Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Public charter
Sacramento, CA
Students enrolled: 413
Before care: No
After care: Yes

5 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


The Language Academy Of Sacramento 5

Posted June 21, 2010
- a parent
My son graduates this year from LAS after starting with the Spanish Immersion program back when it was part of Fruitridge Elementary. He leaves with great memories and best wishes from all his teachers from Kinder to 8th grade. I have watched him grow through the years, physically and mentally, at this school, and the relationship that the students have with the teachers, makes it a place where the kids are nurtured and cared and in an indirect way, so are the parents. I have good relationships with most of the teachers, staff, and parents. It will be sad when my daughter graduates from LAS in 2 years. I will miss all the people I have come to know (teachers, staff, parents, and students)!

The Language Academy Of Sacramento 5

Posted October 10, 2009
- a parent
This is a great school! It consits of a great principal and awesome teachers who dedicate themselves to the students! I truly believe in the dual language immersion program and feel strongly about bilingual education. We are fortunate to have a school like this in Sacramento, CA.


The Language Academy Of Sacramento 5

Posted July 22, 2009
- a parent
At the Language Academy students learn great curriculum across the board.. My son loved learning about dinosaurs and until this day we still hear about the dinosaurs..

The Language Academy Of Sacramento 5

Posted August 31, 2007
- a parent
Execellent teachers and good parent involvement here. The basic idea here is by the time the student is in the sixth grade the teaching approach is 50/50 - English/Spanish. This program works. Better to start and get your child in early - K-grade and work up into the education program here.

The Language Academy Of Sacramento 5

Posted January 17, 2007
- a parent
This school is the greatest school I have seen. I have taught bilingual elementary classes before, however the Spanish Immersion program in The Language Academy is one of a kind, providing my English speaking daughter with instruction in the Spanish language. After only two years in this school my daughter learned to speak, read, and write fluently. The teachers and school staff care for the students and the classroom size is small. There is an average of two classes per grade and the staff knows the children well. I love this school and I highly recommend it to any parent who wishes to provide their children with the gift of being bilingual.


The Language Academy Of Sacramento 5

Posted September 21, 2006
- a teacher
This school actually goes from K through 8, which is a plus, because i don't have to worry about my child going to a separate junior high school. The teachers and administration work well together, and they are dedicated to the children. part of the mission is to have children become good citizens, engaged in the world around them, involved in community services. The spanish immersion program is important for children who come into school from spanish speaking families, becuase they can start school in the language they feel most comfortable with and develop their early academic and study schools in that language, thus giving them more self-confidence. For youth who come from spanish speaking homes, and who alraedy have self confidence because they are speaking at home the dominant language, they get the unique opportunity to be immersed in the spanish language and become bilingual. this is an amazing school.

The Language Academy Of Sacramento 5

Posted September 21, 2006
- a parent
The Language Academy of Sacramento is a true gem in the world of education. I currently have a 4th and a 5th grader enrolled in this school. The school provides a great learning environment with rich multicultural curriculum in Spanish and English. My children and the students at LAS are on their way to become critical thinkers, social activist and world leaders.

The Language Academy Of Sacramento 5

Posted May 21, 2006
- a parent
Sending your English speaking child to this school will be a gift for them to cherish and from which they will benefit for a lifetime. My child is only in first grade and speaking and understanding Spanish so well. It amazes me how quickly children pick up languages, but they need to be using it all the time to really become fluent, and that's why this immersion program is so impressive. The teachers are ultra-committed to the mission of the school and to creating a safe, nurturing and engaging learning and social environment. They have a thursday afternoon after-school program from which the children may pick programs as diverse as dancing, knitting, scouting, music, and more. They plan to offer more after-school programs later, and this is the frustration. The Fourth R program at the school (run by the city) is crowded into one room and not organized or engaging.


The Language Academy Of Sacramento 5

Posted February 21, 2006
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.

The Language Academy Of Sacramento 5

Posted October 07, 2005
- a parent
I could not be more happy with the quality of this school. The teachers are very enthusiastic and motivated. There are many school events for the family, which fosters a sense of community. Instruction is mostly in the Spanish language so children will not look strong on standardized tests (which are in English) in the early years. Most importantly to me, is that my son is exposed to a multicultural environment, is excited about school, and is achieving fluency in the Spanish language.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Language Academy Of Sacramento
2850 49th Street, Sacramento, CA  95817
(916) 277-7137
Last modified The Language Academy Of Sacramento is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
The Language Academy Of Sacramento Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top