Students enrolled 287
Hours no info
School leader Ms. Suzanne Smoley
Transportation options no info
Type Religious
Before school no info
After school no info

Contact this school

633 Vine Avenue
Roseville, CA 95678

(916) 782-1161
Nearby homes for sale
Map of St. Rose Elementary School address.

4 stars
Based on 23 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school

July 09, 2013
We have been nothing but trully blessed to be at St Rose. St Rose has been academically and spiritually rewarding to my children. We came from a different school when we arrived to St Rose and St Rose has brought nothing but joy to my family but most importantly my children.

- submitted by a parent
June 27, 2013
We choose to send our children to St. Rose first and foremost because of this school supports our Catholic faith. This is supported by our principal and we so appreciate that. Whenever there has been conflict with students Ms. Smoley has gotten to the bottom of it quickly and with the most positive outcome possible for all parties involved. She takes a personal interest in the students. As to the academics at this school - our child is a 2012 graduate and takes advanced classes in high school as do many of the other students who came from St. Rose, and some of the material was already covered at St. Rose. But, the bottom line to us is the caring of others that is fostered at this school from the kindergartners packing lunches for the homeless to the older grades mentoring the younger ones. We are also seeing the positive outcome of this in our high school student. I agree with the previous post in being sorry that there are those who did not find this school to be the right fit for their children and pray for their happiness wherever they chose to be.

- submitted by a parent
June 14, 2013
I love St Rose school. I like how the focus on the children academics and performance. Inter-schools academics and sports participation are excellent. Outstanding faith foundation. I wouldn't say to anyone to choose this school over another, that is your/our own choice according to what each of us look for our children. Personally, I always look for the best for my kids, and for my experience in this school, I've found this in St Rose. Only, I would like more of a modern infrastructure and a bigger building, but they invest more on the kids education than on infrastructure, and that it is not a big of a deal if what you are looking for is on academics, faith and values. Oh, yes, they really focus on those ones. I agree with the other positive parents comments (5 star) the school is made by all of us, not just the principal. Principal I can tell she does her best. Blessings to the parents/parent who couldn't find happiness in this school, hope they find peace.

- submitted by a parent
June 14, 2013
I am a current parent in this school and feel compelled to respond to the chatter below. Faith formation is an expectation of this school, and really ANY catholic school - that is one of the many reasons why I send my children to a catholic school. But I have to disagree with the positive comments from the parents below regarding the Principal, she does not communicate and what I've experienced is no return phone calls or emails to parents that FUND the school. Unfortunately, I don't see her doing that and she's been there over 7 years! I honestly have checked out other catholic schools and they do offer more from a curriculum stand point. My decision to stay is to ride it out, like many of the parents who have kids in the older grades. Their friends are established, they seem to be doing well and the school is conveniently located. I know they'll be able to get into Christian Brothers, Jesuit or St. Francis, most of them do from a Catholic elementary school. I've heard the diocese is now getting involved and I want to thank the parents that did speak up because its given me hope that positive change is on the way.

- submitted by a parent
June 10, 2013
The ultimate Catholic cover up. Don't go to this school unless you really research all others. At a minimum 25 + students have already left for the 2013-2014 school year & if you do go don't get involved or you will see exactly what I mean. Principal is way over her head @ lacks leadership in everyway. Do your homework parents @ you will see for yourself. Campus is "not" secure, you can walk right through the church & out to play ground. Whoever wrote the below post are are writing it in hopes to save this mess. Thank god the diocese finally got involved to hold leadership accountable. Don't be snowed like we were. The kids that left are having a hard time assessing @ new schools because the academics aren't taught according to the sac diocese web site. These below post are activist parents that don't like that certain parents got smart & spoke up. People have made reference to cliques at other schools & a sense of community @ st rose. So funny! If you have a different opinion @ st rose god help you. The activist parents snub you, you will have you will have no communication from your principal. It's so high school from grown adults.

- submitted by a parent
June 08, 2013
Kids from St Rose are accepted into the best high schools because of their outstanding level of readiness since young age, teachers and principal along with us, the parents, work together for the benefit of our children/ students. The sense of community support, respect to others, participation is incredible. Extracurricular activities, you name it. Principal leadership is excellent, academics and values goes hand to hand. Principal and teachers always try their best in making sure St Rose School is always at the top. Ms Smoley you are great! Keep up with the great work.

- submitted by a parent
June 08, 2013
Best Private school ! Only school around in the area with high academics standards and expectations observed by the Principal (maybe this is why some parents dont like it and complain about the school covering up with excuses why this school is not great, when it is the opposite) provides great values for your children, amazing teachers with great certifications and kids admitted to great high schools and universities such as: Stanford, Berkeley, out of State. People who left: graduation, moving out of the area and some others because of monetary issues. The school emphasizes great values,even though we provide them at home too. I was looking for the best schools , pop up this site, great schools. I didnt want to spend money on a private school if wasnt worth it, I could send them to a government school instead, I've decided to try it first. I've find the whole package in 1: High academic standards, great values, excellent safety standards around and on site, outstanding teachers with great academics and nurturing approach, and community oriented. My family feels at home!.The school is not just made by the principal, are us too, parents, students, teachers and our community.

- submitted by a parent
June 06, 2013
My daughter just graduated eighth grade last week and I am so incredibly grateful for the academic, social, and spiritual foundation she received. She is on her way to St. Francis and tested very well on the placement tests. My son just started fourth grade this year at St. Rose after transferring in from a smaller school and we were able to see how much higher of expectations St. Rose has. I am so grateful for those expectations - he is a 100% more responsible and independent student now because of his time at St. Rose. Let's get this straight: There is no perfect school. It is easy to get sucked into society's frenzy of fear that your child isn't getting something someone else may be getting. But if you list your family's values and your family's values are a school that cares about its Catholic education, character education, sense of community, in addition to academics, then you will love St. Rose. St. Rose looks at the whole child and THAT approach is going to help prepare these kids for the future more than anything else. These kids that are graduating are respectful, caring, and smart. I am so grateful my family has this community.

- submitted by a parent
June 06, 2013
I laugh at the last review. The problems that exist at St. Rose are not about parents getting sucked into wanting more. The problem is St. Rose is not offering what every other Catholic school in our area offers. Parents are leaving the school because it costs more to educate a child there without the BASE foundation. The principal has no idea what is going on the classrooms, which can be detrimental to the child's education. There are huge issues with bullying. Yes, there is NO perfect school. Be sure to bypass this one, it needs TOO much help.

- submitted by a parent
May 31, 2013
I have three children at St. Rose school and I am so happy they are there. I wouldn t want them in a place that doesn t promote a quality Catholic education. If you are looking for a school where your children will be taught the catholic faith and receive a quality education, then you would love this school. If you are looking for a purely academic institution, then this is not the place for you. St. Rose school is so much more. My children get the attention and help they need in class because this is their teachers vocation, not just a job! In my opinion, too many people push their children so hard with everything but teaching them their faith but what they are missing is this: As parents our goal in life should be to get our children into heaven. That s all that really matters right? If along the way we get a great education and get into a college and land a good job and all of that other good stuff than that is great. But I want my children to learn their faith and all the other stuff. And at St. Rose of Lima School that is exactly what we get. That s why I chose St. Rose and that s why I love it.

- submitted by a parent
May 20, 2013
Visit the other Catholic Schools and then make an informed decision. The quality of the education, services and leadership at St. Rose is below the others while the cost per student is ~25% higher. Poor financial competence at the cost of the children's education. If policies exist, they are followed inconsistently. Principal may have been a good teacher, but is incompetent as a principal. Lacks decision making abilities on even the simplest items. Resistant to change, neglects primary financial and academic responsibilities to focus on keeping the wool pulled over the parent's eyes. The diocese needs to wake up & clean house. Families are leaving at an alarming rate...find out why. It's your $ and your children.

- submitted by a parent
March 13, 2013
I have three children attending the school. The lower grade teachers are amazing. The upper grade teachers are okay. The Spanish and math teachers are a joke. Three families left last year because of the math teacher alone. What I find so frustrating is that there is no room for improvement. The school is more focused on subsidizing tuition then on the academics the school offers. Technology is a joke. Kids in the same class have to share computers to get assignments done. There is no growth opportunities. Be wary.. they sell you on an idea.. then don't deliver..

- submitted by a parent
November 08, 2012
As a graduating student I am honored to say I went to st.rose yet there are so many wonderful things that have changed since the change of principals a few years back. For one the previous principal was caring, patient, kind, and could handle situations very well. The new(Ish) principal is rather rude. Does not follow the handbook, make rules even stricter, and does NOT handle situations very well. From the dress code to social conflicts with kids, the principal does not handle them well. Aside from the bad. I always feel a great sense of community within the students yet it isn't for everyone. If your child is not normal then bullying may occur for kids are rude but that is human nature. Also most teachers are great. Some of the newer teacher hired however are rather rude and impatient like the music teacher or pointless like the Spanish teacher. Overall if it were my decision on where I were to go for my elementary years I would have followed our previous principal to his new private catholic school or attending my friends private catholic school. If only then I could see what was to come now. PS: The transitions between grades are drastic, some good some bad.

- submitted by a community member
June 15, 2012
if i could give the principal a negative rating i would, we miss our old principal who went to Holy Family and now turned that school around!

- submitted by a parent
February 22, 2011
Friends have told me I'm crazy for paying tuition at St. Rose when Roseville has so many good schools. If it were only about the academics, I might agree. However, St. Rose has taught my daughters so much more than their ABC's. St. Rose provides an excellent Catholic education and my daughters are better people for it. From the principal to the teachers to the extended childcare staff, everyone works tirelessly to make St. Rose the best school it can be.

- submitted by a parent
December 06, 2010
Our family has been part of the St. Rose Community for over 12 years. We are very pleased with the teachers, who from the beginning help to teach the students morals, values and service to others, and the curriculum, which now offers two levels of math and Spanish for junior high students. The pastor is very involved in the school and works closely with the principal to make a St. Rose education a great Catholic education.

- submitted by a parent
October 22, 2010
I have one student at St. Rose, and we could not be happier about the curriculum, the teachers, and the involvement in the program. It has really fostered a community feel within the classes. I also am highly impressed with their aftercare program. I have had several in the past with other preschools...and the daycare program at St. Rose makes them all look shabby.

- submitted by a parent
January 26, 2010
St.Rose School offers a high quality Catholic education. The pastor and his fellow priests are very involved with the school. The principal, faculty, and staff are dedicated to teaching the whole child. The community of parents are involved in the school which helps provide depth to one's experience at St. Rose. Along with above average academics, there is an emphasis on service to those in need. We have four children at St. Rose and we are more than pleased with the Catholic education they receive. St. Rose has a lot to offer a family who is searching for Catholic education.

- submitted by a parent
May 22, 2008
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a student
April 23, 2007
St. Rose school offers a quality education with strong administration involvement and leadership. Our child enjoys the setting and has made wonderful academic improvements. The school offers a very safe and well monitored environment that allows the students to focus on school. The principle is very involved with the students and takes his job as a leader and mentor very seriously. He is always available to parents and students. We are very please with the education and values that our child has learned at St. Rose.

- submitted by a parent
September 06, 2004
A wonderful school and a principal that cares about the students and the quality of education, their spiritual guidance, and service to the community.

- submitted by a parent
April 29, 2004
I have three Children at St. Rose. The community of teachers and parents is great for teaching not only academics but morals, values, and 'the golden rule', the things you can't find in public schools these days. The academics are well above average with most 8th graders getting into private high schools with high test scores. Parents are required to be involved and that makes for a better learning environment for all the kids. Extra curricular activities have improved with a new principal and 'old school' rules have relaxed to a comfortable level. Overall this is a great school for the cost, especially for a family active at the Parish and interested in a Catholic education.

- submitted by a parent
March 09, 2004
Things have changed (improved) since principal changed. Quality improved but still no help for struggling children.

- submitted by a parent
Need help choosing a school? We can help »

Media Gallery

Media missing

Uh oh! No photos. This frame will look much better when you upload photos »


Facebook


Nearby homes for sale

     
Last modified: June 25, 2014

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Rose Elementary School
633 Vine Avenue, Roseville, CA  95678
(916) 782-1161
Last modified St. Rose Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
St. Rose Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews.