Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

William Kaseberg Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Roseville

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $178,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,060.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 5, 2014

The New Principal and Primary Staff are Great!!!! Go beyond and above. Primary staff is well trained, communicate to the parents. Great with their Students. Unfortunately the 5th grade staff is HORRIBLE! I know this is very extreme.......however, it needs to be stated. They have no patience, they lack in communicating, multi-tasking, organization, respecting their students, and most important......TEACHING! It is shocking that this grade level of Teachers were give Teaching Credentials. I have had to re-explain/teach most of the math to my daughter after the attempt of being taught . I know that Common Core is new and challenging........Please know what it is about before attempting to teach! Don't throw chrome books in front of them and feel that they will learn from desk tops! They are not the Teacher........you are!!!! Terrible implementation! If used to be the Teacher, so the Teacher can have an excuse to hide from their responsibilities!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2013

Kaseberg is going to be a fabulous school this year. The new principal is enthused. I was very impressed when I seen him after school with a huge smile going up to the children introducing himself and asking each child their name.


Posted March 9, 2013

I hate to write this, but this school is not good for Special Needs students. You have to fight to get the I.E.P implemented with a known disability. It seems like this school reaction to all students is to mainstream them and not offer services. I have had some major issues with this site. On the positive, if you have a general education student there is a lot of support. They do have RTI groups, but it is not enough to understand all kids. My child has been lost and did suffer an injury on the site and I did not even get a phone call. I think the teachers do mean well, but do not understand disabilities as much as they should.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2008

My kindergarten child has gone from just knowing the ABC's three short months ago, to sounding out and reading words by himself! I am very impressed with the teaching, and quality of people at this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2008

Excellent teachers! Very friendly, loving, nuturing and knowledgable. I am SO GLAD my son is a studen there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2008

My oldest child transferred to Kaseberg last year, mid year. While this is usually difficult on the child, we were very fortunate to have Mr. Barber as her 4th grade teacher. Mr. Barber helped make the transition a positive one. He was supportive and approachable and helped my daughter adjust to the move smoothly. This year my youngest will also be attending Kaseberg as a kindergartner and I am very excited to have Kaseberg as her first academic experience. The office staff are friendly and knowledgeable and although I have not met Ms. Quinlan, I know that if needed she would available at the drop of a hat. After dealing with other schools from Texas to California, I am very pleased with our experience so far at Kaseberg and look forward to many more great years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2008

As a parent of a 3rd grade student and an incoming Kindergartner, and as a high school teacher myself here in Roseville, I want to share with anyone taking the time to read this website how much I appreciate Kaseberg school. I have great admiration for what Principal Quinlan and her hard-working staff have accomplished at this true 'neighborhood school.' I get the sense of community at Kaseberg that reminds me of when I was a kid, and is not at all what I expected in Roseville, 2008. My family is in the process of moving out of our rental and into a new home. We are doing everything we can to ensure that we keep our students at Kaseberg. From academics and social events to a great diverse student body and neighborhood support, we look forward to many more great years at Kaseberg!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2007

Our oldest child is in kindergarten at Kaseberg. The principal is wonderful...very involved and always visible/approachable. The school seems to be making positive strides and a real effort to be one of the better schools in the area. Parent involvement seems high in our daughter's class. And, we love it that most of the kids in her class live within a couple blocks of us. Feels like a nice close-knit community school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2007

We have had 3 children at Kaseberg starting in 2000. We have also had the pleasure of watching Kaseberg transform into a wonderful school with a fantastic principal who is 'in-tune' and a teaching and support staff that is fantastic. Each of our children have had different needs. Kaseberg has provided each one with the resources needed to help them succeed. I feel like the 'school community' is a family, and we are all part of it. We love Kaseberg. Thank you to all the wonderful staff, both teaching and support for all that you give our kids daily.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2006

Parent of newly registered Kindergarteners (twins). Quick and easy registration. Friendly staff. Multiple-friendly school (they asked me if I wanted my twins kept together...rare for most schools). Principal was helpful in answering questions about the school and provided a school tour for parents (and kids were welcome too!).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2005

I have had children at Kaseberg for the past eight years. I have been very happy with the education provided and the overall atmosphere at Kaseberg. My daughter has had a few special circumstances that have required some extra care from the staff and I received an excellent response and support from the teachers. Our family has had a great experience at Kaseberg and we still have quite a few more years there and are looking forward to it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2005

Kaseberg school is going in a fantastic direction! With construction of new classrooms for the upper grade students and renovation of older classrooms for the primary students, the learning environment is just great! The new multi-purpose room is an exciting addition. Mrs. Quinlan, the principal, is a solid leader and an effective communicator to students, teachers, and parents. As a teacher there, I find that we as a staff are extremely hard-working and collaborative. Kaseberg is a great place to be!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 11, 2005

My child loves this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2003

I did have behavior problems with my son at Kasberg, and being a single mom I asked for a call from the principal on multiple occasions to set up a meeting with me to help find a solution for my sons behavior issues at school. I have never received a call. One time I was very obviously upset on the phone, still no call back. I understand the administration is busy but I think calling back concerned parents should be a higher priority for the principal.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

835

Change from
2012 to 2013

+1

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

6 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

7 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

835

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+1

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

6 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

7 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
76%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
46%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
69%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
57%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students58%
Females61%
Males56%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino33%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)65%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Non-economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability58%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only59%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)43%
Parent education - college graduate80%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students89%
Females91%
Males88%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino80%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Non-economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability89%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only90%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)90%
Parent education - college graduate87%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students42%
Females40%
Males43%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino24%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)62%
Economically disadvantaged24%
Non-economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability45%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only46%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate29%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)40%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students60%
Females55%
Males64%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino57%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)67%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Non-economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability64%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only64%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate43%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)67%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students62%
Females67%
Males57%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino50%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)71%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Non-economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disability69%
Students with no reported disability61%
English learner44%
Fluent-English proficient and English only67%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate29%
Parent education - high school graduate59%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)69%
Parent education - college graduate61%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate83%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students70%
Females72%
Males68%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino60%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)76%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Non-economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disability92%
Students with no reported disability67%
English learner50%
Fluent-English proficient and English only75%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate29%
Parent education - high school graduate77%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)76%
Parent education - college graduate67%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate83%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students66%
Females70%
Males62%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino58%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)69%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Non-economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disability45%
Students with no reported disability69%
English learner31%
Fluent-English proficient and English only72%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate43%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)71%
Parent education - college graduate92%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students65%
Females66%
Males64%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino54%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)71%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Non-economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disability57%
Students with no reported disability67%
English learner27%
Fluent-English proficient and English only72%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate61%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)69%
Parent education - college graduate79%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students59%
Females61%
Males56%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino46%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)67%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Non-economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disability33%
Students with no reported disability63%
English learner14%
Fluent-English proficient and English only67%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate46%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)58%
Parent education - college graduate92%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 51% 26%
Hispanic 37% 52%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 11%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Black 2% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 79%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Tu Carroz
Fax number
  • (916) 782-4090

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1040 Main Street
Roseville, CA 95678
Phone: (916) 771-1790

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Roseville Community
Roseville, CA



Bruflat Academy
Roseville, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT