Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 46 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


John Adams Academy
Grateful to: School leader

Posted April 20, 2016
- a parent
No there was so much good cop bad cop with these guys it was ridiculous. Two parents approached me the last day of school to ask if we were coming back when I said no. Their response was I didn't think so, your children were really put through a lot. So maybe thank them for validating our decision?

John Adams Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted April 20, 2016
- a parent
With 30 students per a class there is no way they can teach they cannot even teach the John Adams Core Values . This was opening agreed with by my child's teacher and by leadership.


John Adams Academy
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted April 20, 2016
- a parent
for a first grader is an hour or two of homework every day even a little bit rational

John Adams Academy
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted April 20, 2016
- a parent
sure it teaches these, if you can survive the school you can probably tackle anything

John Adams Academy
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted April 20, 2016
- a parent
how can a school which operated on social pressure and arbitrary authority teach respect? Leadership staff when confronted with California teaching statues told me that doesn't apply here. If you do not respect the laws of the land how do you teach respect to anything


John Adams Academy
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted April 20, 2016
- a parent
Absolutely not if you don't drink their cool aid you will be pushed out. I was literally told this on my initial tour with a dean, "we have ways of making it uncomfortable for students and parents that don't belong"

John Adams Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted April 20, 2016
- a parent
When staff and leadership openly lie and admit it, it is difficult to believe they have any ability to teach honesty integrity and fairness.

John Adams Academy 1

Posted April 20, 2016
- a parent
My Children attended for 2 years. After the first year I wanted to pull my children out but my children really wanted to stay. I could clearly see the affects of poor leadership aggressive conformity tactics and a deep focus on heavy handed discipline. 1) Have you ever heard of a 1st grader being suspended for asking questions? John Adams does this. Mind you these were not inappropriate questions but as staff put it too many questions. 2) When we toured the facility, we were told by staff that John Adams had ways to force out students and parents that were an issue. Mind you this was volunteered in response to my questions about California School laws. 3) I was directly lied to by leadership and when confronted there was an admission but absolutely no apology or even hint they viewed it as wrong 4) The parents of students have and almost religious zealot attitude about the school. I went to two parent meeting and was treated to crying and weeping as parents shared their "extreme joy". At the second parent event a dean spent 30 minutes holding up a Frozen DVD box and proceeded to tell everyone about how evil it was. When he finished I politely asked how was this related to any school issues? I was told to leave the meeting You will find this school to be full of people who want to create a strong sense of elitism. Most people buy into it. But I want to warn anyone because there is extreme social pressure at this school. As an example we were asked to not turn left when exiting the parking lot, staff began taking photos of people who did turn left and posting it as bad behavior on the schools face book. When my wife posted its not against the law its legal she was treated to a tirade of harsh responses. When I posted boy it looks like we have some internet bullying going on...the post and all associated comments vanished. Please listen to my post. I wanted this school to be great so badly. I know that I am not alone because I was called by 12 separate individuals to provide consolation and support because they had similar treatment


John Adams Academy 2

Posted March 29, 2016
- a community member
The root of the problem is the administration. The administration is highly paranoid and possibly even religious discrimination. Something is drastically wrong within the administration, examples: Financial issues, class discipline issues, and teachers constantly being fired. For legal reasons I am hesitant to give names but at least 3 or 4(?) teachers have been fired this year primarily in the middle school and high school. John Adams Academy itself is OK but the middle school and high school are falling to pieces. The administration has not been able to gain control of the classroom discipline issue at all, kids are constantly swearing, speaking of obscene topics during class, and constantly interrupting the teacher. It was a dream school at one point but ever since the new building opened the new kids have been the source of the problem. Not to mention the teachers again, not too long ago a teacher was fired in the high school for not giving enough homework, this school already bombards its students at a massive rate with homework.

John Adams Academy 1

Posted December 17, 2015
- a community member
The board of "John Adams academy" ™ is suing another school for using the same name. What kind of narcissistic twits would threaten such a frivolous lawsuit? No way do I want these people infecting my children with their version of leadership education. Bully education more like...

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

John Adams Academy
One Sierragate Plaza, Roseville, CA  95678-5423
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 46 reviews. (916) 780-6800
Last modified John Adams Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top