Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
1,047 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
76 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (4 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 114 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Bradshaw Christian 3

Posted June 17, 2016
- a parent
I pulled my daughter out of Bradshaw Christian at the end of her second grade year 2013. I must say the staff was very friendly, they treated my daughter with care and respect, my problem with the school was the lack of diversity in the teaching staff, and the academics. My daughter is a high learner, and when we pulled her from Bradshaw to homeschool her we found out she was about 2 years behind in math, Visions in education, the homeschool program I now use has a certified teacher come to our home every 21 days to check her work and progress. The first year was hard because Visions second graders were already starting multiplication and long division, whereas Bradshaw second graders were still doing 2 column addition and subtraction. It was hard work getting her caught up, but she's an absolute go getter and is now working a year above her grade in all subjects. As for the diversity there were no (at the time) teachers of any other color or gender, preschool through elementary, all Caucasian, female, for a diverse population of students, there should be an equally diverse teaching staff. I believe the reason being is the owner of the schools' daughter is the principal of elementary, the head of pre-school at the time was her mother-in-law, the vice principal at the time was her best friend and the list goes on. The nepotism and cronyism at Bradshaw is rampant. The elementary, at the time had no cafeteria, my daughter hated eating under the tent in the weather extremes. When there were enough funds to build another building, they decided on a high school gym, instead of a cafeteria. The year I pulled my daughter was immediately following the election and boy you should have heard the racist, vile things these children, elementary school children nonetheless were saying about our president, the hateful bumper stickers...I thought, these are not the types of "Christians I want my daughter associating with. In short, nice people, teaching staff way to monolithic, outside hiring non-existent, academics way behind other private and public schools. If you are a parent who may be looking for more diverse role models in teaching for your children, race and gender wise, if you are looking for higher learning and a more passionate academic program another school, or homeschool may be a better option.

Bradshaw Christian
Grateful to: Parent

Posted June 17, 2016
- a parent
Myself, for pulling my child out before she fell behind and didn't have the time or knowledge to keep up.


Bradshaw Christian
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted June 17, 2016
- a parent
Bradshaw is full of children with pretentious parents, who then pass these traits onto their children, who then turn into spoiled, coddled young adults.

Bradshaw Christian
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted June 17, 2016
- a parent
Bullying and social out casting is big in the playground environment, I was an at school all the time parent so I was aware of these things.

Bradshaw Christian
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted June 17, 2016
- a parent
There were a few misdeeds on the parts of the students, that were pretty controversial at the time that staff and administration covered up, most likely to preserve the integrity of the school.


Bradshaw Christian 5

Posted May 19, 2016
- a parent
Our two children have attended BCS for nearly 5 years, starting in the preschool and now into upper elementary grades. We have found Bradshaw to be a blessing to our family. The teachers and administration know each of our children's strengths and weaknesses. They are not just a number on a class roster, but are seen as real people. Teachers and administrators have always made themselves available to us as parents to discuss struggles our children may be having, to offer encouragement and to work with us to develop strategies for overcoming an obstacle. They also celebrate our children's successes as well! We feel that this personal relationship with the people educating our children far exceeds what we might see at other schools. Administration has always been open to our feedback regarding our experience and have always made us feel like our point of view is valued. The teachers do well to guide our children through both academics and social-emotional development. Our favorite teachers in the lower elementary grades have been Mrs. Coppola and Mrs. Maw, and for the upper grades we've loved Mrs. Stassi and Mrs. Bryan. We will always appreciate how they have educated and loved our children and walked along side us as parents in teaching them about the values that are important. We look forward to many more successful years at BCS.

Bradshaw Christian
Grateful to: School leader

Posted May 19, 2016
- a parent
The principal, Mrs. Hage, has worked closely with our family when dealing with a difficult social issue. Her efforts were beneficial and we appreciate her willingness to help us find resolution. Teachers Mrs. Bryan and Mrs. Maw are amazing and we are so thankful for them.

Bradshaw Christian
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted April 13, 2016
- a parent
Ms. Marie, Ms. Kathy, Ms. Dianne, Ms. Claudia (Preschool) I would also like to thank Ms. Sarmiento (director)


Bradshaw Christian
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted April 13, 2016
- a parent
I see the teacher's engaged when children aren't sharing or playing kindly. They don't let this simply "happen" they address it and help the children grow.

Bradshaw Christian 5

Posted April 13, 2016
- a parent
My child has attended Bradshaw Christian PreSchool for (almost) 1 year. We are incredibly thankful for this school, the teachers, staff, administrative staff and community. I had been a stay at home mother with my daughter for the past year, and so when I obtained a part time job, the thought of sending her to preschool was a challenge. What I appreciated most initially was how, Mrs. Sarmiento, the director took the time to hear my concerns and help me look at what schedule would be best for my child. I felt that I could contact the office at any time to check in on how she was doing, and I felt heard and understood. The 4 teachers we have had so far have been top notch. Ms. Marie and Ms.Kathy offered an incredibly nurturing environment for my daughter, which we desired for her first classroom experience and she thrived with it. When I dropped her off, Ms. Marie would tend to her with a hug and a gentle reassurance. I saw how this became exactly what my daughter needed as she adjusted. I visited the classroom often for check ins and parties, and I always saw the teachers engaged with the kids. The room felt clean and provided lots of fun toys. I also appreciated the time the teachers (and administrative staff) took to check roll each time the children left the room for outside play, chapel, etc. The preschool area is fully gated and locked and I felt safe dropping off my child. Now we are in a different classroom as my child is 3.5 and fully potty trained. I was nervous to have her switch rooms because I was very happy with Ms. Marie and Ms.Kathy; but I have found that I am equally thankful for her new teachers, as well. Ms. Dianne and Ms. Claudia are very engaged with their students and provide great age-appropriate activities and art projects. Ms. Dianne prays with them and has them interacting with a strong sense of classroom community. My child has come home learning days, months, letters, shapes, chapel worship songs and more. I have been very impressed with my experience in her new class room. This is my honest experience with Bradshaw's preschool. I highly recommend this school and believe they work hard to uphold their core values and mission statement (which I can find posted throughout the offices and classrooms). Thank you for taking the time to read this post.

Nearby schools

Bradshaw Christian
8324 Bradshaw Road, Sacramento, CA  95829
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 114 reviews. (916) 688-0521
Last modified Bradshaw Christian is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top