Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
28 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 29 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Alvarado Intermediate School 5

Posted April 08, 2013
- a community member
The school just got renovated and the learning environment is very nice. There are many opportunities because of the variety of electives. Overall, this school doesn't have many problems and i encourage all kids to have a chance to learn there.

Alvarado Intermediate School 5

Posted September 19, 2012
- a community member
I cannot see why students should be upset about the dress code. The dress code keeps everybody wearing appropriate clothing and nothing that shows too much skin. The teachers are great. There is also free after school tutoring for students that need help. After school tutoring is also good for the honors students because they help the students that are in tutoring. The traffic has also gotten a lot better. Fights are rare and are broken up quickly and the students do have consequences. The catwalk is convenient for the students who walk and is monitored by the staff to prevent trouble. Overall, it's a great school.


Alvarado Intermediate School 1

Posted April 19, 2011
- a parent
Not crazy about the principal. The traffic to get there is horrible, too. I agree to following from a previous review: "The principal NEVER avails herself to the parents, is difficult to understand in voice messages home, and there is absolutely NO opportunity for parental involvement, unless you are of the majority demograoh(s) of the school." and "The district is aware of these problems at this school and has failed to address them. " When will they get rid of this principal?!

Alvarado Intermediate School 1

Posted March 30, 2011
- a parent
This is THE worst school that my children have attended. The administration is almost never available, the traffic situation is horrendous EVERY day of the week, the students are NOT well-disciplined like some other reviewers have claimed. In fact, there are MANY fights that occur in the immediate area surrounding the school between students of different races and those that come from the local high school and continuation school to loiter around. The "thoroughfare" walkway near the school is littered with gang graffiti, the school in in an area that is ripe for all sorts of crimes to be committed. The principal NEVER avails herself to the parents, is difficult to understand in voice messages home, and there is absolutely NO opportunity for parental involvement, unless you are of the majority demograoh(s) of the school. The uniform policy is antiquated, at best, and should be updated to reflect the current way that certain "groups" of students dress. The other middle schools in the district aren't any better, in fact they are worse, just as the high school that those others feed into. The district is aware of these problems at this school and has failed to address them.

Alvarado Intermediate School 4

Posted December 30, 2009
- a parent
Four stars for the school and the wonderful kids. It would have been 5 but the principal (even though she has the kids well disciplined) needs to really interact with parents more. My son has become a very happy student here at Alvarado compared to all of his years in elementary!


Alvarado Intermediate School 4

Posted December 30, 2009
- a student
Okay, I am a student at this school now and I like it except for a few minor things. First of all, the dress code is horribly strict. Also, it is dirty and the outside of the school doesn't look very inviting. However, the school's teachers are very helpful and nice and the students there are mostly friendly. If you are a parent reading this review, then I suggest you send your child to Alvarado. If you are a student and you are reading this, then you're cool.

Alvarado Intermediate School 5

Posted September 11, 2009
- a student
I'm a current student in Alvarado. And I personally think the school is great!During my first day the kids were really helpful and sweet. And the teachers are always there for you, so if you're having trouble keeping up they'll make sure of it you'll understand clearly. The only negative thing I have to say is that the Dress code is kind of a little too strict. But it still doesn't get in the way of how much I love it. :) So if you're a student/parent reading this and wondering where to put your daughter/son go to alvarado! wooo! LOL.

Alvarado Intermediate School 1

Posted August 04, 2009
- a student
Very strict, bad mascot, not much choices of electives, and strict uniform type code.


Alvarado Intermediate School 5

Posted April 18, 2009
- a parent
This is the best school I have ever heard of! My child has gone from all C's to all A's! Also my child is happy and loveing that amazing school with her kind and smart friends!

Alvarado Intermediate School
no rating

Posted October 01, 2008
- a parent
The principal needs to interact more with parents and students. We like the after school tutoring and I have that the teachers really care about the students.

Nearby schools

Alvarado Intermediate School
1901 South Desire Avenue, Rowland Heights, CA  91748-3846
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. (626) 964-2358
Last modified Alvarado Intermediate School is a Public school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top