Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

James Rutter Middle School

Public | 7-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Sacramento

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $120,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,080.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 4, 2014

This school is a really great. Teacher and Staff are very nice, they always take care of their student as specially Ms. LaDonna and Mr. Penermon. Teacher will gladly give extra help during lunch or after school if they need it. The only way student are not succeed in JRMS are the one who LAZY enough to ask for help.


Posted February 11, 2013

I attended this school for both 7th and 8th grades, and it changed my life for the better. My teachers were wonderful people, and learning from them helped me see them as people who cared for the school more than themselves, usually. I often come back from UC Berkeley to help out when I can, because without this amazing school, I wouldn't be where I am today.


Posted February 5, 2013

From what I experienced at Rutter I don't like it. There are many fights that happen. And it scares me. Sometimes I feel like some random girl is going to come up from behind me and start beating me up. Every single day there's only one topic and that is dating. There can't go a day without someone talking about who's going out with who, what they said on Facebook. When I walk down the hallway I see couples sometimes making out. And the first thing that crosses my mind is gross. Who wants to see that? Nobody.


Posted August 2, 2012

I went to this school and promoted from it in 2010. It was a very nice school, but there were a lot of problems with many of the teachers in 8th grade. They weren't as helpful as they used to be. Though the office staff is very wonderful and most of the teachers are not.


Posted December 28, 2009

i am an eight grade student and i believe our schools rating should be higher ! my grades excell expectations , atraight a's and taking all honors classes . this school is fantastic !
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 5, 2009

I went to this school for 7th grade and it was fantastic, I loved the experience. The teachers were great and the students were too. Yeah, there were some incidents with gangs and drugs, actually I had friends who were affiliated with such but honestly you will find drugs and gangs anywhere. JRMS is a real middle school if you want your kid to grow up into a strong individual send them here. I will make one minor note, I was not satisfied with the honors English department, their standards were so high that 99 percent of the kids got low grades when they deserved higher. It seemed like no matter how hard I tried my teacher still gave me a C which was a major let down. I've lost a lot of confidence as a writer because my teacher considered my writing style to be incorrect, pleasing him was impossible.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 19, 2009

As a school administrator, I enjoy the diverse population found at JRMS. The families are supportive of their students and parents participate in our programs and activities. The staff is longstanding, and have strong relationships with each other, the students, and their parents.


Posted April 14, 2009

This school is actually REALLY GOOD. There are a few fights every now and then, but usually they don't last long because the security there is pretty fast. I came in later in the year and the staff is really nice, and I fitted in right away. This school has really good school spirit and the staff really acts nice around the kids. Like Mr. Wall will go up to students and high five them, and I think that's really cool. At my old school, i was in all honors and getting straight A's because it didn't challenge me enough. Here, you have to really pay attention and try or else you will fall behind which really shows the true meaning of middle school. And I'm not even in honors here! This school is great, go there. (:
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 2, 2009

I am currently a student at this school and i love it. I know that there are rumors about gangs and drugs etc. but its not true. Its just the neighborhood that gives rutter a bad reputation. But otherwise there is alot academic achievement, great enforcement of safety and rules, and definately loads of school pride. If you were to visit the campus You will see our school colors (black and gold) all over the place. My gpa is 4.5 and i truly believe that this is a great school to attend, especially with our new principal. He is doing alot to make Rutter a better school/
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 15, 2008

Parents are wrong about this school. I am a student a Rutter and I think it's fantastic. There's not much fights any more and there are lots of clubs and activities for the students. James Rutter has alot of pride, and things have changed over the years. When I go to school, I feel safe in the learning enviroment and I am excited. It shows that Rutter is a greta school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 28, 2005

The school offers supportive curriculum and staff for bright children who may suffer from learning disabilites. My child was able to participate in honors level classes with accommodations that where offered with dignity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2005

Please be aware that this school has frequent gang related issues, violence and language that you may not wish to have your child interacting with.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2005

My daughter is a good student with very great teachers. She has enjoyed all of them very much. The only complaint that I have is the cost of the school's merchandise and food. Just after the new year, they raised the price for lunch from $2.25 a meal to $2.50 a meal! My daughter doesn't have to pay for her lunch but she comes home telling me that many of her friends don't eat lunch because of the high price. Their 'student store' has alot of candy that can be bought for less at the grocery store than at school. What a rip off! The school should have 1 lunch for the 7th graders and 1 lunch for the 8th graders because the lines can be shorter and there can be less cutting in line. I hope to see major improvements in this new year. Concerned Parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2004

Rutter Middle School is a multi-cultural school that celebrates their diversity. There are several clubs that meet to encourage this diversity as well as clubs that are culture specific. The teachers are at Rutter because they want to make a difference in the lives of the students. They help guide the students and try to help the kids develop good self-esteem by showing care and concern. Many of the students come from low income families who do not have the resources to help their kids. Rutter has after school programs for homework help as many students do not have the help at home. I'd give James Rutter Middle School 'two thumbs up!'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2004

This school is a disaster. My son went from a B to a D and I was not notified by the teacher that had said he was an excellent student. She also said that not to worry a D is a passing grade. When I called her on this, she said she was too busy. When I went to the vice principal, because they would not connect me with the actual principal, she told me that they would have teachers stay in contact with me in regards to my son. When I didn't recieve any kind of report from any of the teachers, I went back to the vice principal, she was on vacation and I was disappointed by the lack of caring by these people. He was just another black kid to them. I would not send my dog to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2004

I concur with the previous parent's view - Rutter is generally a good school, but my child is also on her third English teacher (they are probably on the same track). My only other complaint is my child's science teacher - he is teaching the 'real way' Earth was created (evolution) - he does not believe in God and lets everyone know it. If the tables were turned and a teacher was teaching God's creation of Earth, that teacher would be out of there. Also, communication between the school and parents is lacking. My child received a few 'f's' on some English assignments and I was never notified - she is usually an A-B student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2004

My daughter is in 7th grade at Rutter right now. I have been happy with most of the teachers, with the exception of the fact that she is on her third English teacher right now. She reports feeling safe and seems to be learning what she needs to. She is part of the Safe SChcool Ambassador program and enjoys it.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

715

Change from
2012 to 2013

-14

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

2 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

5 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet its schoolwide API target for 2013.
  • This school has not yet met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

715

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-14

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

2 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

5 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
67%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

393 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
42%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

335 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
21%

2011

 
 
23%

2010

 
 
33%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
53%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

368 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
35%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

292 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
29%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
68%
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

388 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
28%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

359 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
42%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students57%
Females53%
Males62%
African Americann/a
Asian67%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged57%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability57%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only54%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate50%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students37%
Females44%
Males30%
African American29%
Asian40%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino35%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)56%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disability6%
Students with no reported disability40%
English learner15%
Fluent-English proficient and English only48%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate35%
Parent education - high school graduate38%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)35%
Parent education - college graduate45%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate57%
Parent education - declined to state22%

Math

All Students26%
Females23%
Males28%
African American15%
Asian38%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino23%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)19%
Economically disadvantaged25%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability26%
English learner22%
Fluent-English proficient and English only27%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate28%
Parent education - high school graduate22%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)19%
Parent education - college graduate38%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate55%
Parent education - declined to state19%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students47%
Females43%
Males52%
African Americann/a
Asian45%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino47%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged47%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability47%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only48%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate67%
Parent education - high school graduate39%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)40%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students33%
Females35%
Males29%
African American17%
Asian42%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino27%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islander36%
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islander36%
White (not Hispanic)52%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disability7%
Students with no reported disability34%
English learner3%
Fluent-English proficient and English only44%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate31%
Parent education - high school graduate23%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)41%
Parent education - college graduate61%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate36%
Parent education - declined to state33%

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Students21%
Females22%
Males20%
African American14%
Asian28%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino21%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)23%
Economically disadvantaged21%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disability5%
Students with no reported disability24%
English learner22%
Fluent-English proficient and English only21%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate26%
Parent education - high school graduate18%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)22%
Parent education - college graduate14%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state24%

Geometry

All Students54%
Females57%
Males50%
African Americann/a
Asian56%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged54%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability54%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only54%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate58%
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students42%
Females40%
Males44%
African American21%
Asian54%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino36%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islander58%
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islander64%
White (not Hispanic)50%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disability5%
Students with no reported disability46%
English learner17%
Fluent-English proficient and English only52%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented92%
Parent education - not a high school graduate39%
Parent education - high school graduate38%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)49%
Parent education - college graduate59%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state43%

Science

All Students58%
Females57%
Males60%
African American43%
Asian74%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino49%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islander55%
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islander55%
White (not Hispanic)72%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability60%
English learner36%
Fluent-English proficient and English only67%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate59%
Parent education - high school graduate53%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)65%
Parent education - college graduate68%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate73%
Parent education - declined to state57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 40%
Asian 30%
Black 17%
White 5%
Two or more races 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 87%N/AN/A
English language learners 29%N/AN/A

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 5%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Yuri Penermon
Fax number
  • (916) 422-8354

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7350 Palmer House Drive
Sacramento, CA 95828
Phone: (916) 422-7590

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Fortune
Sacramento, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT