Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
25 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 28 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


James Rutter Middle School 5

Posted March 22, 2015
- a community member
i think james rutter is a reall good school all my sister go there so

James Rutter Middle School 5

Posted May 04, 2014
- a community member
This school is a really great. Teacher and Staff are very nice, they always take care of their student as specially Ms. LaDonna and Mr. Penermon. Teacher will gladly give extra help during lunch or after school if they need it. The only way student are not succeed in JRMS are the one who LAZY enough to ask for help.


James Rutter Middle School 5

Posted February 11, 2013
- a community member
I attended this school for both 7th and 8th grades, and it changed my life for the better. My teachers were wonderful people, and learning from them helped me see them as people who cared for the school more than themselves, usually. I often come back from UC Berkeley to help out when I can, because without this amazing school, I wouldn't be where I am today.

James Rutter Middle School 2

Posted February 05, 2013
- a community member
From what I experienced at Rutter I don't like it. There are many fights that happen. And it scares me. Sometimes I feel like some random girl is going to come up from behind me and start beating me up. Every single day there's only one topic and that is dating. There can't go a day without someone talking about who's going out with who, what they said on Facebook. When I walk down the hallway I see couples sometimes making out. And the first thing that crosses my mind is gross. Who wants to see that? Nobody.

James Rutter Middle School 2

Posted August 02, 2012
- a community member
I went to this school and promoted from it in 2010. It was a very nice school, but there were a lot of problems with many of the teachers in 8th grade. They weren't as helpful as they used to be. Though the office staff is very wonderful and most of the teachers are not.


James Rutter Middle School 5

Posted December 28, 2009
- a student
i am an eight grade student and i believe our schools rating should be higher ! my grades excell expectations , atraight a's and taking all honors classes . this school is fantastic !

James Rutter Middle School 4

Posted August 05, 2009
- a student
I went to this school for 7th grade and it was fantastic, I loved the experience. The teachers were great and the students were too. Yeah, there were some incidents with gangs and drugs, actually I had friends who were affiliated with such but honestly you will find drugs and gangs anywhere. JRMS is a real middle school if you want your kid to grow up into a strong individual send them here. I will make one minor note, I was not satisfied with the honors English department, their standards were so high that 99 percent of the kids got low grades when they deserved higher. It seemed like no matter how hard I tried my teacher still gave me a C which was a major let down. I've lost a lot of confidence as a writer because my teacher considered my writing style to be incorrect, pleasing him was impossible.

James Rutter Middle School
no rating

Posted June 19, 2009
- a community member
As a school administrator, I enjoy the diverse population found at JRMS. The families are supportive of their students and parents participate in our programs and activities. The staff is longstanding, and have strong relationships with each other, the students, and their parents.


James Rutter Middle School
no rating

Posted April 14, 2009
- a student
This school is actually REALLY GOOD. There are a few fights every now and then, but usually they don't last long because the security there is pretty fast. I came in later in the year and the staff is really nice, and I fitted in right away. This school has really good school spirit and the staff really acts nice around the kids. Like Mr. Wall will go up to students and high five them, and I think that's really cool. At my old school, i was in all honors and getting straight A's because it didn't challenge me enough. Here, you have to really pay attention and try or else you will fall behind which really shows the true meaning of middle school. And I'm not even in honors here! This school is great, go there. (:

James Rutter Middle School 4

Posted March 02, 2009
- a student
I am currently a student at this school and i love it. I know that there are rumors about gangs and drugs etc. but its not true. Its just the neighborhood that gives rutter a bad reputation. But otherwise there is alot academic achievement, great enforcement of safety and rules, and definately loads of school pride. If you were to visit the campus You will see our school colors (black and gold) all over the place. My gpa is 4.5 and i truly believe that this is a great school to attend, especially with our new principal. He is doing alot to make Rutter a better school/

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

James Rutter Middle School
7350 Palmer House Drive, Sacramento, CA  95828-4027
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. (916) 422-7590
Last modified James Rutter Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top