Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Caleb Greenwood Elementary School

Public | K-6 | 566 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 4, 2013

Caleb Greenwood Elementary was already a good school, but now has the principal and teachers to take it much higher. There is a tremendous upswing at Caleb with the implementation of the IB program underway, the only PYP in the entire Sac City school district. The school is located in a safe, quiet, community which serves as the hub of River park. It has exceptional after school programs, arts, music, computer lab, gardening, foreign language...all of which are tied directly to the IB. If you see anything less than an average review for Caleb Greenwood on this website, I'm betting it was posted before 9/2012. I challenge the parent who posted in Jan 2012 stating "The principal is lacking respect for the students and parents. Her best interest is test scores". This is simply untrue. As part of the IB, Caleb is required to include ALL students of all skill levels to be taught the same curriculum, there are no students pushed aside while those who excel are given priority. If her child was not included I'm guessing resources were maxed out, as Caleb does draw in students with special needs. That's a tough balancing act for any principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2013

A wonderful community of teachers, families, staff, and students! I have had three children at the school and have been very pleased with our experience there. My three are GATE qualified and have always been challenged and more-than-prepapred for middle school and beyond.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2012

I HAVE 3 Kids that attend the school And all teachers r wonderfull I enjoy the father and daughter dance every year thanks....From Enrique Angelo and joseph and Destiney cervantes
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2012

We bought in the East Sac area so we could attend Caleb Greenwood. We have been dissapointed both years we have been there. If you have an above average student then Caleb is a great school. Your child will get the best teacher with the best students. My child struggles but does not qualify for extra help. He is getting the short end of the stick and I feel is getting lost. The principal is lacking respect for the students and parents. Her best interest is test scores. We are looking for a new school this coming Fall. I do love the community feeling that Caleb has and just wish that things were done better to give EVERY child a fair chance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2011

Once this school gets a principle that strives to include the who community of the school, not just certain families, is consistent with supporting teaching staff and is actually friendly to parents on campus, this school will be great again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2010

Our child requires an "IEP" (Individualized Educational Plan) and that is the reason we are choosing a public school. We have been incredibly impressed with the level of expertise of the Resource Dept. I have also appreciated the front office staff --they are very busy, get repeatedly interrupted and are still gracious.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2010

They gave our son a wonderful start to his education which will be a lifelong adventure for him.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2010

I applied to this school because it has the best teachers in the neighborhood (4th & 1st now attending). They have been wonderful at noticing each child's developmental needs. Socially and intellectually my children have thrived. I am impressed with the extreme parent involvement. The field trips are amazing. Extra school programs include art, music, science, dance, theatre, running club, etc. I have been very pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2009

Overall, we are very happy with this school. I think they could find ways to get parents more involved and they have a poor PE program for jr. high students, but overall, we are happy that the school is a close part of its community, the teachers are great and my kids are thriving well in the environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2008

I have been nothing but pleased with Caleb Greenwood. My son has been at this school since kindergarten, and is now in 3rd grade. The teachers have been supportive and have challenged him academically.We just attended the winter concert and realized that not many other schools have music programs. There are also great afterschool programs as well.The staff has been helpful and always there to lend a hand, and I am so lucky that Caleb has such great parents,too, that participate in the class as well as around campus.Caleb has always had a great reputation and continues to grow and evolve despite tough economic times. We are lucky to have this jewel in our neighborhood!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2008

I went to Caleb Greenwood for 7th and 8th grade. I loved the school and the activities we got to do. For our 8th grade trip we got to go to San Francisco. The only two things I did not like is that Caleb is a very small school so going into a big High School was a shock, and the other thing is I didn't feel like the teachers were that involved, but if I had to recommend one it would be Mrs. Carey. [Middle school english teaher] she was the teacher that helped me the most.


Posted September 25, 2007

I transfered my daughter from Kit Carson to Caleb Greenwood two years ago, becuase KC lacked responsible leadership. Although Caleb Greenwood seems to be a better enviroment for my daughter, I am not thrilled about the fact that my child ia aware of school politics and staff challenges. It is also obvious that the children of the mothers that have time to 'shoot the breeze' with school staff or on PTA like programs rcv preferred treatment. I am very involved with my childs education and feel that she excels because of the support she rcvs at home. I considered home schooling, but feel she should have a traditional 'school' experience. Suggestion: Leadership should reach out to all paents and stop catering to the parents and staff with personal drama; it is a school not 'all my children.'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2007

My daughter attended Caleb for kindergarten. I was pretty disappointed. Her teacher was really good but the school was rundown and I perceived a lack of support, both financial and professional, from the district toward its staff. I volunteered in class often and saw what I felt were serious deficiencies in well-rounded curriculum, focusing instead on what test scores would reflect. It seems a problem with the state of California public education in general, but I am eternally grateful for those teachers who are committed to making it the best experience possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2007

Caleb Greenwood School has exceeded my expectations for a k-8 school. We transferred our child from a sit-at-a-desk-and-grind-out-the-work school, and have been very satisfied with Calebs nuturing environment. We consider Caleb to be SCUSD's best kept secret. Music is taught k-8 with a full-time music teacher, Fall and Spring plays via the Missoula Childrens Theatre. After school programs include: talent show, arts festival, girls running club and art. Parental involvment is very high, and completely voluntary. The PTSO is very active in sponsoring many enriching programs. Math is taught at one grade level higher than usual. A new interim principal has been hired, Christine Hanifen. One of our children is gate identified and was invited to attend a local gate school. We decided to stay at Caleb because of the quality of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2007

This school is fabulous for kindergarten through second grade. After second grade the teachers lack any real skills and treat the children as objects. Caleb has a reputation of treating girls very well, but if you are the parent of a son I highly recommend sending him somewhere else. Caleb is a typical public school with nothing special to add.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2005

I have sent 4 of my children to Caleb-Greenwood and for the most part was happy with the learning environment. I had one major dissappointment, though, when my daughter graduated from 8th Grade with a 3.6 grade point average. Not only was her name left off of the graduation program, but she was not honored as a good student at the graduation in spite of all of her hard work. It took her parents to bring this to the teacher's and principal's attention. She was just overlooked, I guess, as a good student. The emotional damage is there. 'I worked hard, but no one noticed me.' She only got her honors award after I talked to someone. Otherwise it is a good school. I encourage her to continue to do her best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2005

So far the Kindergarten thru 2nd grade experience has been wonderful. Very caring & attentive teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2005

A highly motivated staff that delivers a highly engaging curriculum that challenges the advanced to below grade level learner. A wide variety of after-school programs are available, including dance, art, keyboards, and science club. The school has an active Parent, Teachers Student Organization. A wide variety of activities are financed by the PTSO to offer students educational opportunities in areas of ballet and theatre.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2005

Up until 3rd grade all the teachers are exceptional. However and with the current principal all new teachers being hired are only yes people and are not dedicated or inspiring or have their students interest in mind. A couple of the teachers are actually very cruel.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 23, 2004

I have one child who is currently attending her 4th year at Caleb. It is a wonderful school nestled in a fabulous community. The school staff is exceptional, talented, and passionate about the childrens' growth, and the level of parent involvement is encouraging. I chose this school after careful research and if I had it to do over again, would make the same choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

828

Change from
2012 to 2013

+12

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

5 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

1 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

828

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+12

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

5 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

1 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
57%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
60%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
78%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
77%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
52%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
61%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students62%
Females90%
Males40%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)76%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability69%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only65%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)58%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate71%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students80%
Females85%
Males76%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)92%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability87%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only81%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)83%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate86%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students54%
Females64%
Males47%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)65%
Economically disadvantaged29%
Not economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability51%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only56%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state74%

Math

All Students80%
Females77%
Males81%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino64%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disability91%
Students with no reported disability77%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only81%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students73%
Females66%
Males80%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)74%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability73%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only74%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)81%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state58%

Math

All Students73%
Females69%
Males77%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)77%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability71%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only74%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)81%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students68%
Females69%
Males67%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino52%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)76%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability72%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only72%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented94%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)76%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state41%

Math

All Students75%
Females74%
Males77%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino68%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)79%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability79%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only75%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)67%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state63%

Science

All Students59%
Females58%
Males62%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino38%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)72%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability64%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only63%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented94%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)56%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students60%
Females74%
Males40%
African American27%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino44%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability63%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only61%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate64%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)53%
Parent education - college graduate62%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students51%
Females62%
Males38%
African American36%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino38%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)74%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability54%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only53%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate55%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)53%
Parent education - college graduate50%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 61%
Hispanic 22%
Two or more races 7%
Asian 3%
Black 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 32%N/AN/A
English language learners 3%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Amy Whitten
Fax number
  • (916) 277-6591

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5457 Carlson Drive
Sacramento, CA 95819
Website: Click here
Phone: (916) 277-6266

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Shalom School
Sacramento, CA



St Mary School
Sacramento, CA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT