Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
62 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 92 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Natomas Park Elementary School 3

Posted March 23, 2016
- a parent
My son (1st grade) loves his teacher. He is super shy and has some special needs and she has been very receptive to my input and has worked to help my son do well. Unfortunately there are things with this school that concern me as he continues his education. I have noticed some issues with how the school is run and how problems are dealt with. I am concerned with playground management (kids bully each other and are not held accountable), and how kids are assigned to classrooms. Sometimes moving kids from one teacher to another when there are issues is actually a good solution, however the principle does not seem to consider this as an option. She also does not answer emails or address concerns in a timely manner.

Natomas Park Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted March 23, 2016
- a parent
My son's first grade teacher has really helped him come out of his shell and has listened to our concerns and worked with us. We feel she has partnered with us in his educational journey.


Natomas Park Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted March 23, 2016
- a parent
Some of them are very effective, some or worthless and some are just average. This year, my son has a teacher that at least listens to parents. However, I have seen the teachers who will teach him in the future and have concerns.

Natomas Park Elementary School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted March 23, 2016
- a parent
Current research shows that homework in elementary school is not beneficial to the student. Reading is what kids needs to do at this stage however, this school continues to give too much homework.

Natomas Park Elementary School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted March 23, 2016
- a parent
Sometimes to get through the day, kids have to develop "grit" but the way they are learning is this not with intention but is in spite of the school.


Natomas Park Elementary School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted March 23, 2016
- a parent
I feel that the students do not have respect for the teachers, the staff, the school grounds. No one is holding them accountable for their actions and they do not have pride in their school.

Natomas Park Elementary School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted March 23, 2016
- a parent
From what I have seen, no one is teaching them to be good humans. They learn how to get away with things and how to avoid discipline.

Natomas Park Elementary School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted March 23, 2016
- a parent
Students are not held accountable. Students watch as teachers and staff ignore issues and kids live out what they learn.


Natomas Park Elementary School 1

Posted March 21, 2016
- a parent
My son transferred to this school and it's been a terrible experience. There are 29 students in his classroom and the teacher can not control them. The learning environment is non-existent because the classroom management has failed. When I have been in the room, students have talked, walked around the classroom, kicked each other, passed notes and totally ignored what the teacher asked of them. Worst of all - there were zero consequences for this behavior.

Natomas Park Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted February 25, 2016
- a parent
It all depends on individual teachers. My kids for past two years had some amazing teachers however most of them are not academically qualified. I wish i could include names

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Natomas Park Elementary School
4700 Crest Drive, Sacramento, CA  95835-1251
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 92 reviews. (916) 928-5234
Last modified Natomas Park Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top