Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

6-12|Private
30 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 22 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Capital Innovations Academy 5

Posted October 14, 2015
- a parent
As other parents mentioned, this school is dedicated to keeping their classes small so students always get enough individual attention. Amazing, caring, and hard working teachers who really want kids to succeed. Cannot say enough about how thankful I am for CI Academy.

Capital Innovations Academy 5

Posted September 27, 2015
- a parent
Capital Innovations Academy is an amazing school. Just a few of the benefits: • Small class sizes with lots of one-to-one attention for students • Individualized educational approach • Many experiential learning situations (visits to museums for art and history, hiking for science and P.E., archery two days a week, cooking classes, and even a 3 day field trip to Yosemite) • Teachers that really get to know and care about the students • Zero tolerance for bullying, cliques • Great location • Involved parent volunteers • Affordable tuition that includes before and after school supervision In public school, my child was falling behind in class, was overwhelmed by homework and distracted by too many other students in her classes. She rarely contributed in the classroom and was labeled as “shy and awkward”. We always tell her ADHD means “Always, Delightful, Happy and Determined,” but with her ADHD in the public school environment, she was Always Dismayed, unHappy, and Discouraged. CIA has made a huge difference. She is working at grade level, made the honor roll, is enthusiastic about school and doesn’t dread the weekends and vacation periods ending…she actually looks forward to going back to school! She participates in class and her self-confidence has grown. I strongly encourage you to call the head of education and set up a shadow day.


Capital Innovations Academy 5

Posted August 30, 2015
- a parent
Where else can you find a very affordable school (less expensive than other private schools) with 8 kids to a class? actually some classes it is five kids, and as the school grows, the school is committed to no more than 12 kids per class. This is a parent's dream...and judging from my daughter's love of the school and other students' feelings about it...a student's dream as well. It is 6th through 12 grade, and the teachers get to know the kids really well, their preferred learning style, any learning issues, their passions and gifts, and they can individually tailor assignments and one-on-one time around this. My daughter transferred from public schools because she had problems in a regular classroom and great teachers, but with 25 or more kids in a class, many with special learning issues, it is impossible to give the attention to an individual child. At CI Academy, the kids get to pick a major...something they love...communications/performing arts or maybe health sciences or computer programming and more. Free after school care with the teachers so they can support the students if they need extra support. Not a lot of homework because with just a few kids in a class, there is ample class time to work on projects and what otherwise might be homework. The administrator and teacher care about the whole family and make sure that the school works for everyone, including arranging carpools, communicating online with parents, and field trips and events for the whole family.

Capital Innovations Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted May 21, 2015
- a parent
The classes are small so they can cater to the individual student and their unique learning style. this makes them much more effective teacher than a teacher who has to teach one way to a class of 20 or 30 students because there is no time or space to deal with individualized instruction.

Capital Innovations Academy
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted May 21, 2015
- a parent
I have always felt that most schoolwork should be done at school and that at home, students should relax with family, engage in other pursuits, and play. I don't think a lot of homework is a good thing and this school gives more in-class time for work. It does not have a focus on giving lots of homework.


Capital Innovations Academy
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted May 21, 2015
- a parent
They are encouraged to develop their creativity, their intellect, their potential. I dont know about grit.

Capital Innovations Academy
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted May 21, 2015
- a parent
It is a very small school so they deal quickly and caringly with any issues that come up and faster mutual respect.

Capital Innovations Academy 5

Posted October 19, 2013
- a parent
I have 2 children attending this school and I couldn't have found a better match for them. My kids were homeschooled until mid-way through 10th grade, when I wanted them to have exposure to a more traditional but small school & individualized learning environment before they graduated high school. My straight-A daughter is a college-bound junior this year and her teachers are encouraging her to explore different universities & careers, are helping her prepare her for the SAT, encouraging her to take a community college class next semester to get her feet wet, etc. My lucky-if-he-gets-a-2.0-average son is a technical-program bound senior and the teachers are working with him on life-skills and exploring his options. Each student receives tons of individualized attention and the curriculum is customized to each student. And the teachers are wonderful about keeping me in the loop about what's working and what's not, not just with my not-academically oriented son, but my straight A daughter.


Capital Innovations Academy 4

Posted April 29, 2013
- a parent
I would like to looking for good school for my son in Sacramental. My son is at grate 11

Capital Innovations Academy 5

Posted July 25, 2011
- a parent
Both of my children attend WGA. I have watched them both grow academically and as people. My daughter went from failing miserably in public school to doing math work that is beyond her grade level. My son is excited about school for the first time. The small class size explains the academic improvement but I think there is much more to it when I see how much both of my children have matured and have begun to focus on their futures. These people love teaching and it shows.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Capital Innovations Academy
1828 Tribute Rd., Suite H, Sacramento, CA  95815
(530) 400-7619
Last modified Capital Innovations Academy is a Private school that serves grades 6-12
Capital Innovations Academy Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top