Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
9-12
Public
Rowland Heights, CA

5 stars
Based on 28 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


30 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


John A. Rowland High School 1

Posted March 26, 2014
- a student
This school is not good. Chemistry teachers are mean, office is filled with a lot of rude people. Its also filled with alot of people that look at you as a person who is not worth anything. Many people think they're better than you. The district should do something about the situation here. There is no school spirit, you have to have good grades to discover what it means to be in the "Raider Family". It's sad seeing people who burly get good grades in school miss the opportunity to have spirit, this is basically like racism: (if you are black you can't sit infront of the bus). Don't get fooled on this school, its a blue ribbon school FROM 1998 which was long time ago.In reality this school is not what it seems to be. I recommend you go to Walnut or Diamond Bar better because here you are going to deal with alot of cruel people. BY THE WAY NOTE THAT THE PREVIOUS RATINGS ARE FROM WAY IN THE PAST, THIS IS 2014 IM TALKING ABOUT. So please whoever is reading this, dont come to Rowland High School! Do not be the person I was who believed Rowland was good only because of its blue ribbon. Trusth me its really not. My other school was better by far even tho its not a blue ribbon.

John A. Rowland High School 3

Posted August 24, 2013
- a student
Overall the school is okay. There are basically three types of teachers: the ones who are hardcore and you fail the class, but prepares you for college, the type that doesn't teach and blames it on you, and the type that is all around nice. The campus is crazy, with dust flying everywhere, and very old. Some classrooms have roofs that are in need of mending. The small theatre (which is the size of two classrooms combined) really needs to be fixed. The poles that hang lighting often fall down and there are termites everywhere. The grass is dead. Students are pretty nice though.


John A. Rowland High School 3

Posted May 10, 2011
- a student
From an honors student point of view: Although this school is a good school, it tends limit your opportunities to explore. The counselors set a strict "plan" of classes for you if you are in the honors program. Most teachers are very good! And some...well I don't know was the school was thinking when they hired them. This school is very small! I mean come on, the school's theater is only the size of a couple classrooms. I believe that other districts such as the WVUSD have MANY more opportunities to exceed. But because I live a minute closer to nogales than I do of walnut, I have no choice but to drive 15 minutes to this school every morning. I'm just telling the truth. What a student usually wants is to go to a nice good looking school, right? Ahh life is fair.

John A. Rowland High School 0
no rating

Posted November 04, 2010
- a parent
The teachers cares about the kids and they work together with administration and parents

John A. Rowland High School 5

Posted April 04, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.


John A. Rowland High School 5

Posted November 10, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

John A. Rowland High School 5

Posted October 12, 2009
- a student
Rowland High Schools is one of the best and most most caring schools around the area! The campus is clean, most of the teachers are great, and there are a variety of sports and clubs that you can join on campus. Not to mention that you can even create your own club. The school is very diverse, with a large majority of Asians and Hispanics but also others too! The sports here are great and they just created a new track and football field recently. Lockers here are nice, though some are in need of repainting and new doors, but they will keep your things safe and are of adequate size. The students around campus are actually pretty nice. Granted, there are the occasional mean people, but the majority is rather nice and considerate. If you are considering enrollment in this school, I as a student would highly recommend it.

John A. Rowland High School 5

Posted March 04, 2009
- a parent
Principals, Staff, & Parents. Have open lines of communication. That is why Rowland is such a successful and excellent institution for students to learn.


John A. Rowland High School 5

Posted June 19, 2008
- a student
Great school, great teachers, great people. Loved my experience here.

John A. Rowland High School 4

Posted February 29, 2008
- a student
As a student, I would say that this is a great school. Reading the comments before me, I noticed that nobody said the negative aspects. That is why I want to point out some irritating points. #1 There is too much emphasis on thinking maps - especially in the IB program. #2 The lack of funding makes the school look inferiro to other schools (outwardly). #3 There is not enough AP classes. #4 There are too many students per class.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

John A. Rowland High School
2000 South Otterbein Street, Rowland Heights, CA  91748
(626) 965-3448
Last modified John A. Rowland High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
John A. Rowland High School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. Top