Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Prairie Elementary School 1

Posted September 11, 2014
- a parent
The teachers are rude and condescending to the students and parents. If you speak any language other than english the teachers are especially rude. The teachers constantly take the easy way out and don't try to reach out to struggling students. They would rather send them to the office instead of taking the time to understand them. I just saw a teacher scream "YOU'RE NO ONE SPECIAL GET OUT OF THE SHADE" to a student waiting for their parents to pick them up. It is 94 degrees F outside. These poor students have to wait 10-20 minutes. No awning or such is provided for the students. And the few who try to seek shelter underneath trees (which are within view of parents who want to pick up their children) are yelled at in front of their peers. This used to be a great school. I don't know what happened. Do yourself a favor and enroll your children somewhere where they'll be treated with respect.

Prairie Elementary School 5

Posted December 04, 2009
- a parent
Prairie Elementary is an awesome school! Each year their scores increase because of all the hard work the teachers do every day. Teaching staff is warm and welcoming (even though I only know a few of them!) and always dress and act very professional. It's great to have teachers that my children actually enjoy being around and look up to! The change is very refreshing!


Prairie Elementary School 5

Posted October 01, 2009
- a parent
Prairie is an amazing school! The principal Mrs. Keval has accomplished so much over the past few years, such as a warm climate, a safe environment for all students to learn and be accepted in, and a huge focus in high standards for all students. Even though many teachers may seem young, each one I have worked with are confident and involved, and truly believe in everything Prairie stands for. Prairie goes above and beyond, and could never be referred to as just an 'average' school. Prairie is the only reason I remain living in the community.

Prairie Elementary School 5

Posted August 12, 2009
- a parent
I have 5 children and number 4 has just began kindergarten. All of my children have attended Prairie. It is a wonderful school with alot of parent interaction. It is true that if you place Praire on a socioecononic grid you would not expect it to be an adequate school. It goes above and beyond any stereotype. Prairie is not only a school - it is a community.

Prairie Elementary School 5

Posted March 22, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Prairie Elementary School 5

Posted December 15, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Prairie Elementary School 5

Posted January 31, 2007
- a parent
Despite the socioeconomics area of the school, prairie is an excellent school. the administration and teaching staff care great deeply for the students and families. The parents try very hard to be involved despite their monolinguistic barriers. The school staff have worked hard over the last 4 years because of the leadership of the new principal at the school. She works hard at achieving excellence and it shows in the school's state testing scores over the last 3 years. I applaud the effort.

Prairie Elementary School 5

Posted January 30, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Prairie Elementary School 2

Posted January 09, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Prairie Elementary School 3

Posted August 08, 2005
- a parent
Overall, Prairie Elementary is an average school. It seems as though many of the teachers there are young and new to teaching. Because of it's location, there are many children who speak english as a second language. So, they tend to focus on reading skills a little more than math or science.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Prairie Elementary School
5251 Valley Hi Drive, Sacramento, CA  95823
(916) 422-1843
Last modified Prairie Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Prairie Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top