Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Public charter
Sacramento, CA
Students enrolled: 245
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 6 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Higher Learning Academy 4

Posted September 17, 2014
- a parent
This a great choice school for parents and students. I like the friendly faculty and staff that work there. They really seem interested in your children. This school is a work in progress as far as facilities, but they are supposed to be relocating to a brand new school in the near future. If you value your students education, and want your child to be in a classroom where teachers actually care, enroll them at Higher Learning Academy!

Higher Learning Academy 1

Posted September 10, 2014
- a parent
If you are an advocate for your child's safety and education beware of this school!!!!! I would never place any child in this school! I made a huge mistake thinking that it would be better than the traditional public schools because it was a charter school! Wow, was I wrong! From the start the staff seemed confused, very unorganized. The school itself is very run down, dirty, not secure, not safe, and not maintained. They have one janitor and he is only able to clean the rooms 1-2 times a wk, maybe. Very unsanitary and dirty like I said. The open house, PFO meeting, parent meeting were a joke! I mean absolutely no organization. There is no restroom policy for the smaller children and there was one incident where a kindergarten student was verbally assaulted in the restroom by an older boy and scared and nothing was done. If your child is a slower learner you can forget about them getting extra help and vise versa is your child is exceptionally smart you can forget about them advancing! They stay on one format and everyone is at the same level so either they are left behind or they are frustrated from not being challenged enough! Buyer BEWARE! Children 1st! No core values!


Higher Learning Academy 4

Posted February 08, 2014
- a teacher
Higher Learning Academy offers a community setting so students feel safe and nurtured. In that comfort zone, real learning may take place. Staff are all fully trained in Capturing Kids Hearts, which allows students to explore, excel and be empowered in their learning, while still facing caring limits that they crave so much. Faculty are embracing Common Core standards as well as Core Knowledge, and interwoven are methodologies that include Multiple Intelligences theory and holistic approaches. There is a fabulous after-school program, and other extra-curricular opportunities such as basketball, Girls on the Run, and a new choir for the spring. Check out the school, a free charter school in the Gateway Community Charter school system. Open enrollment began 2.1.14.

Higher Learning Academy 5

Posted October 15, 2013
- a parent
Love This School.. HLA has been a fast growing school that loves it's students and it shows every day when i drop off my child. I only wish They went all the way to high school.

Higher Learning Academy 5

Posted April 17, 2013
- a parent
I have 3 children that attend this school, in 3 different levels. I am very happy with the attention and education they are receiving. The student to teacher ratio is small enough that the instructors and administration know the children on an individual level. The children are taught how to be productive polite citizens as well as the core curriculum. Truly grateful for HLA and the education my children are receiving. Academically they are ahead of other children their age.


Higher Learning Academy 0
no rating

Posted May 08, 2010
- a parent
I have been very happy with the quality of education my child has recived at this school. The teachers go above and beyond for the children. My children look forward to going to school everyday and are excited about learning to read! Both of my childen have imporoved in ALL skills, but best of all is thier LOVE of READING thanks to the excelletn teaching done in the kindergarden class.

Higher Learning Academy 4

Posted May 08, 2010
- a parent
Teachers and students have a very caring place to work and learn! Teaches devote a large amount to time to developing a quality program of instruction. This is a Core Knowledge school. Very high academic program-from grades k to 7. Parents are expected to participate with the school by donating 30 parent hours to the classroom.

Higher Learning Academy 0
no rating

Posted June 28, 2009
- a parent
This school is a very poor example of education, the administration is lame and so is the teachers. They don't get what is necessary for my childrens education and needs. Do not send you children to this school if you want quality envrinoment.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Higher Learning Academy
2625 Plover Street, Sacramento, CA  95815
(916) 286-5183
Last modified Higher Learning Academy is a Charter school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Higher Learning Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top