Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 36 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


John Reith Elementary School 1

Posted April 04, 2016
- a parent
My son has been going here for 2 yrs. This school is nothing but problems. The principal and v.p. don't do anything. My son had gotten attacked and beaten up at school and when we spoke with the school they'd done nothing about it and put my child back in the same class with this child. We found out that this child has just beat up a little girl the day before, yet they still let him attend. There was a police chase that ended up on the school field and no parents were notified and had to hear from my son and how the kids were running for their life. When I questioned the school about it they seemed as though they didn't think it was their job to inform when children's lives are endangered. I don't care where a school is located, if the people working there don't care about the children attending it then things fall apart.

John Reith Elementary School 2

Posted December 04, 2015
- a parent
I agree on some of the parent post about the child bullied, my child was bullied last year 2014 and mr.blackwood was principal then, now a new principal and everything happen to my daughter shes at fault all the time even if shes right, the bullyin is out of control.i cant wait to pull my daughter out of the school


John Reith Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted December 04, 2015
- a parent
Some time i feel they always use excused of being busy teaching, i also understand but kids are our number one priorty regardless, action should have taken place

John Reith Elementary School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted December 04, 2015
- a parent
No, it doesnt , one of the incident with my child was the vice principal blame my child to respect herself so other can respect her, how can she respect herself if shes bullied all the time

John Reith Elementary School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted December 04, 2015
- a parent
No, i believe not, it doesnt matter base on race or sex or were we came from but staff she be more professionaly when handling situation


John Reith Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted December 04, 2015
- a parent
Principal and staff is un professional and parent are to blame for student action but not always, seem like the school is bad as it and not wanting to take the blame, you can see lots if evidence shows lacks of test score and below others school around

John Reith Elementary School 1

Posted March 06, 2014
- a parent
My children attended John Reith for many years. After bullying issues I decided to pull my children out. Bullying is out of control at that school. The last 3 years that school has went down hill. The staff is terrible, clueless. Parents are not involved. The school doesn't make the parents accountable for their children's actions. The school is a circus. It's disgraceful. The students here will end up in prison. Children are assaulted daily. It's a very sad situation at this school. I don't care if people are poor they don't need to behave like wild animals like these students do at John Reith.

John Reith Elementary School 4

Posted January 30, 2014
- a parent
I attended this school as a child and many years later my nieces and nephews attended this school. Now my son will be graduating sixth grade this year from this school and I wouldn't have had him go anywhere else. The teachers and principal are amazing. I have read through these reviews and while I agree there are some issues with bullying and racism, the school does their best to take care of these matters. But the reality is this school happens to be smack dab in the middle of a lower middle class neighborhood that is full of children raised by parents that are racist and bullies themselves. This is not the schools doing. Now if you want to talk about helping a child who's parent advocates for them well then this school will listen! My niece, one of my nephews and my son had special needs. John Reith made sure they got everything they needed. My son went from being pulled out of class daily for help with reading to being an avid reader above the reading level for his grade. The teachers he had are wonderful!! And Mr. Blackwood always makes time for a conversation when you need one. The only thing about this school I don't like is the after school START program.


John Reith Elementary School 2

Posted September 10, 2013
- a parent
I love my daughters teacher but I don't like how the rest of the school is ran. My daughter had a bullying problem and I had brought to the schools attention and the acted nonchalant about the matter. It is a horrible feeling to have to deal with but I have had to teach my daughter about how to react in her situation. At such a young age she shouldn't have to worry about bullying and how to defend herself. The after school program at first was great but as she moved up a grade level I noticed that these so called tutors where young and didn't allow time to do homework. By the time my daughter gets back from her after school program she is exhausted and still has a hour to an hour and a half of homework. Already in the process of looking for another school. I'll give it till the end of the grading period hopefully it will get better.

John Reith Elementary School 1

Posted May 09, 2013
- a parent
This is quite possibly the worst school I've ever seen. First the school itself is run down and reminds me of a prison. Second, the staff...oh so horrible. The principle has no clue how to communicate in the digital world. While there are the few teachers that really try, there are some that just don't care and are so aloof they are just there trying to collect a pension. The school has no PTO, no idea how to communicate to the parents and an inability to post a schedule of events anywhere. Often times they give 2-3 days notice of upcoming events. While that may be fine for the welfare recipients around the school, those of us that work and have children that are forced to go to that school because of crazy district boundaries suffer. The after school program was teaching my children how to write graffiti and other gang related material. They also refuse to allow the children time to do homework and act as if nothing is wrong. I recommend you find another school for your children if they are forced to go to this one.

Nearby schools

John Reith Elementary School
8401 Valley Lark Drive, Sacramento, CA  95823-5872
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 36 reviews. (916) 399-0110
Last modified John Reith Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top