Advertisement
Advertisement

Montessori Country Day

Private | PK-1 & ungraded | 120 students

We are best known for our authentic Montessori program.
 
 

 
 

Living in Sacramento

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $217,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,010.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 27, 2013

Our daughter has attended MCD for one year now, and we are completely satisfied. Being that we are both educators, we are extremely sensitive to our children's schools. When our daughter started MCD she had had two not-so-good experiences at other preschools. But at MCD, her experience has been positive from day one. The class is diverse linguistically and culturally as well as by student "ability." It is a truly "inclusive" classroom. MCD, by far, has been the best school we have had our children in. Our daughter has flourished and grown tremendously. At four and a half years old she is reading, writing, doing math and has an appetite for learning which amazes us. We recommend MCD without ANY reservations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2012

For the past 35 years, I have had the pleasure of leading a school community of children, parents, teachers and staff at Montessori Country Day. We have created a unique, child centered learning environment, based upon the principles of Dr. Maria Montessori, that challenges each child according to his or her individual skill level. Our goal is to prepare children for life and help them develop the academic, social and emotional skills necessary for success in the 21st century. Pamela Lynn, Founder
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 19, 2012

My child has been with the school alittle over a year. The transition was difficult for him at first, but once he settled into the cirriculum he started functioning great. He is learning to read and write at four years old. Most children that leave the school for kindergarten can read and write. I cannot say this for myself, my wife, or older children. My son can verbally express himself better than most of the non-montessori kids we encounter outside of school. Most of the teachers have been at the school 10 plus years and are comitted to the montessori method. Montessori my not be right for all children, but it was right for mine
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2010

We were very unhappy with this school. Staff turnover was extremely high, classroom is 36 children, and it doesn't seem like all children are treated equally. My child became increasingly unhappy and did not want to attend school any longer. Only the head teacher can give a lesson and the assistants are not to interact in any teaching. The problem is that with 36 children in a classroom, the teacher does not have the time to attend to each child daily. With Montessori the child learns alone on little rugs on the ground. They have to whisper and there is no large group teaching or interaction. My child would go days without an individual lesson from the teacher. When I tried to discuss with the teacher and principal, they put it back on my child as if it were her problem. I would not recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2010

We love this school! True Montessori program with fantastic teachers and staff. It is pricey, but we feel it's well worth it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2009

Really nice school. One of my children goes here and the other attends the Bergamo elementary. For parents looking for a high quality Montessori preschool, this is, by far, the best choice. I agree with the person below that it is not a good option for children with special needs (ADHD, autism, etc.). The classrooms are child centered and allow children the freedom to explore the curriculum based on their interest, so children who have impulse control/behavior issues usually don't last very long - the school does a good job at educating people before applying, so thankfully that doesn't happen a whole lot.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2008

The education is good, but not very fun. They cannot handle children with special needs. They drummed my son out of there in a hurry.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2006

I have two children at this school and can't say enough good things about it. My five year old has thrived in his almost three years here. He has done well socially and academically. My two year old is in the toddler room and runs to his teacher enthusiastically every morning. The teachers are warm and conscientious. The building and yard are well-kept. The classroom materials are extensive and up to date. They follow a very traditional Montessori method and they do it well.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Martha Ruiz
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • Infant
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AMI
  • AMS

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Present special topics during curricular units
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$8000 - $12000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7575 Rush River Drive
Sacramento, CA 95831
Website: Click here
Phone: (916) 427-1900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Southeast School
Sacramento, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT