Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Robert C. Cooley Middle School

Public | 6-8

 
 

Living in Roseville

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $285,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,270.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

29 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 17, 2012

Cooley is an amazing school! The activities and clubs, are great such as, AVID, reptile club, Stand up now club, and many more! The teachers are smart, fun, entertaining while they teach, and know how to be strict when they need to. A majority of the students care about their grades and school, and actually want to succeed. However, some students are thinking in the opposite direction, but that is why Cooley staff/teachers help them go far, and do good in middle school. I think Cooley is the place to make middle school A LOT easier! :)


Posted August 16, 2011

My son will be starting his second year at Cooley. So far I believe the teachers are doing an excellent job considering the amount of children who lack discipline. The students are expected to complete assignments and study for tests. If the student can follow these simple rules, they will succeed. My son thought some of the teachers were strict but he did learn to respect them. I did not have any problems contacting a teacher when an issue cames up. The teachers respond quickly considering they are very busy. Overall I believe this school to be a great place of learning if this is the goal of both the student and parent. They also have a great band with a very dedicated teacher. If a student wants to party all the time, they will fall behind very quickly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2011

hey, well got to say i go to this school. and i'm in the 8th grade. i like this school is alrite and the teachers are cool and there fun as well. i love the princeipals. this school is beast.....


Posted January 5, 2011

I go to this school and most of the teachers of great. One of the new teachers that came in is by far the best math teacher you could have (mr.Blom). Most of the students there though are very immature, they cannot handle having a supstitute because all they do is chat, chat, chat. And than the students also just love to treat eachother horifically and call them names because they think its cool...The teachers are awsome but the student...most of the stundents (not honors students they r MATURE :) ) need to get there act together. Being a donkey is not cool.


Posted September 22, 2010

Cooley Middle School is the best school I have ever taught at. I really admire Cooley
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 4, 2010

I go there and the teachers are excelent and the books and supplies are good!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 22, 2009

Classes took a long time to be controlled. Teachers were not able to teach adequately because of the lack of ability to discipline when needed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2009

i currently go to Cooley; it is by far the best school ive ever attended. there is alot of clubs, activities,and sports. the teachers are amazing and the school is really fun
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 2, 2009

I go to Cooley middle school and this school is just amazing. All the teachers are excellent. I am doing really well here I have all A's. At first i wanted to go to BUljan, but now I am in love with cooley, and you will love it too. The best things about cooley is that they have Jamba Juice every Wednesday, they have a halloween fashion show, they have a ditch day, they play music on fridays and much much more. Over all Cooley is just a great school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 27, 2009

I couldn't be happier with Cooley. The teachers are fantastic about communicating with the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

The teachers really demonstrate an excitement about learning, it's contagious and you can feel the energy radiating throughout campus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2009

it is an awsome school. the teachers are awsome and have great teaching skills.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 2, 2008

I went to Cooley for 6th grade, but then i had to move sadly, but i still go there mentally :) I met a lot of great friends there and i love it dearly! Some of the teachers are a bit harsh, but most are brilliant. I met most of my best friends i still have two years later there, oh, and the food there is awesome! (Get the soup and salad, you won't regret it!) Over all, the principal is fun and energetic (and i little coocoo, in a good way), and the classes were soooo fun!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 12, 2008

We are new to the area and I cannot tell you how much I respect this school and its staff. We have been made to feel welcome and my child is doing very well there. Being new and new to CA is a hard thing for any student! My son likes school and has made some really nice friends and loves his teachers. Thank you all for what you do!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2008

I had nothing but problems with this school. My child paid and signed up for some extra activities the teachers made available-but then they did not follow through with them. My child has always gotten excellent grades-they dropped while attending Cooley.Then my child decided it was cool to cutt class with her friends and hang out in bathroom. They called me when she was not in class-having no idea where she was-- i was told that there would be consequences at school for her actions. But they did nothing! i left several messages for the principal and received absolutley no response. Unacceptable to me! Seems like this school does not have it together..So how can they expect their students to.Thankfully we moved out of the district and my child is doing much better with no problems.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2007

I think this school has too much harsh disiplines. It has good teachers but some of them, I am not pointing out anyone, or a bit mean. Not mean like threat mean, just they scold the children for small reasons like if you don't pay attention you should at least give a warning. The school has great lunches. Great electives. Just the discipline is too harsh. When Cooley opened it was a good school. But I think its getting worse every year. I think if we work together though we can make this place even better for the staff and students than it already is.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 10, 2007

I am a foster parent and have put 13 children through Cooley Middle School. I have found the administration and teachers to be top of the line. They have worked with me and my children providing us with the help necessary so each child had their chance to succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2007

I was in the 2nd graduating class for Robert C. Cooley Middle School, and I have to say I miss the school, The teachers I had were always nice and fair to the students, I'd recommend this school to anyone in the area.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 5, 2007

the teachers are graet and teach you well and have fun at the same time cooley really is a great place to be
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 9, 2007

Ok this school rocks. I have so many friends and the teachers are so nice! the food is excellent this school gave me staright a's. Im so happy to come again this year!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

874

Change from
2012 to 2013

-18

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

10 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

874

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-18

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

10 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

307 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
74%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

307 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
n/a
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

321 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
70%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

291 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
55%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

334 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
46%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

377 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
61%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
14%

2012

 
 
0%

2011

 
 
0%

2010

 
 
0%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

400 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
58%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

377 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students76%
Females75%
Males77%
African Americann/a
Asian92%
Filipino63%
Hispanic or Latino57%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Non-economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disability73%
Students with no reported disability76%
English learner30%
Fluent-English proficient and English only79%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate50%
Parent education - high school graduate56%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)70%
Parent education - college graduate79%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate95%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students70%
Females68%
Males72%
African Americann/a
Asian92%
Filipino69%
Hispanic or Latino43%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)78%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Non-economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disability73%
Students with no reported disability70%
English learner48%
Fluent-English proficient and English only72%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate44%
Parent education - high school graduate44%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)56%
Parent education - college graduate80%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate92%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students100%
Females100%
Males100%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability100%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only100%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students76%
Females80%
Males73%
African American92%
Asian87%
Filipino87%
Hispanic or Latino60%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Non-economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disability58%
Students with no reported disability80%
English learner25%
Fluent-English proficient and English only80%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate67%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)73%
Parent education - college graduate84%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate87%
Parent education - declined to state54%

Math

All Students62%
Females58%
Males67%
African American67%
Asian75%
Filipino100%
Hispanic or Latino37%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)65%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Non-economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disability44%
Students with no reported disability66%
English learner18%
Fluent-English proficient and English only65%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate27%
Parent education - high school graduate37%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)60%
Parent education - college graduate76%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate76%
Parent education - declined to state46%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students63%
Females69%
Males58%
African American57%
Asian90%
Filipino77%
Hispanic or Latino48%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)62%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Non-economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disability52%
Students with no reported disability65%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only64%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate45%
Parent education - high school graduate44%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)51%
Parent education - college graduate73%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate80%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students72%
Females77%
Males67%
African American69%
Asian87%
Filipino83%
Hispanic or Latino50%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)75%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Non-economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disability53%
Students with no reported disability74%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only73%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate46%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)60%
Parent education - college graduate80%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate91%
Parent education - declined to state82%

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Students14%
Femalesn/a
Males7%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)17%
Economically disadvantaged8%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only17%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Geometry

All Students91%
Females89%
Males94%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)96%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability91%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only91%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate93%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students75%
Females71%
Males78%
African American69%
Asian93%
Filipino97%
Hispanic or Latino58%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)73%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Non-economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disability40%
Students with no reported disability80%
English learner17%
Fluent-English proficient and English only76%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate33%
Parent education - high school graduate57%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)64%
Parent education - college graduate86%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate88%
Parent education - declined to state64%

Science

All Students85%
Females83%
Males87%
African American85%
Asian93%
Filipino90%
Hispanic or Latino73%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Non-economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disability73%
Students with no reported disability86%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only86%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate68%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)77%
Parent education - college graduate91%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate96%
Parent education - declined to state73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 59% 26%
Hispanic 20% 52%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 14% 11%
Black 3% 6%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 31%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9300 Prairie Woods Way
Roseville, CA 95747
Website: Click here
Phone: (916) 771-1740

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



St. John's School
Roseville, CA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT