Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


American Lakes Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted April 30, 2016
- a parent
Most teachers care so much for the kids and although they are burned out, they give their whole hearts to those kids. Thank you for that. My child will never forget your impacts on him.

American Lakes Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted April 30, 2016
- a parent
Because they aren't supported enough to do more with the children. They are constantly putting out fires with behavior, so they don't have the time and resources to be as effective as they would be.


American Lakes Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted April 30, 2016
- a parent
Behavior is so poor from so many students and there doesn't seem to be enough time to try to fit in these skills with the students. Staff seems to constantly just put out fires instead.

American Lakes Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted April 30, 2016
- a parent
Students aren't held to high standards in order to demonstrate these qualities. Pure survival is what the students do, based on what I have observed

American Lakes Elementary School 5

Posted March 24, 2010
- a parent
This school is small with a very involved principal and teachers who work as a well-blended team who meet the needs of the challenged and gifted students. Sstudents are closely monitored and this team teachers-principal have created their own local assessments to measure students. The school motto is 'Failure is not an Option, and they really challenge themselves to live this every day. All what parents need for their children can be found here.


American Lakes Elementary School
no rating

Posted March 06, 2009
- a parent
My children just started at this school coming from H.Allen Hight, (a brand new school) and I have to say that I am more impressed with this smaller (older) school. I have heard that previous years were quite a different experience, but with the addition of the new prinicpal I have nothing but great things to say. The academics are more challenging, the class sizes are much smaller as is the school. I feel as if my children are not swallowed up in the gigantic school size/classrooms any more. The staff is a little more mature in teaching experience and even the secretary at the front office make it her mission to have you feel welcomed and informed as a new family member of the school. I am excited my children have become Eagles of American Lakes and their excitment to learn has been evident ever since the move. Thanks A.L.

American Lakes Elementary School 5

Posted August 20, 2008
- a parent
I love the teachers here. The rsp teacher Mrs. Nakahara, made my daughter who she is today. And that is what teaching is supposed to be.

American Lakes Elementary School 5

Posted August 31, 2006
- a parent
My 3rd grade son has been a student at American Lakes since Kindergarten. When he first started I thought the teachers didn't really care (nor the former Principal). Now with all the new teachers and a Mr. K, the school is really turning around. The school scores went up this year due in part to more teacher and parent involvement. Also, the PTA has helped tremendously and we will continue to help wherever we can.


American Lakes Elementary School 2

Posted April 11, 2006
- a parent
Modearte rating for the Special Education program. Teachers really care but it's not a strong learning program. No extra curricular activities offered other than the after scool programs offered through the City Rec programs.

American Lakes Elementary School 1

Posted May 09, 2005
- a parent
I feel the overall quality of this school is very poor. I can't speak very highly of the principal. My kids never liked her. I feel it's been wasted educational years for them at this school.

Nearby schools

American Lakes Elementary School
2800 Stonecreek Drive, Sacramento, CA  95833-1634
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. (916) 567-5500
Last modified American Lakes Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top