Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Wilson C. Riles Middle School

Public | 7-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Roseville

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $285,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,270.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 26, 2013

Can anyone tell me if this School once was a juvenile hall or some sort of Correctional Facility? I've heard it from a couple people now. Just want to know if its true before sending the kids there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2013

I don't recommend this school unless your child is really a high achiever and self-motivated already. The principal is the biggest problem. She has been there forever and I just don't think she cares anymore. She just makes excuses and never takes responsibility for the issues at the school nor does she make any efforts to so anything differently. The pluses are that the school is safe and don't seem to have drug or violence issues, the negatives are that they are very limited on class options, field trips, extra curricular activities or prep for high school training.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2013

Can't say much about this school. My ex moved out of the dry creek school district and this yr center school denied his transfer. I was so use to dry creek and how they keep the parents so involved and keep the kids on their toes. my son had projects left and right and they guided them to be ready for college. Well I got a letter how I can remove my son from Wilson c Riles and put him in any school in the district cause they had very low test scores. I knew my son education was in trouble this yr. He would come home with head aches cause the kids miss behaved so bad in class and the teachers couldn't handle them. Projects he had one all yr. I moved over in dry creek district so my son doesn't have to go there anymore. Sad my son will miss the friends he meet but doesn't want to.go.back. He went from being a A/B student to B/C/D student cause he couldn't focus. If you can try to get a district to.district transfer and don't put your kid in this school. My.kid is willing to ride his bike for 30/45 to go to a different school instead of staying here which is just a block or so from my ex I.think.that says a lot;(
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2011

I have subbed at this school and like any junior high, students of this age can be a handful. The adminstration was supportive for the most part and the prinicipal always remembered my first name. Teachers here care. Irma, campus security, is pleasant but can dish out the tough love when necessary. I don't have my own children, but if asked if I would put my child here, I'd say ... yes.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 28, 2010

Office staff are very rude especially the school nurse she needs to find another profession because she is just mean and rude to the parents and especially to the kids if you can send your child to another middle school do it this one is just BAD!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2010

This is the worst school you could ever send your child. My daughter attends wcr and the teachers do not know how to control a class room. The office staff are rude an disrespectful. The acedemic system is horrbile and they have no real extra help. If I were you i would recommend you DONT send your child here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2009

WCRMS is the best school I have ever been to.I have been going there for 2 years now and yes that means I am only in 7th grade but to all you parents that say our school is quick to give out detions you need to double check your facts because 98% of the time it's the students fault and no one elses! I have seen a lot of kids that were getting D's and F's get help in class for other students and there teacher. I personally know all the staff there and each and every one of them is very kind and is willing to help the students rather than punish them. So if you think that our school is rude or unkind to other staff and the students you need to get a life and actually check your facts pefor you make a decision!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 3, 2009

The office staff is wonderful. The teachers are wonderful. It is one of the most caring and capable group of teachers I have seen.


Posted July 18, 2009

My step daughter attended this school in 7th grade (elem was k-6). She was enrolled in the AVID program, and learned valuable skills for High School and College. Her teachers were very involved, and easy to get in touch with. When her grades dipped to a C-, the teachers responded immediately and told my daughter exactly what was needed to bring the grades up. She ended with a high B average, many friends, and a confidence in herself not seen in many of today's teens. We were told she would not be able to start on the first day, and when I spoke with the VP, he solved the problem in less than an hour. All the ladies in the office are very helpful, but then again, I show them respect. Perhaps June 2 could try that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2009

Wilson Riles is one of the most horrible schools a child could ever attend. The front office staff are some of the most miserable women I have ever come across. Some of the teachers are good, but for the most part, they seem overwhelmed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

i like the school. they have tought me lots of stuff and it is really cool and has nice teachers. Although it looks like a jail it is acually very nice.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 12, 2008

WCRMS is a fine school, that offers a new facility and ensures the safety of its students. The teaching staff expects the students to be accountable which is great preparation for the soon to be high-schoolers. I was able to contact my child's teachers frequently and they were always very polite and professional. Many of the parents I've heard complain have children whose grades are D's and F's in most of their classes. So I don't think the school should be slandered because of a few children that would rather misbehave, instead of doing what they should be at school... learning. People that complain shouldn't be so quick to point the finger, and instead ask what they can do to help change the situation, instead of blaming the teachers for their lazy parenting, because they are ultimately responsible for their own children
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2008

My daughter will be attending her 2nd year at Wilson C. Riles and we think it is a great school. The teachers and staff are wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2008

I couldn't agree more with the last review from 4/10/08! If your child is struggling academically, all you will here about are the credentials of each 'outstanding' teacher your child has. After a while this gets real old!Of course you work with your child to improve their skills, but ultimately I do not feel that their goal is to have your child succeed if it means going the extra mile, or doing something out of the norm. I do notice that they also hand out citations like hotcakes!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2008

I think that Wilson C. Riles is an average middle school. The center school district has done a great job implementing a broadcast system to inform when your child isn't in class. However, a big concern when addressing how a kid can be in a class for the whole year and have a D or F and the instructor's response have you seen our Aeries website. The underline tone is that they want your child to be accountable for their actions but, what about the school and the instructor?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2007

I think that WCRMS is a great school. They have really good standards and I like how much they care about the kids safety. So, far the teachers have all been really great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2007

I go to wcrms and i just love it ! It is the bomb!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 21, 2007

This school is more about handing out detentions and suspensions than worrying about the students academic achievement. The teachers and the V.P.'s are quick to hand out punishment to the kids having fun and horse playing with each other than watching the kids that are actually fighting, or doing worse things. Let kids be kids, and pay more attention to the real trouble makers. Teachers need to be in contact more with the parents about the students and their grades. Not wait until the student is failing to notify us. Not the greatest school that I have interacted with.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2007

Wilson c riles is a good school but there ways it can be better like more sports after school clubs and more ways for students to earn merit points. They do not really include the parents in any thing so that is a bad quality. I know t is a new school so maybe naext year wil be better but they just cut web out as a elective and it is now a afterv school program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2006

Lot of academic programs with wonderful teachers. Many after school activities such as oddessy of the mind and mesa. There is a basketball for boys and volleyball for girls. There is a band and choir and drama parents can be campus moniters or lunch helper
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

825

Change from
2012 to 2013

+21

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

6 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

7 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

825

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+21

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

6 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

7 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
90%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

290 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
53%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

238 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
32%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

152 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
39%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

320 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
50%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

157 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
23%

2011

 
 
13%

2010

 
 
12%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
n/a
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

354 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
43%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

320 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students79%
Females70%
Males87%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)71%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Non-economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability79%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only80%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented88%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)89%
Parent education - college graduate74%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students59%
Females62%
Males56%
African American57%
Asian67%
Filipino92%
Hispanic or Latino51%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)59%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Non-economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability60%
English learner11%
Fluent-English proficient and English only63%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate47%
Parent education - high school graduate41%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)65%
Parent education - college graduate65%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate89%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students51%
Females49%
Males53%
African American42%
Asian71%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino39%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)51%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Non-economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability52%
English learner26%
Fluent-English proficient and English only53%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate59%
Parent education - high school graduate37%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)49%
Parent education - college graduate55%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate79%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students48%
Females51%
Males44%
African American35%
Asian62%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino42%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)49%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Non-economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability48%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only48%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented70%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate38%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)47%
Parent education - college graduate53%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students61%
Females66%
Males56%
African American44%
Asian74%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino43%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)69%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Non-economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disability45%
Students with no reported disability62%
English learner0%
Fluent-English proficient and English only64%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented98%
Parent education - not a high school graduate39%
Parent education - high school graduate58%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)61%
Parent education - college graduate67%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate71%
Parent education - declined to state64%

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Students35%
Females29%
Males40%
African American18%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino39%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)33%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Non-economically disadvantaged33%
Students with disability10%
Students with no reported disability47%
English learner25%
Fluent-English proficient and English only36%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate23%
Parent education - high school graduate33%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)42%
Parent education - college graduate35%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Geometry

All Students95%
Females100%
Males93%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Non-economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability95%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only96%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)94%
Parent education - college graduate94%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students68%
Females68%
Males69%
African American54%
Asian74%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino59%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)75%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Non-economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disability29%
Students with no reported disability76%
English learner5%
Fluent-English proficient and English only73%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented93%
Parent education - not a high school graduate52%
Parent education - high school graduate65%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)73%
Parent education - college graduate70%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate68%
Parent education - declined to state62%

Science

All Students78%
Females76%
Males81%
African American59%
Asian87%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino66%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Non-economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disability70%
Students with no reported disability79%
English learner21%
Fluent-English proficient and English only81%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate72%
Parent education - high school graduate76%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)78%
Parent education - college graduate81%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate88%
Parent education - declined to state73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 50%
Hispanic 23%
Black 13%
Asian 7%
Two or more races 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 70%N/AN/A
English language learners 8%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Joyce Frisch
Fax number
  • (916) 773-4131

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4747 Pfe Road
Roseville, CA 95747
Website: Click here
Phone: (916) 787-8100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT