Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public
Sacramento, CA
Students enrolled: 329
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


17 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


H. W. Harkness Elementary School 2

Posted September 16, 2013
- a parent
This school was awesome when Mr. Chapman was here. No if's, and's, or but's. Chapman left some big shoes to fill, and expected standards. All the parents, staff, and returning students are just so use to how Harkness was so awesomely ran. Chapman knew every child's first and last name, he took the time to get to know all the families as well. The staff is what's holding Harkness together right now. Getting new teachers is do able, but Harkness will NEVER be the same without Mr. Eric Chapman as principal. But in all respect as Harkness parents and staff we do need to give the new principal SOME time to adjust to our wonderful school, let's see what she can offer and contribute to keep Harkness the wonderful school that it has been.

H. W. Harkness Elementary School 4

Posted September 13, 2013
- a community member
Dr.Smith-Simmons loves all children that is what helps make her a great educator. Those of you who compare her to Mr.C must remember no two people are alike. She is new to Harkness...so give yourself some time to see how really great and caring she really is and what an asset she is to the lives of your children. Dr.Smith-Simmons keep on enhancing the lives of all children everyday!


H. W. Harkness Elementary School 5

Posted September 12, 2013
- a parent
May god be with all!! Please be patient ... Parents If god put her here its for a reason.... My kids come home everyday and talk very well about the principal.. They love her ... And for one of my kids to say that it's hard.... She won there little hearts how??? Who knows only her and god... Patients she will be a great principal give her time....may god bless you all....

H. W. Harkness Elementary School 5

Posted September 11, 2013
- a community member
Dr. Simmons is a dedicated educator. I can't wait too see the greatness she will bring to Harkness.

H. W. Harkness Elementary School 1

Posted September 11, 2013
- a parent
Awful......... we want Mr .Chapmen back please come back the school is not the school it use to be please do it for the kids


H. W. Harkness Elementary School 1

Posted September 11, 2013
- a parent
What can I say I'm a concerned father.. And it looks that I'm not the only one..... If the school district sees this do us parents a huge favor and offer mr chapmen more if that's what it takes to bring him back have you seen this principal in the mornings on her phone ignoring Harkness kids to go get her kids from her other school??? I think that's selfish and discriminating against Harkness kids and family how you going to walk right past us!! And ignore us!! A concerned father

H. W. Harkness Elementary School 5

Posted September 11, 2013
- a parent
I am not in agreement with some of the comments a few parents have made about the new principle. They are upset because she does not greet everyone, always on her phone,or a habit of greeting the bused students in the morning. I hope these parents can stop complaining about a few minor issues and try to focus on solutions to make things better. I believe that the principle cares about of all her students and she is working long hours everyday to ensure that things are going smoothly. I believe important things are getting done and that there are good things to come on the horizion-(just give it some time). In case you disgrunted parents haven't noticed , there are about 75 more students to deal with in the morning, compared to last year and some of these students may have special needs that require special arrangements, and that could be the reason you see her talking or texting on the phone, could she be trying to find solutions for these students, or prehaps she could be just talking to a concerned parent. I feel it is not fair to compare the past principle and his agendas with Dr Simmons after only (7) days of school. Parent involvement is essential, so help out!

H. W. Harkness Elementary School 5

Posted September 10, 2013
- a parent
This school was a five when mr. Chapmen was here!! mr.p is also a great teacher.... This new principal awful she's always on phone opens Gates late.... Doesn't great Harkness kids or parents. But goes to wait for the kids from her old school.. Around to the side of the school... Why??? She's rude!! This school is not for her we ant Mr. chapmen back.... She's nothing compared to him he was educated , polite , and cared for the parents and children... And always opened the gate a bit earlier for the kids to eat breakfast never did he say parents could not sit with kids to have breakfast ... And this new principal forbids that....!! Why??? This school needs a new principal school district move on it please!! For the happiness of are kids... The kids can't walk the track anymore??? Why???


H. W. Harkness Elementary School 1

Posted September 06, 2013
- a parent
School since first day is bad, this principal is awful , she's on her iPhone all day while on the playground never comes in front of school to greet parents or students...... We had a meeting for the after school program and she didnt say a word she was again on her iPhone either talking or texting!!! School district please send us a new principal!!!!

H. W. Harkness Elementary School 5

Posted March 20, 2010
- a teacher
H.W. Harkness has the best teachers in Sacramento! The teachers are devoted to their students and they spend hours developing personalized, standards-based lessons. Each teacher demonstrates devotion to their students. All of the teachers at Harkness do homevisits and attend the monthly 'Family Nights' at the school. It is a very friendly and family-oriented school.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

H. W. Harkness Elementary School
2147 54th Avenue, Sacramento, CA  95822
(916) 433-5042
Last modified H. W. Harkness Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
H. W. Harkness Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top