Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 39 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


42 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sheldon High School 4

Posted September 19, 2014
- a parent
Two roads diverged in the woods, one leading to Pleasant Grove and one leading to Sheldon, and I took the road less travelled and that has made all of the difference. Sheldon is an amazing school that has something to offer every student and where every student, not just the conformists, are respected. My high achieving daughter is thriving and feels challenged by the curriculum. Her teachers are responsive to emails and questions and all of her academic teachers provide tutoring several times a week. The counseling staff is great. Because it is a large school, I prefer that my child be in an academy, and there were several excellent academies to choose from. She chose Performing Arts, and it gives her a sense of belonging, and a smaller school within a school. There is tremendous diversity at the school , and many of the students come from the largely working class neighborhoods surrounding the school. Yes, this means there is less parent involvement, but parents are working and there kids aren't entitled. As a parent I appreciate the academics and I don't have to spend my hard earned money on fancy clothes for my daughter to fit in. Take the road less travelled.

Sheldon High School 5

Posted June 08, 2013
- a student
I would choose this high school again and again if given the choice. My 4 years here were the "best years" I think I could've gotten out of high school. The security and lunch ladies really care about us, staff is fun and they care about you succeeding and the counselors/staff prepare you for college. The organizations and clubs on campus are countless and awesome. I was apart of students helping students, Precision dance/drill team, and yearbook. It is easy to get involved on campus. Very diverse campus - you should see our annual multicultural show! The student-community on campus IS a community. I think SHS strives for a safe campus and it is. Look up SHS basketball - they shine for the athletics department and football games are always so fun. School spirit is high - there is a lot of pride in being a husky... I loved Sheldon - I hope others choose this school as well.


Sheldon High School 5

Posted June 05, 2013
- a parent
This high school has to be one of the best high schools in all of Elk Grove. My daughter went to Sheldon High School and now goes to a UC college. They really help you prepare for college and the teacher and principal involvement is great! I love this high school.

Sheldon High School 5

Posted March 28, 2013
- a parent
Excellent in communication, safety, and education. The teachers encourage parent inclusion and work well with students.

Sheldon High School 5

Posted September 14, 2012
- a student
Compared to other schools in the area, Sheldon is fairly well-rounded. As you get into the higher level classes, the teachers tend to gravitate towards two extremes: very conservative and very liberal. They are more keen on communicating their personal beliefs through the school curriculum, for better or worse. The campus security is extremely lax concerning electronics. Of the 6 or so security staff on campus, only 1 or 2 will take away your phone. Most teachers won't care either, especially in grades 11 and 12. Behavior issues are intolerable, however. Both teachers and students frown upon immaturity and there aren't any cliques of people that indulge in causing trouble. Everyone is pretty chill. And those that aren't so chill usually disappear before 11th grade. The biggest problem is that non-AP teachers don't take academics as seriously as they should. In some classes, they practically serve you an A on a silver platter. This is especially true in Art, CP English, and any CP Social Studies class. Overall, it's a good social campus with average academics. What you get out is determined by what you put in, not by your grade.


Sheldon High School 5

Posted December 10, 2010
- a student
It's my first year here, and I think the school is great. The teachers really try to help prepare you for your future, and the amount of clubs and activities is amazing. The band is top-notch, and the school offers you classes no other school does.

Sheldon High School 4

Posted January 19, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Sheldon High School 0
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
The classes offered at Sheldon are absolutely great to the point, I wish I was in high school again. It is one of the safest campus'. Sheldon is one of the biggest melting pots of cultures I have seen in a high school, what is more amazing is the kids have no real issues with eachother, they do what they can to understand differences in each culture and appreciate the likeness' and the differences. Sheldon rocks


Sheldon High School 5

Posted July 18, 2009
- a student
I am now a soph. at sheldon, and I like the school alot, I like that there is more of a var. of students than there is at valley, also alot of guitarists, like me, also the kids are cool, I've only been there since jan and already I have lots of new friends, they remind of some my other friends at valley that I've known since elem. school. And I like the teachers too like my art teacher I had this last year, Mr. spaulding, the reason why I say this, is that in my first week he was imp. w/ my playing and since then we've traded our knowl. of music to each other, in all I like sheldon and I plan grad. from there.

Sheldon High School 0
no rating

Posted June 29, 2009
- a student
This may not be the greates school location-wise, but academically there is so much to offer. Programs tailored to certain career fields and special courses make the school a great learning environment.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sheldon High School
8333 Kingsbridge Drive, Sacramento, CA  95829
(916) 681-7500
Last modified Sheldon High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Sheldon High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 42 reviews. Top