Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Albert Einstein Middle School

Public | 7-8 | 750 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Sacramento

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $138,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $920.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 12, 2014

I think accusing people such as this person who states to claim how this School lost an enture school file are rather funny. You people always enjoy laying the blame onto someone else. Grow up and stop blaming others for your wrongs. Nobody owes you nothing. This is an alright school a little bit over welming on students of the non white heritage. If other cultures. Chooses to be disruptive and or obnoxious then the facility needa to eliminate the disturbance. People at school are there to learn , not to be distracted by an annoyance. Some people like myself do infact care about education. Education and educated people excell in this world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2010

My son came to Einstein from an elementary GATE program. He has enjoyed challenging and engaging classes while at Einstein with many exceptional teachers including Ms. Nickel in the math department, Ms. Leas in history, Mrs. Cacamo in science, Mr. Combrink in language arts, Mrs. Zimny in band and Mr. Blockman in PE. I appreciate how quickly teachers respond to email and that I have never once been worried about my child's safety while at this school. High marks for the dedicated Einstein staff!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2010

Horrible lost my friends sons school records.Was there a fire? or flood no just simply lost an entire school record who does that to a straigt "A" student?


Posted March 3, 2010

My son attends this school and I am very dissatisfied with it. Prior to attending Einstein my son was an honor roll student and still was for the first part of the year in middle school. However, after he became ill with the flu and was out for 2 weeks, everything went down hill. He was not given proper amount of time to make up his work. The teachers act as though they do not have a real interest in the students but moreso with covering for each other with these ridiculous alliances. It is no wonder this school's API has been low for several years. Trust me it's not the students, every child is capable of learning. The Sacramento School District needs ALOT of help it is failing our kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2009

Best school ever! the food is great the kids are so nice! I would so recomend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Albert Einstein is a neighborhood school that several years ago was not high acheiving, but in recent years has accomplished a huge turnaround and become a high acheiving school. They have developed an atmosphere where students want to excel and improved the community spirit and pride in their school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2009

Absolutely the best middle school in town! new cirriculum, new teachers that really care and involved with students. They make learning exciting! could not ask for better!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2009

yes i recomend this school i learned something new i cant beleve this school it has a librabry u could study in and get a great book right off the shelf they have caring teachers never leave a kid behind type and im excited to go next year!!!!!! 10 thumbs up =]
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 16, 2009

I enrolled my daughter in this school over one of the breaks to ensure that she would have a smooth transition from her previous school. It was a nightmare. Despite my preplanning, she sat in the office for about an hour, got a temporary schedule, and went to classes in which the teachers were not even aware they had a new student. Communication was almost non-existent. I would not reccommend this school for a child who is shy. It might be fine for a child who is more out-going and likely to insist that the teacher tell them what is required of them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2009

I think this school is great. My algebra teacher Mrs.Nickle is the best Math teacher ever! She spends alot of time helping us students on homework and the things we dont get. Mr.Brifman is also a great teacher because he challenges us and even though what we are learning is hard to understand he helps us Just like all the other and great teacher! Also Einstein has this great Media Production whice I love! Mrs.Osteen is the nicest .
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 16, 2009

I love this school. My teachers are really friendly and nice. Im gonna miss Einstein because in going to high school next year. I went to this school for two years. I love my teachers Mr.McKenna and Mr.Burrill.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 2, 2008

I am very impressed by the teaching staff as well as the curriculum. My son has showed great improvement and absolutely loves Algebra thanks to his teacher Ms. Nikels! Thank you all staff at Einstein for providing my son with the necessary tools and guidance to succeed! Kudos!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2008

This school is ok but it's kind of plain. The teachers and staff are very nice. but the school overall needs Improvement!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 6, 2008

i am a student at albert einsten and i absolutly love the school!!!! it is so awsome!!!! the principle is sooooo nice. and we have activities and thing like that. i will miss einstein next year, going to high school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 29, 2004

My son started 7th grade this year. I was very impressed with his curriculum. The only class that I did not agree with for him was Band. He loses books, backpacks, coats and I could not agree to sign a form that I would pay $800 for an instrument if he lost it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2004

My child had a chance to attend last year and will again attend this school year. I do not believe this school to be exeptionally violent, although this school is in great need of tranportation revamping as well as more teacher parent relations. It seemed to be extremely hard to contact teachers when educational needs were an issue. Thank you for your time. And when I met the principle she was extremely unfriendly towards me, as a parent concerened with my childs new school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2004

After reading the first response, I am astounded! I'm writing so that others may review another's opinion. I have helped out with this school and have seen first-hand how the principal is. This principal is fantastic. I am the proud parent of a National Junior Honor Society student - - and I will mention this is a program that this principal is starting - - It is the first for Albert Einstein. My child has excelled at this school, and I am thankful. Check it out for yourself - - You'll be impressed. The school cannot control people.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2004

This is truely a violent school, and has become worse over the past two years. It traditionally has had rough students, but strong teachers and a great principal. Unfortunately the great principal left for Rosemont High and so are many of the best teachers. What you are left with is the rough students. Only 21% of the population reads at grade level. Additionally, test scores have gone down, although the API has gone up. This leads me to believe that the API was artificially pumped up through survey responses, not supsending students who commit violent acts, etc. Many top students are chosing Open enrollment to attend other public schools or private schools. I am doing the same.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

766

Change from
2012 to 2013

-49

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

6 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

10 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet its schoolwide API target for 2013.
  • This school has not yet met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

766

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-49

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

6 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

10 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
98%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

347 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
56%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

290 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
50%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
54%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

297 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
56%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

169 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
7%

2010

 
 
8%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

324 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
53%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

294 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students89%
Females96%
Males85%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Non-economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability89%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only89%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented92%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)94%
Parent education - college graduate92%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students46%
Females53%
Males39%
African American35%
Asian64%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino38%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)50%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Non-economically disadvantaged49%
Students with disability28%
Students with no reported disability47%
English learner8%
Fluent-English proficient and English only51%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented93%
Parent education - not a high school graduate46%
Parent education - high school graduate33%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)46%
Parent education - college graduate51%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate62%
Parent education - declined to state55%

Math

All Students47%
Females50%
Males45%
African American37%
Asian80%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino38%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)51%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Non-economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disability31%
Students with no reported disability48%
English learner42%
Fluent-English proficient and English only48%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented81%
Parent education - not a high school graduate50%
Parent education - high school graduate35%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)45%
Parent education - college graduate55%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate65%
Parent education - declined to state56%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students59%
Females68%
Males51%
African American31%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino56%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)63%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Non-economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability59%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only60%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented77%
Parent education - not a high school graduate64%
Parent education - high school graduate68%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)55%
Parent education - college graduate67%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students51%
Females58%
Males44%
African American33%
Asian59%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino45%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)64%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Non-economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disability11%
Students with no reported disability54%
English learner0%
Fluent-English proficient and English only55%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented95%
Parent education - not a high school graduate39%
Parent education - high school graduate50%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)54%
Parent education - college graduate56%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate71%
Parent education - declined to state35%

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Students23%
Females25%
Males20%
African American19%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino28%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)22%
Economically disadvantaged23%
Non-economically disadvantaged21%
Students with disability7%
Students with no reported disability28%
English learner5%
Fluent-English proficient and English only25%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate27%
Parent education - high school graduate25%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)18%
Parent education - college graduate19%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state13%

Geometry

All Students87%
Females83%
Males90%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Non-economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability87%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only87%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented96%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)100%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students48%
Females48%
Males47%
African American27%
Asian65%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino39%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)62%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Non-economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disability11%
Students with no reported disability54%
English learner4%
Fluent-English proficient and English only51%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented98%
Parent education - not a high school graduate40%
Parent education - high school graduate52%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)46%
Parent education - college graduate54%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate61%
Parent education - declined to state29%

Science

All Students51%
Females48%
Males54%
African American30%
Asian55%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino42%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)66%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Non-economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disability19%
Students with no reported disability53%
English learner5%
Fluent-English proficient and English only54%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented98%
Parent education - not a high school graduate34%
Parent education - high school graduate46%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)63%
Parent education - college graduate47%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate65%
Parent education - declined to state47%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 36% 26%
Hispanic 26% 52%
Black 21% 6%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 9% 11%
Two or more races 6% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 67%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:28 am
School end time
  • 2:28 pm
School Leader's name
  • Garrett Kirkland
Fax number
  • (916) 228-5813

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9325 Mirandy Drive
Sacramento, CA 95826
Website: Click here
Phone: (916) 228-5800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT