Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Francis Of Assisi Elementary School

Private | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Sacramento

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $314,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $830.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 21, 2012

St. Francis Elementary is a wonderful place for children to learn. The teachers are excellent. The 6th grade teacher earned her Ph.D - and no she did not ask the kids to address her as "Doctor XXXX". A very warm, nurturing environment that pushes the students academically but somehow manages not to stress them out while doing so. The principal and her staff are wonderful. Don't assume that all Catholic elementary schools in Sacramento are the same, because I investigated several and found that they are not. This is a very special place and you can feel secure in your decision to send your child to school here. The 8th graders consistently move on to their "first choice" high schools very well prepared. St. Francis has a very diverse student body.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2012

One of the best schools hands down. We moved from Davis where it seemed like we couldn't get a school that cared about students at all. I know, ironic right? We came to this school a bit skeptical. We've been there for about 4 years and it's been great. Stephanie Pierson is the office manager and I personally think the school would fall down without her. 99% of the staff is amazing with an occassional member I could do without. The only negative thing I can say is that the principle change from last year to this year has been the difference. Last years principal (Stephanie Powers) was amazing. I've never seen a princaipal who loved the children so much, definitely not in any public shcools I ever went to. This year the new principal seems slightly unfriendly and more into the business side of the school instead of the atmosphere. Luckily for me I don't have to deal with her very often. Besides that, this school is a great match for almost any child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2011

This is more than a school - it's an extended family. The staff works hard to give the children a great education, and to make sure that all kids have the best chances to learn. It's also obvious that staffers care about each student & want to help them achieve their goals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2011

My daughter is currently an 8th Grade student at St. Francis and she has had such a wonderful experience here. I am so blessed that I found this school for her. And really sad that we are leaving this year for high school. It has been an extended family to her and us. She has attended St. Franis since Kindergarten. I have been a part of many private schools with my older son and unfortunately never tried this school for him but I see such a difference now with my daughter coming here. She is a straight A student, she is curious about life, respectful, loving, positive , great self esteem, growing leadership skills and enjoys coming to school. And most of all she is aware about doing the right thing and being ethical. I credit these traits alot to this school and the committment of this staff. She hates missing one day of school and I have to force her to stay home when she is not feeling well. The staff, teachers and principal, Ms. Powers, are phenomenal and obviously not teaching here for the money but more so for their dedication to our students. I am more than willing to talk to anyone about this school and share my experience, please feel free to call me (916)531-0560.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2010

Amazed by a school that actually feels like a family. From the first day meeting with the principal she made us feel welcomed and important. The staff are amazing and truly have the best interest of the children at stake. It values the parents contribution to their child's education and has expectations that hold parents accountable. St. Francis is not a short term school, they are looking out for the long term educational goal. How can they best prepare the child for High School and beyond, meanwhile creating a balance between academics and social skills. I viewed many private schools before making the choice of where to send my children and I am very happy with St. Francis regardless where the campus may be, the heart of St. Francis follows the students!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2010

St. Francis i an excellent school. My older daughter attened this school and graduated from the class of 2009. In high school she is a striaght A student. She says now that the 8th grade teacher really prepared her high school. The school's principal is nice and religious. She makes it feel like everyone is part of a family. She also remembers the 275 students in the school names! The school offers Spanish, Italian, Drama and tons of other fun and academic clubs. They also have a wonderful extension program and staff. I am going to be very sad when I graduate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2010

This is an excellent school on every level, beginning with the principal who is warm, smart, and fair. My older child attended another local Catholic school which offered little beyond sports and bored teachers. St. Francis offers Spanish, Italian, drama, and tons of clubs in the wonderful extension program. Most importantly, children are the only focus here. We love it here and will be sad when our child graduates!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2010

I love this school! They truly care about each child and genuinely want your child to be successful . Even though the academic standards are similar throughout the Diocese not true!! St. Francis will challenge your child and their academic program is exceptional! The school exposes your child to performing arts, foreign language and the latest in technology. I am confident my child will be prepared for high school ! The principal takes the time to get to know each family and will even learn the names of all the kids, even siblings not old enough for school. A special environment and so caring, each child learns how to be supportive of their classmate . I am so blessed to have the opportunity to be a member of the St. Francis community. Please come by and visit, you won t be disappointed!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2009

Horrible school. Perfect extension program. My child is doing very well at another Catholic school, after pulling them from this awful place. I watched my child go from an intellectually curious, confident child, into a defeated and withdrawn victim. I spent many sleepless nights worried about the damage being done to my child on a daily basis due to his incompetent teacher. The extension program is stellar. The very best and brighest are on the staff of the extension program. They love and care for each child as if they were their own child. The extension program's staff is well-trained and incredibly creative. Patty Sanchez is a phenomenal asset to the entire community because of her incredible leadership of the extension program.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 34% 26%
Two or more races 30% 3%
Hispanic 22% 52%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 9% 11%
Black 3% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Sacramento
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2500 K Street
Sacramento, CA 95816
Phone: (916) 442-5494

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Courtyard School
Sacramento, CA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT