Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Phoebe A. Hearst Elementary School

Public | 1-6 | 564 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
Based on 9 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

60 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 7, 2011

I think this school has a lot of great programs and certainly parent involvement, and PH certainly meets many children's needs; however, it was not right for my child and our family. We switched here expecting great teachers, but the teacher that my son got was burned out and, even worse, condescending to the children. Furthermore, the rigid expectations and lack of warmth really dampened my child's love of learning--in our opinion they expect too much in regards to homework from children who should still have some time to be children. My son began to develop some behavior problems while here, but happily they were resolved shortly after switching him back to his previous school. I am disappointed we ever tried this school out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2011

I was a student at Phoebe Hearst and here's exactly what happened: Had an absolutely excellent time in second grade Had a terrible time in third grade and switched school Came back in fourth grade and experienced the worst year of my entire life both socially and academically. Teachers came and went and every single student hated me for no apparent reason In fifth grade things were slightly better but not really. At least the teacher was the same throughout the whole year In sixth grade had a very good year. My grades shot up, nearly all the kids forgot to hate me, and I really liked the teacher. However, throughout everything that happened at Phoebe one office worker was really mean to me, calling me into the office for slight uniform violations (i.e. short just barely too short) while not saying a word to more serious violations (i.e. literally a halter top), and I was called in nearly every single day for not wearing socks while others weren't at all. I also received a citation for walking on the grass, which I consider absolutely ridiculous. I am so much happier at middle school now, where you can wear whatever and nobody wastes time yelling at you for insignificant details.


Posted March 4, 2011

Phoebe has super teachers, excellent principal, outstanding parental involvement - and great kids! Phoebe is a wonderful place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2011

I love this school! It's awesome, and The teacher's are super duper nice! I really love my 6'th grade teacher, Mr.Goul!(Hi mr. Goul! It's Kaylene!) XD lolololololololololol XP


Posted February 8, 2010

I completely agree with the latest post from 2-7-2009. The princial is lacking in the leadership department and seems to be focused on the 2nd school he is in charge off. There a few teachers that do not know what they are doing and are a complete waist of the childres and parents time. If you don't have a principle you can turn to when your child is in need, what is the point? I have a 6th and a 4th grader at Phoebe, and as the years have passed I have become more and more disapointed with the leadership at the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2010

The parents at this school have worked very hard and have fought tooth and nail to keep desirable programs, like art and music, afloat. And of course, the kids are great! Unfortunately, leadership is lacking at this school and the teaching my child received was very uneven. Personal experience with some teaching staff was extremely unprofessional. A small school like this one doesn't afford much choice when teachers aren't meeting your child's need. And the principal is doing very little to weed out those teachers who are just 'biding their time,' while they waste the precious time of the students they are trained professionally to serve and inspire.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2009

One of the top elementary schools in the district because it attracts good students. It has built on its success by continuing to attract motivated/involved parents who want to have their kids surrounded with like-minded families. It is not a neighborhood school, so all prospective students must apply through open enrollment. Significantly, this means that the school draws the kids of academically activist parents with high expectations and typically a home environment that augments the school's academics. But, like any school, the student's experience will vary by the teacher. Some PH teachers are just okay and some are great. I believe the school's strength comes from the parents that expect much from their own children. (One child is former Phoebe Hearst alum and one is currently at the school.)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2009

Great school. My daughter has excelled here. There does, however, need to be a little more diversity in the staff. There are excellent teachers of all types. I think Phoebe Hearst should actively persue them. You have no idea what added layer of diversity can add to the richness that already is Phoebe H.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2008

This is an excellent school. Yes the curriculum is the same as other public schools, but the teachers do more as students must be at grade level to attend this school. This means they have time to learn poems, keep journals do some science, art, music and PE. If you child is at or above grade level your child will get more attention than at other schools. The kids who struggle in first grade are the ones who cannot already read by the time they enter first grade but even these few students learn fast. I feel lucky that my son has an excellent first grade teacher who has a lot of compassion and experience. Don't judge a school just by its test scores. Scores are high as kids are expected to be AND stay at grade level and I'm sure that puts pressure on the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2008

Best API score int he area. Our children are excelling academically and what's most important is that they are loving school because of the great teaching. Faculty is great and principal is wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2008

Excellent school. Great academics. Great teachers and wonderful principal. Parent involvement is encouraged and sought out. This is definitely the best school (private or public) in this area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2008

Big Mistake sending our son to this school, school centers around test scores and reputation dismissing the uniqueness of each child. Our son has displayed anxiety low self-steem and fear regarding making mistakes and not being heard by teachers and staff. As parents we have experinced the staff including the principal to be very closed minded and onesided regardless how we attempt to comunicate, the achivements as well as concerns regarding our son. Our son who was prior to attending Phoebe Hearst was curious happy and eager to learn, since attending this school he has become a robot in his efforts to please and achieve the expectations put on him by the staff. Our son is only in the first grade if we were to do it again we would have never elected Phoebe Hearst as a school for our son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2008

Our son is a student at Phoebe Hearst and the school is great. The opportunities for parent involvment are tremendous and the teachers/staff are excellent. Many people seem to think the school focuses too much on the academics...We disagree whole-heartedly. We find that curriculum is age-appropriate and presented in a way that challenges students while also providing wonderful, positive feedback and recognition. The principal and teachers are always available and willing to listen to concerns/thoughts of the parents. The teachers show a dedication to the success of the students above and beyond what we have seen at other schools. The student body is diverse and the learning environment is ideal. We are glad to be part of the Phoebe Hearst family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2008

Our 3rd Grade Daughter transferred over from a private school at the beginning of the 2nd semester in Nov 07. Our concerns about academic equivalence were immediately allayed. Our daughter has been academically challenged at Phoebe Hearst. We enjoy the larger diverse community and appreciate the consistent teaching and administrative attention. The level of professional dedication to the students and the support to the families shows at many different levels. We are proud to call Phoebe Hearst our school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2008

Focused on test scores to a fault, staff does not have age appropriate expectations of students, curriculum is narrow and very rigid, principal not willing to listen to parents, feel it was a big mistake to send my kid here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2007

There is no better public school in East Sacramento. My children are in an academically challenged, creative and safe environment. The best part about Phoebe Hearst is the community of parents who've selected this school, commit to the 40 parent hours and embrace the cultural and socio-economic diversity of all the families. The parents at this school work together to make the school a great place for their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2007

All things considered Phoebe Hearst seems like a really good public school. There are a lot of school functions which make it fun for the kids like the Harvest Festival. I am however seriously questioning the curriculum as it seems far too elementary for a child that might previously have had a high quality private education. We have been waiting for the homework to get a little more appropriately difficult. In meeting with my daughter's teacher and coworker it seems as though they have already decided what they are going to say before we even meet. I work at a different elementary school in the district at a low performing school and noticed that the homework is exactly the same. I think the main difference is that at Phoebe Hearst the children are mostly nice and respectful which is a nice safe learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2007

I can't believe this is not a neighborhood school. So many parents are involved in this school, it feels so much like a neighborhood school. The school mandates a 40 hours per academic school year of parent involvement which is great for us because we like being involved with our kids. The art program is growing and so is the science program. You can't beat the academics that this school provides. This is East Sac's best kept secret.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2007

This is a gem of a school in the East Sacramento area. We had just moved into the neighborhood in the spring of this year and were looking around for a school and was disappointed to find a lack of good schools in the area (including private schools) and someone told me to look at the API scores for Phoebe Hearst and was totally floored with this school's academic achievements. Needless to say I went and visited and found the school to be a goldmine. My wife and I are professionals and we want our 3 kids to excel in school and we are looking forward to working in this wonderful school community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2007

There is no piano lessons or band practice after school.The Art program is 10 hours per year.Mad Science was offered for the first time last year and only for 8 weeks.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

940

Change from
2012 to 2013

+7

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

10 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

5 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

940

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+7

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

10 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

5 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
61%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students87%
Females91%
Males82%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino74%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)93%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability87%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only90%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented97%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate96%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate93%
Parent education - declined to state71%

Math

All Students92%
Females92%
Males92%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino83%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)96%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability92%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only93%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate97%
Parent education - declined to state76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students74%
Females63%
Males82%
African Americann/a
Asian82%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino38%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)84%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability73%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only76%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state77%

Math

All Students83%
Females73%
Males92%
African Americann/a
Asian91%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino63%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability83%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only85%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students88%
Females89%
Males87%
African American92%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino82%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)95%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability89%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only88%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate94%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate83%
Parent education - declined to state88%

Math

All Students97%
Females94%
Males100%
African American100%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino95%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)95%
Economically disadvantaged96%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability97%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only97%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate94%
Parent education - declined to state95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students91%
Females93%
Males90%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino80%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)98%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability91%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only91%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate100%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate88%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state95%

Math

All Students86%
Females88%
Males85%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino67%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability87%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only86%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented98%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate91%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate88%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state89%

Science

All Students84%
Females83%
Males85%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino53%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability84%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only84%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented98%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate82%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate88%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students81%
Females87%
Males75%
African American85%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino70%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability81%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only82%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented98%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate91%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)74%
Parent education - college graduate70%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate92%
Parent education - declined to state84%

Math

All Students81%
Females89%
Males73%
African American77%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino74%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability82%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only82%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented94%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate91%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)89%
Parent education - college graduate60%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate92%
Parent education - declined to state80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 51%
Hispanic 21%
Asian 10%
Two or more races 7%
Black 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 24%N/AN/A
English language learners 3%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Andrea Egan
Fax number
  • (916) 277-6739

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1410 60th Street
Sacramento, CA 95819
Phone: (916) 277-6690

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St Mary School
Sacramento, CA




Success Academy
Sacramento, CA


John Paul II School
Sacramento, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT