Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Capital Christian School

Private | K-12 | 908 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Sacramento

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $130,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,010.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

32 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 14, 2014

This is a great school with awesome teachers. I really like that kids wear uniform.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2013

This school has it all! Year round sports and enrichment programs like music and art are included in the academic program. It is a Christ centered education so they also get Bible and weekly chapel. I love the uniform policy and personally think every school should require uniforms. Some teachers are not credentialed, but I don't necessarily view this as a negative. I would rather have a math teacher who has a mathematics or engineering degree than one with a liberal arts degree with credentials. I ended up removing my daughter due to the large class sizes and disparity in age ranges. I am homeschooling now and my child is already reading and writing (K) at a first grade level, I am wondering what she learned there now besides all the extra stuff like Bible, music, art, P.E. and chapel. In my humble opinion, this is a wonderful overall school where your child will be loved and educated, however, the academics need to be improved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2011

Capital Christian is a great school to nuture a child's OVERALL success. CCS provides a well-rounded child and we have been very happy with our experiences these past 5 years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2011

I totally agreed with one of the reviewer that for private school, 25 students per 1 teacher is a little too much. I really don't know how one teacher can watch 25 kids. Even public school's class size is smaller than that. The kindergarden play area doesn't have a gate area, what would happen if one kid runs away when there is only 1 teacher watching all 25 kids. Also, the play area is so small and I don't know how it would fit all 25 kids in there. It would be all jamed. A public kindergarden play area are fenced and much much bigger than the one I saw. One other thing that worries me is that the kids have to nap for an hour. I have never heard that Kindergarden kids have to nap. I was a little shocking about that. Started off with worries and scared feeling.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2010

This school is an excellent choice for parents concerned about their child's education. The school provides a Christian foundation, essential life skills training as well as academic arena for success. My son has attended pre-school and now is in Kindergarten and is excelling in his behavioral interaction with other children and comprehending books he reads. I have no plans for him to attend any other school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2010

class size are way too large for a private school. Thier classes can hit close to 30 children in a class. Most public schools dont even have that many anymore. Studies show once school reach over 20 the benefit of a smaller class dimishes. They star test and their score is not bad but definitely not great. If your looking for a school that focuses on christianity then this school is perfect but the teaching methods does not translate until outstanding scores
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2010

As a student who attended Capital for a long period (and three sisters who also attended, so a total of 16 years of high school experience among us), I found it excellent in certain areas while lacking in others. Building and focusing on spiritual and moral character promotion was always a huge focus and an area in which I believe this school excelled at. Academics and quality of instruction in terms of basic subject matter however were in some ways lacking. As this was the only school my sisters and I attended, I really do not have outside comparisons to give. As such, my thoughts are based on how well the education both spiritually and academically prepares students for life after high school. I would and probably will send my children to Capital someday, but with an attentive eye on their understanding of subject matter.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 5, 2010

I dont believe the posters here who have denigrated and complained about this school. Do to my military service & other factors, my son has been in no less than 6 different schools, 3 of them public and 3 of them Christian/private. NOBODY puts a higher emphasis on academics than I do, and this school more than achieves in academic excellence. The 2007/2007 high school graduating class had something like a 47% Scholarship rate. This school isnt easy, it takes a LOT of work by both parent and child and I'd bet the parents complaining here are the larger part of the problem. My son has been here 3 years now, and even though I've been offered promotions to take jobs out of the area (retired from the Marine Corps and now employed elsewhere) because I am dedicated to keep my son in this school! Colleges actively recruit from this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2009

Im satisfied with this school. My kid have been attending CCS since preschool. Shes now in 8th gd.There will always be shortcomings everywhere, despite of mine, leaving my kid in the hand of this school gives me peace of mind. I trust CCS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2009

Some of the parents right their child was behind after leaving this school i wonder if they also behind when they were in this school because i find that the work my daughter is getting in the lower grade exceedes the work my friend daughter receives in the same grade
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2009

I am raising a grand-daugher who attended other schools (yes, christian) before attending Capital. This is the best school she has ever attended. She commented that she wished she had started way before now (10th grade). The academics are superior. I would say for the exception of maybe one teacher they are are strong, wonderful teachers who want the best for our students. I am very happy that she goes to this school. It is worth the time and money!!


Posted March 4, 2009

I have two sons who have been at Capital since preschool (now in 2nd and 4th) and we could not be happier with the school. The teachers and administration are wonderful, and the facilities are great too. The curriculum can be challenging but we manage and the kids are leaps and bounds ahead of others in the same grades at nearby schools. Its too bad some of the parents who rated the school had a bad experience; just remember there's always two sides to every story.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2009

I agree that this school is not about the education. I also have had my child at Capitla since the preschool years and he is now in a public school and is far behind and not able to make it in the real world. Waht a disappointment. They are only concerned aobut the Dollar and the staff is very rude and not willing to listen to anyghting you say and just feel that they are rtight. IF you have a mind and use it you are bad and it is wrong for you to speak your mind.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2008

My son started this year, he was previously in private daycare and we attempted another preschool before this one about 1 yr ago. The other preschool, I loved as my 7 yr old went there for two years and then in grade school did an afterschool program. However, my 4 yr old did not work out there.. at the time he was two. I was fearful of having new behavior problems and old ones too. He seemed to deal with the adjustment to preschool hard the first time. He started having accidents, tantrums, and telling the teacher no! Capitol Christian gets a million stars in my book. These teachers are experienced and seasoned. They help the kids understand conflict resolution and fixing the problem. I am so happy in the growth and love
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2008

I have experienced each department of CCS from preschool into high school. The teachers pray with the children and the parents and take a genuine interest in the family. They are very supportive and have helped my children grow both academically and spiritually. When my son was in preschool he was 'caught' praying for one of his friends who had fallen and gotten hurt. My daughter has struggled with her health and academics. The teachers and administration were always on my side. They prayed with her and guided her in her walk with the Lord. This school has an NILD (National Institute for Learning Disabilities) program, a resource program and cougar connection for the children who are excelling. This school really encourages every child and every family to reach their full potential. Definately worth the sacrifices we have made over the years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2008

My son has attended going on his second year here & we are very pleased. They are very attentive to issues that arise & very dedicated to the students. Private School is very expensive but I feel we are paying for an excellent education & have a voice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2008

We were very disappointed in this school. The level of education was substandard and the staff we dealt with was unnecessarily rude and confrontational. My child s teacher had the audacity to lie to my face and the vice principle spoke to me and my spouse very condescendingly and with very little respect. This attitude was very disturbing and so contrary to our Christian beliefs that we pulled our child out after only six months of attendance. We would never recommend this school to anyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2008

The teacher were extremly willing to work with me in and out of the classroom. I felt that the admin was extremly approachable as well as fair to every student. The one thing that disappoints me about this school is that they seem far to interested in sports than in their fine arts and educational programs.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 22, 2008

After previously attending public school the transition to Capital Christian was one of the best things I could have ever done. They have excellent facilaties, faculty and peers. The over all expirience has been amazing, and the only thing I regret is not attending Capital sooner.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 2, 2008

The administration is more concerened with the almighty dollar than the Almighty. Very disappointed after 5 1/2 years. I moved my son to a public scholl in 4th grade and was also shocked how far behind he was academically.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 91%
Black 4%
Hispanic 2%
Two or more races 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Todd Jacobs
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Assembly of god
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9470 Micron Avenue
Sacramento, CA 95827
Phone: (916) 856-5611

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT