Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare

4 stars
Based on 28 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


29 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Alvarado Intermediate School 5

Posted April 08, 2013
- a community member
The school just got renovated and the learning environment is very nice. There are many opportunities because of the variety of electives. Overall, this school doesn't have many problems and i encourage all kids to have a chance to learn there.

Alvarado Intermediate School 5

Posted September 19, 2012
- a community member
I cannot see why students should be upset about the dress code. The dress code keeps everybody wearing appropriate clothing and nothing that shows too much skin. The teachers are great. There is also free after school tutoring for students that need help. After school tutoring is also good for the honors students because they help the students that are in tutoring. The traffic has also gotten a lot better. Fights are rare and are broken up quickly and the students do have consequences. The catwalk is convenient for the students who walk and is monitored by the staff to prevent trouble. Overall, it's a great school.


Alvarado Intermediate School 1

Posted April 19, 2011
- a parent
Not crazy about the principal. The traffic to get there is horrible, too. I agree to following from a previous review: "The principal NEVER avails herself to the parents, is difficult to understand in voice messages home, and there is absolutely NO opportunity for parental involvement, unless you are of the majority demograoh(s) of the school." and "The district is aware of these problems at this school and has failed to address them. " When will they get rid of this principal?!

Alvarado Intermediate School 1

Posted March 30, 2011
- a parent
This is THE worst school that my children have attended. The administration is almost never available, the traffic situation is horrendous EVERY day of the week, the students are NOT well-disciplined like some other reviewers have claimed. In fact, there are MANY fights that occur in the immediate area surrounding the school between students of different races and those that come from the local high school and continuation school to loiter around. The "thoroughfare" walkway near the school is littered with gang graffiti, the school in in an area that is ripe for all sorts of crimes to be committed. The principal NEVER avails herself to the parents, is difficult to understand in voice messages home, and there is absolutely NO opportunity for parental involvement, unless you are of the majority demograoh(s) of the school. The uniform policy is antiquated, at best, and should be updated to reflect the current way that certain "groups" of students dress. The other middle schools in the district aren't any better, in fact they are worse, just as the high school that those others feed into. The district is aware of these problems at this school and has failed to address them.

Alvarado Intermediate School 5

Posted February 10, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Alvarado Intermediate School 4

Posted December 30, 2009
- a parent
Four stars for the school and the wonderful kids. It would have been 5 but the principal (even though she has the kids well disciplined) needs to really interact with parents more. My son has become a very happy student here at Alvarado compared to all of his years in elementary!

Alvarado Intermediate School 4

Posted December 30, 2009
- a student
Okay, I am a student at this school now and I like it except for a few minor things. First of all, the dress code is horribly strict. Also, it is dirty and the outside of the school doesn't look very inviting. However, the school's teachers are very helpful and nice and the students there are mostly friendly. If you are a parent reading this review, then I suggest you send your child to Alvarado. If you are a student and you are reading this, then you're cool.

Alvarado Intermediate School 5

Posted September 21, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Alvarado Intermediate School 5

Posted September 11, 2009
- a student
I'm a current student in Alvarado. And I personally think the school is great!During my first day the kids were really helpful and sweet. And the teachers are always there for you, so if you're having trouble keeping up they'll make sure of it you'll understand clearly. The only negative thing I have to say is that the Dress code is kind of a little too strict. But it still doesn't get in the way of how much I love it. :) So if you're a student/parent reading this and wondering where to put your daughter/son go to alvarado! wooo! LOL.

Alvarado Intermediate School 1

Posted August 04, 2009
- a student
Very strict, bad mascot, not much choices of electives, and strict uniform type code.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Alvarado Intermediate School
1901 South Desire Avenue, Rowland Heights, CA  91748
(626) 964-2358
Last modified Alvarado Intermediate School is a Public school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Alvarado Intermediate School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. Top