Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Witter Ranch Elementary School

Public | K-6

 
 

Living in Sacramento

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $165,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,080.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Thursday, August 14, 2014

MY DAUGHTER JUST STARTED 3RD GRADE AND EVERY TEACHER SHA'S HAD HAS BEEN GREAT UNTIL WHAT I HAVE SEEN FROM THIS ONE. THE FIRST DAY OF SCHOOL SHE LOOKED LIKE SHE ROLLED OUT OF BED AND CAME STRAIGHT TO WORK. NOT A VERY GOOD FIRST IMPRESSION TO MAKE ON YOUR STUDENTS OR THEIR PARENTS ON THE FIRST DAY OF SCHOOL. THE OLD PRINCIPAL RETIRED (WAY OVERDUE), WHICH IS GREAT BECAUSE JUST LIKE MOST OF THE REVIEWS STATE SHE WAS VERY RUDE AND UNAPPROACHABLE. I AM HOPING THE NEW PRINCIPAL IS BETTER, AND SO FAR HE SEEMS TO BE. I KNOW IT IS ONLY 2 DAYS INTO THE NEW YEAR BUT I WAS ALREADY ABLE TO SPEAK WITH HIM ON THE PHONE AND HE LISTENED TO ALL OF THE CONCERNS I HAD ABOUT THE NEW TEACHER AND GENUINELY SEEMED TO CARE, I NEVER WOULD HAVE GOTTEN THE OLD PRINCIPAL ON THE PHONE. MY DAUGHTER'S K-2ND GRADE TEACHERS WERE ALL EXCELLENT AND I AM HOPING THAT HER NEW 3RD GRADE TEACHER TURNS OUT TO BE BUT BASED ON WHAT I HAVE SEEN THE FIRST 2 DAYS SHE HAS A LONG WAY TO GO. THE FIRST DAY MY DAUGHTER ASKED WHY SHE WAS WEARING PAJAMAS. DAY 2 WAS THE SAME THING WITH A DIFFERENT COLORED T-SHIRT. KIDS NEED A GOOD ENVIRONMENT TO LEARN IN AND THAT STARTS WITH A PROFESSIONAL TEACHER, WHICH I HAVEN'T SEEN SO FAR THIS YEAR.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2014

Teachers are very active in helping the students succeed in anyway they can. Because of shortages of sorts, plenty of things were cut, but they slowly seem to be coming back. Would like to see more parents be involved, feel that would make a big difference.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2013

Great school, my child was very well prepared for middle school. Kuddos to the wonderful and caring teachers at Witter Ranch.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2013

This school does not stand beihind the no bullying policy. Nothing is done to the kids that bully other than a slap on the hand. The kids here are just as bad as any inner city public school. The principal is set in her ways and does not have any desire to act on a parent's concern. Removing my children as soon as possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2013

I very much appreciate this school and it's environment. My son is in the 6th grade GATE program Each and every year since kinder we have been very satisfied with the teachers. We have had wonderful teachers and have been satisfied with any items that have been escalated to administration. They appropriately deal with issues and manage the school effectively.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2013

I love this school. Teachers are well trained and excellent. They do whatever it takes to meet the needs of your child. The teachers collaborate and trade classes to teach a subject . They will trade students for a specific subject as well. They don't teach to the test, but the school's test scores speak for themselves. They teach to the student. If your child is below grade level,proficient or advanced, it doesn't matter, they will meet your child where he or she is at. The office staff is very friendly and helpful. The PTA is active and does a good job raising money. The school gives off the impression that they are always striving to be better. The one issue with this school is traffic congestion. We are thankful for Witter Ranch.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2013

My son is in 2nd grade here, and he loves it! The teachers are great, and the neighborhood around the school is very safe. I haven't had any problems with the principal at all, and the administration in the office is very helpful. I've called a few times with questions, and they're always warm. If they don't have the answer right away, they'll find it for you. This is a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2012

I have three children in this school and the teachers have always been great. Two of them are in GATE classes and the 3rd is only in kindergarten, so my experience may not reflect the non-GATE classes. Principal has been responsive as needed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2012

My daughter's been at the school since 2nd grade. The teachers seem to be pretty. The principal is dreadful--rude, cold, and not the least bit service oriented. The office staff is pleasant and helpful. My kid feels safe attending this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2011

I went to Witter Ranch from 2nd grade until 5th grade, and I loved all my teachers never had many big problems.. My only problem was the principal never took care of behavioral problems, i'm sorry but she doesn't do much period. It would have been so much easier if the person who kind of tortured me was taken care of. Also, all the teachers work hard. I only had one teacher who didn't do much but I still learned. It was just a different type of teaching I guess. To me it's a good school I really loved it


Posted October 20, 2008

I have had my children at this school for 3 years and this is the first year that I feel the PTA has started really functioning. I am truly saddened by the lack of intrest the principle has in the look of the school and the way the attitude is at the school. It is a safe enviroment. But the teachers have to handle alot of the behavoir problems unless you as a parent call multiple times to get the principle involved. I have been happy with the teachers my children have had. I would not recomend this school to my friends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2008

My daughters both attend this school and my oldest is in 4th grade and youngest is 2nd grade. Both have been here since kindergarten, and I can speak highly of all of the teachers they have had at this school. However, I think the principal does a very poor job at handling situations and needs to be warmer and appreciative of the parents who help at the school. She is plain rude to parents in my opinion. Maybe the school would have more support if she was a more fun and loving principal to her students and the parents and people would be glad to lend a helping hand. She needs to get involved with the students as I have seen a fill-in principal do in her absence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2008

Granted there are areas that need improvement, over all there are many things that I like about this school for my child than other schools in general. My child's current teacher is great and I have good communication and direction with how my child is doing, my child is very happy there and that is what is most important to me. I see that the principal has a low rating and I am not surprised about that, but hopefully she reads this and motivates herself to improve. I like the environment around the school and it seems that most kids come from a genuine house hold like ours. I like that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2008

My son just finished up his kinder year at Witter Ranch. It was a wonderful experience for my son and for my husband and me as parents. His teacher was familiar with the state standards and kept the class on pace. The class went on five field trips and had various extra activities in class that enhanced their leaning experience. I don't think we could have asked for more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2008

First and foremost, the principal has no personality and does not allow the children to celebrate any holidays in school. She sends these automated messages on your home phone saying if your child dresses in costume, they'll be sent to the office, sent home, do not send candy to school & no parties. Secondly, while I've had 3 great teachers for my daughter, she has struggled in math and reading and I have yet to get her any real help other than regular class time. I've had to pay a teacher to tutor my daughter just so she didn't have to be held back. The lack of extra-curricular activities is unacceptable and if the principal was not so cold and unapproachable, I think the school would get a lot more parent involvement. I have been to other schools where the parent participation is enormous. The test scores are also unacceptable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2007

My son's K teacher was great. She loved the kids and they loved her. Any additional programs only seem to be the ones mandated by the state. It's a school. Not good, not bad, just middle of the road.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2007

My daughter is just starting 4th grade at Witter Ranch. Her 3rd grade teacher was fantastic!!! The teachers work as a team to ensure that the needs of students are being met. The 3rd grade teachers in particular worked to incorporate new ideas and programs with the students. So far 4th grade has been just as good!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2007

My daughter was there since first grade.Until there was Ok.But we have hard time at third grade.The school does not offer any extra curricular activities and the principal does not care about it.The education is poor.I had to take care most alone at home.Only a few parents are involved wich make it even worse.A lot of work needs to be done.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2007

Communication is very poor between kids and teachers, parents and teachers. The school pays no attention and do very little to kids misbehavior. My child complains everyday. Do not recommend!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2006

The school is new, but I am not impressed with class size situation. The communication is also very poor. The STAR scores were low in the first year, we will see if they improve. Why is the neighboring Natomas Charter school doing so well, and Witter Ranch is not?
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

829

Change from
2012 to 2013

-26

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

7 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

7 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

829

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-26

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

7 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

7 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
55%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

137 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
52%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

137 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

161 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
65%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

161 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
49%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
57%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
49%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students65%
Females74%
Males56%
African American47%
Asian66%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino70%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)76%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Non-economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability65%
English learner66%
Fluent-English proficient and English only63%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate53%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)64%
Parent education - college graduate86%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state44%

Math

All Students66%
Females69%
Males63%
African American47%
Asian72%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino74%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)71%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Non-economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability66%
English learner74%
Fluent-English proficient and English only62%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate53%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)69%
Parent education - college graduate80%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students51%
Females58%
Males43%
African American25%
Asian47%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino54%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)70%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Non-economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disability18%
Students with no reported disability54%
English learner29%
Fluent-English proficient and English only58%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented96%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate20%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)39%
Parent education - college graduate61%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate86%
Parent education - declined to state58%

Math

All Students63%
Females64%
Males62%
African American25%
Asian66%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino85%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)70%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Non-economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disability36%
Students with no reported disability65%
English learner65%
Fluent-English proficient and English only62%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate25%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)72%
Parent education - college graduate63%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate79%
Parent education - declined to state71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students72%
Females80%
Males64%
African American73%
Asian79%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino59%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islander91%
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)72%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Non-economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disability23%
Students with no reported disability76%
English learner62%
Fluent-English proficient and English only76%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented97%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate61%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)69%
Parent education - college graduate93%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate92%
Parent education - declined to state67%

Math

All Students80%
Females82%
Males78%
African American77%
Asian92%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino69%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islander91%
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)82%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Non-economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disability54%
Students with no reported disability82%
English learner81%
Fluent-English proficient and English only80%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented97%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate73%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)72%
Parent education - college graduate93%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate92%
Parent education - declined to state82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students60%
Females61%
Males59%
African American47%
Asian66%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino48%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)69%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Non-economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disability18%
Students with no reported disability63%
English learner23%
Fluent-English proficient and English only67%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate48%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)59%
Parent education - college graduate68%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate86%
Parent education - declined to state50%

Math

All Students55%
Females48%
Males62%
African American35%
Asian66%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino48%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)63%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Non-economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disability9%
Students with no reported disability59%
English learner27%
Fluent-English proficient and English only61%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented95%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate30%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)59%
Parent education - college graduate57%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate86%
Parent education - declined to state53%

Science

All Students50%
Females45%
Males55%
African American35%
Asian55%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino43%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)63%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Non-economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disability0%
Students with no reported disability55%
English learner9%
Fluent-English proficient and English only59%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented95%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate35%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)51%
Parent education - college graduate50%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate86%
Parent education - declined to state45%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students52%
Females57%
Males48%
African American50%
Asian82%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino29%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)67%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Non-economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability56%
English learner15%
Fluent-English proficient and English only58%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate33%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)52%
Parent education - college graduate67%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state54%

Math

All Students48%
Females43%
Males52%
African American28%
Asian73%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino26%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)71%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Non-economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability52%
English learner15%
Fluent-English proficient and English only53%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate33%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)48%
Parent education - college graduate61%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state46%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 25%
White 21%
Asian 20%
Black 14%
Two or more races 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 49%N/AN/A
English language learners 24%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Julia True
Special schedule
  • Year-round
Fax number
  • (916) 567-5629
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3790 Poppy Hill Way
Sacramento, CA 95834
Phone: (916) 567-5620

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Paragon School
Sacramento, CA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT