Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
22 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ferris Spanger Elementary School 2

Posted January 22, 2016
- a community member
My son's first grade teacher told me he was a snot!! She constantly called him out and punished him for weeks for one indiscrimination. He now has a wonderful second grade teacher and is excelling. However there is a lot of bullying going on during recess. The principal is too worried about being liked by everyone that to take the necessary steps to stop the bullying. How many referrals need to be handed out with no success before you take it to the next level of discipline? Also they only have a art docent come to class once a month! Art is important. Computer lab is once a week, but they mostly play games. It's ridiculous. There is no music or band at all!!

Ferris Spanger Elementary School 2

Posted May 20, 2013
- a parent
This school has really lost its edge. The school doesn't treat parents or students. If you voice an issue that needs to be addressed you will quickly become the school's enemy. The school's principle is more concerned with being well liked than doing the right thing. The school also allows student safety to be compromised.


Ferris Spanger Elementary School 5

Posted January 27, 2011
- a parent
Mrs. Lewis is the best and we couldn't have asked for a better Kindergarten teacher for our son. The office ladies are awesome as well!

Ferris Spanger Elementary School 5

Posted September 13, 2010
- a parent
love it!!!! And amazing school with great staff! the kids get a good education. I would not change it for the world!

Ferris Spanger Elementary School 4

Posted August 24, 2010
- a parent
My children are on a transfer to Spanger. I couldn't be happier with the staff. So thankful they had room for us.


Ferris Spanger Elementary School
no rating

Posted November 06, 2009
- a parent
All of the teachers and staff are wonderful. They really show they care about the studends and want to see them succeed.

Ferris Spanger Elementary School 4

Posted June 05, 2009
- a parent
I am a Spanger parent, and I would say that I am happy with the school overall. I have heard great things about other teachers, but we have had a really not good teacher this year. My childs teacher has been out for probably 3-4 months of the school year, and the principal has no recourse. We are hoping that we have better luck next year as far as the teacher goes, but everything else has been really wonderful.

Ferris Spanger Elementary School 4

Posted May 27, 2009
- a parent
The bad: The secratary is not easy to talk to she can be rude and abrupt at times, I dont belive she is even aware of it. The good: I love her teachers they are careing and supportive with the children. My child loves to read and write, as the teachers make learning fun. They also have a very good special ed program for special needs kids. They do alot of fun-raisers, and the parents help out a lot! They are also getting a new fitness palyground and is in the progress of beeing build now. I hope to have my child stay here for the next few years as we reside in Sac Co. and have a district transfer, but the school may be too full for us this next season.


Ferris Spanger Elementary School 2

Posted May 21, 2009
- a parent
At one time Spanger was a great school. I'm not sure what happended, but the bullying and tolerance of 'bad' kids goes way too far. The 'good' children are constantly defending themselves with both the teachers and adminstration as far them not being the cause of a problem. They tolerate too much and therefore give out multiple citations that are meaningless. They don't suspend the troublemakers... there's a real problem and not safe! I will not being sending my children to Spanger next year as the school is just not up to excellence any longer.

Ferris Spanger Elementary School 4

Posted April 30, 2009
- a parent
My Child is in Kindergarten at this time and it has been a pleasure and a blessing to be in Mrs. Lewis' class. This teacher is so patient with the children and appropriately stops unruly behavior if it occurs. It's a shame we can't keep this teacher for every year our child is in elementary school. So far the principal has been great that we can see. She speaks of lifeskills to the entire school which teaches the children tools in success, effort, failure, and behavior, etc which is great. I find it hard to keep up with the numerous fundraisers, sometimes we receive 2 or 3 at one time, nonetheless, I'm sure most schools have the same challenge.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ferris Spanger Elementary School
699 Shasta Street, Roseville, CA  95678-1634
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. (916) 771-1820
Last modified Ferris Spanger Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top