Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

546 students|Eureka Union
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 12 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Excelsior Elementary School 4

Posted December 05, 2012
- a parent
Excellent school district, dedicated teachers, the last of the schools holding on to enrichment programs. Fourth through six grade are huge transitional years, and Excelsior has been a rich environment for our children to grow and learn. There are always teachers with different teacher styles, but if parents buckle up and work as a team, it WORKS!

Excelsior Elementary School 4

Posted November 06, 2011
- a parent
This is my child's first year at Excelsior and it is nothing short of amazing in how well she is doing. Her teachers are involved and care about setting the right educational goals for her. Because of that, she is flourishing in the fantastic learning environment found in this school. Also, she found it easy to make friends and to adjust to the changes that come from going to a new school. We are very pleased with our decision to move to this area. It was definitely the right move for our child. Although I can see why some parents have concerns about the principle. She is not always "approachable". Or rather, doesn't always seem to be.


Excelsior Elementary School 4

Posted August 18, 2011
- a parent
The curriculum is great and my child is doing well academically! But I agree with the parent below me, if you get a great teacher then your child will do well. Unfortunately if you get a lazy teacher (great thing that there are only a few lazy ones) then your child will suffer. Don't even think about going to the principal for help, whether it is about a teacher or bullies. She will stand behind her teachers even if they are completely wrong and when talking to her about bullies she will tell you 'thats what children do at this age' or 'what am i supposed to do about it?'. My advice is stand behind your child. Listen to what he/she says and bother the principal until she will actually listen to you and your child. Be the thorn in the side of lazy teachers because that is what they need to get motivated. You are your childs parent and you are supposed to protect them when no one else will. Please don't let the rude office staff, uncaring Principal or a few lazy teachers stop your child from having a great school experience. This school will continue to go downhill until they replace the unmotivated teachers and actually start taking bullying in all forms seriously!

Excelsior Elementary School 3

Posted May 31, 2011
- a parent
If you get a good teacher you will have a wonderful experience. If you get one of the other teachers...... you are out of luck. Prepare to pay for a tutor and a shrink! It is a shame that our Education System does not have the power to get rid of low performing or lazy teachers.

Excelsior Elementary School 5

Posted March 10, 2011
- a parent
We took my, then 4th grade now 5th grade, son out of this school when we moved away last year and he missed it terribly. I thought the move would be good for him and the school he would be attending was a good one. Well the grass is always greener on the other side and we never realized how amazing excelsior really is until we left it. We're moving back just for this school. The teachers are great and always make time for parents. They're definitely out for the children's best interest. There is a lot of parent involvement here. I've seen a lot of negative posts about the principal and I don't really agree with them. She and I did have a misunderstanding at one point but when my husband went to pick up my son she went outside and talked with him about it and apologized that there was a misunderstanding. We were able to get the matter solved that day. The kids love her and she's very approachable. The office staff is nice but they definitely have their not-so-friendly moments. I highly recommend this school.


Excelsior Elementary School 1

Posted June 10, 2010
- a parent
The parents at this school are HORRIBLE. One parent actually threw an EGG at the crossing guard. Nothing was done. The parents are snobby, and our experience with the teacher wasn't that great either. We are not coming back next year.

Excelsior Elementary School
no rating

Posted May 21, 2009
- a parent
the teachers here are pretty good. THe principal leaves something to be desired, and the office staff has been snotty. I have enjoyed the environmnet at GBHS much more!!

Excelsior Elementary School
no rating

Posted February 25, 2008
- a parent
This is not my favorite school. The principle is not very involved and takes no action about peer relationships, cussing, or general well-beings of students. All principles of the Eureka School district are obviously trained to tell parents if any problem arise, that this is just how it is, and if you don't like it-move!


Excelsior Elementary School 5

Posted January 08, 2008
- a student
I've been to this school and it was great!

Excelsior Elementary School 5

Posted August 16, 2005
- a parent
Excellent school with high levels of parent involvement. Not much in the way of a gifted/talented program, but nationally competitive Destination Imagination teams.

Nearby schools

Excelsior Elementary School
2701 Eureka Road, Roseville, CA  95661-6447
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. (916) 780-2701
Last modified Excelsior Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades 4-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top