Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
101 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 138 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Natomas Charter School 5

Posted June 18, 2016
- a community member
Natomas Charter School is truly extraordinary. Our special needs son could have never succeeded and graduated without the loving, professional, caring, consistent support of his teachers there. Other schools we tried simply could not, or would not, provide the attention and support he needed to succeed. Our family is forever in your debt.

Natomas Charter School 4

Posted June 06, 2016
- a parent
The school provides a very positive, engaging environment for my student. They focus on new, fun ways for the students to learn while providing a challenge. My student is always motivated to do her best.


Natomas Charter School 5

Posted May 17, 2016
- a community member
While Natomas Charter School is a great school overall, the focus of my review is the elementary program, Star Academy. The teachers are very knowledgable, kind, and always striving to try new approaches to engage and support students. The school has whole-child focus taking time to work on both academic and social/emotional needs for all kids. I've seen amazing growth in my child since coming to this school where his previous school often ignored his needs. Like other great public schools Natomas Charter is popular and has to have a lottery each year for available spots. I always feel bad for students who don't get in. All students throughout Natomas and Sacramento should have access to such a high-quality school.

Natomas Charter School 2

Posted January 04, 2016
- a parent
Despite what other comments say about bullying, there is an awful lot of bullying that goes on here and nothing is ever done about it. The administration does not inform parents when bullying occurs, even when the bullying was serious and threatening to my child. My advice is to take a good look at the school to determine if it is the right school for your child. If it is, ie dance, vocal, or acting, it will be great. Otherwise there are better options.

Natomas Charter School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted October 07, 2015
- a parent
What I believe is that this school develops confidence in a way that promotes the characteristics described.


Natomas Charter School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted October 07, 2015
- a parent
Yes, I do. The simple fact is that many creative students dance to the beat of their own drummer. Right from the beginning when kids start middle school at PFAA, there is a message of acceptance that the school sends out to the students. I believe it is reinforced throughout the grades. If it were not this way, this school would be a most prominent candidate for rampant and endless bullying of countless students. I haven't found that the feedback of the students I know. It is middle school and high school and thus, a time for some kids to try and flex their meanness muscles (for all sorts of reasons). Sure, that exists - as it does in all middle schools and high schools. However, I believe the school's message to the students is one of acceptance and caring.

Natomas Charter School 5

Posted October 07, 2015
- a parent
Of the 40+ students I know at PFAA's middle and high schools, I have heard the following words, "I love this school!" Four simple words that all kids should feel about their school but that, sadly, most do not. I can talk about the arts, the academics, the teachers, the parent boosters and the administration. No school is perfect and this one is no exception. There are always places for improvements. However, they do a great job overall and it shows. The kids are inspired while they attend and ready for college when they leave. I can ask no more for my children and I am so grateful that this school exists.

Natomas Charter School 1

Posted September 04, 2015
- a parent
My review is solely on Star Academy, which is one of the youngest programs here at Natomas Charter. It goes from TK - 5th grade. Our experience here has been horrible year after year. The administration is awful and unprofessional. If your student is above average, you should seek education elsewhere as teachers will not be able to (or are not allowed to) meet his/her needs. Differentiation is virtually nonexistent. Some assignments are optional (hence differentiated). The main focus they use to market the school is technology. If you want your student to consistently have access to Minecraft, look no further, this is where you want to be. It is definitely a technology-oriented school. Your child will get to play Minecraft during school hours. Several teachers here have had no previous teaching experience prior to being hired here at Star. They gained their first year teaching experience after a year of teaching at Star. Freshly graduated teachers receive minimal support from the Admins. Therefore, the school's mindset is not for the best interest of its student body, but more for the administration. They need to use due diligence in acquiring their staff including teachers and principal, especially when they are the people who create the curriculum for your child. They do not follow the "box" curriculum, but if they don't have a competent team, the rest is no-brainer. The school's turn-over rate is amazingly high. It is truly a "testing" laboratory with "trial and error". If your child is "lucky" and is assigned a teacher who can create a good curriculum and is able to educate, then you're set for the year, hopefully, otherwise just pray that this year too shall pass, and you might be in a better luck the following year. The playground is just so hazardous that students get hurt on a daily basis, from bruises and cuts to broken bones. With over 350 students, the front desk lady is your only "nurse". It is not certain whether major accidents have been reported to the main campus as little being done to alleviate the situations. Kindness is being discussed days in and days out, however, actions speak louder than words. Bully issues were brushed under the carpet.


Natomas Charter School 4

Posted February 23, 2015
- a parent
This is a great school and my daughter loves it here. The academics are strong and she is learning a lot. My only disappointment has been with sixth grade math. It dose not seem that the teacher has been trained or is equipt to teach. The administration seams no more equipt to address the issues either. I still recommend this school but plan on spending a summer redoing sixth grade math to stay on track. If a math education is important to you, apply to the Leading Edge Program instead. My understanding is that there are some really good math teachers there.

Natomas Charter School 5

Posted December 22, 2014
- a parent
Two of our children go to this school. The staff, administration, and faculty are very caring and go above and beyond to make everyone happy. The academics are excellent too. The parental involvement is also very high thanks to P4A.

Nearby schools

Natomas Charter School
4600 Blackrock Drive, Sacramento, CA  95835-1250
(916) 928-5353
Last modified Natomas Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades K-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top