silverado Middle School
2525 Country Club Drive, Roseville, CA  95747
(916) 780-2620
Last modified Silverado Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Silverado Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 48 reviews. Top