Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
69 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 81 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Phoebe A. Hearst Elementary School 5

Posted October 18, 2015
- a parent
Phoebe Hearst is an amazing school with fantastic teachers. As another review suggested, you SHOULD go observe the kids on the playground, but you won't see what that reviewer claimed at all. You'll see joyful kids behaving respectfully and kindly toward one another. The kids are NOT overburdened with homework as so many people claim (almost all of whom have never had a child attend the school). It is academically rigorous, but not overly demanding for the vast majority. My daughter attended PH from 1st - 6th grade and loved every minute of it, and she was better prepared for middle school than most of her friends who attended other schools - both private and public.

Phoebe A. Hearst Elementary School 1

Posted May 11, 2015
- a parent
I'm taking my kids out of Phoebe Hearst Elementary and placing them in a more diverse and supportive school. If your child is very competitive and confident they may thrive here. If you value lots of homework you may like this school. If you child is sensitive and may need additional help look elsewhere. The Principle at PH is not fair in his discipline and not understanding for kids that don't fit in the academically rigorist school. I did like all of the teachers my kids had but the office manager and principle were not flexible and the parent community seemed competitive.


Phoebe A. Hearst Elementary School 2

Posted January 23, 2015
- a parent
This is a very academic school. Because there is a GATE program, it obviously draws many competitive parents here. My son is doing well there and went to the GATE program after being identified at first grade. My daughter is in Kindergarten and hates school. The teachers at this school are NOT warm. You will not be rewarded by a 'warm community feel' here. A lot of 'tiger moms'. My wife and I wanted to give public school a try, and even though the school is strong academically, we fear they will beat the love of learning our of our children. They get excellent scores on their test scores, because that is all they do. Go to the playground and watch the kids. There is not a lot of what you would expect in a regular elementary school. Kids dragging around backpacks that are 3 times their size with a flat expression on their faces. As we believe education is a long road for our little ones, we felt this is not the most enriching environment. If you can afford a private education and are debating whether you should give the public system a chance, we did, we were not impressed. We are pulling our children out.

Phoebe A. Hearst Elementary School 5

Posted April 09, 2014
- a parent
My daughter enrolled at Phoebe Hearst mid year of 1st grade. Her teacher Ms. Auge is AMAZING! She really helped Madison acclimate to classroom and Madison was in full pace with her peers by 3rd quarter. The staff, principal, and teachers are truly a community. Not to mention the support that the fellow parents provide is unmeasured. I would highly recommend this school to any parents that values their child's education.

Phoebe A. Hearst Elementary School 5

Posted September 14, 2013
- a parent
Phoebe Hearst has been a great fit for our diverse(2 inter-racial Dads with a bi-racial son) family. Aside from academics being a priority, we equally impressed knowing that the school was a big advocate and supporter of anti-bullying initiatives. Our son was one of the first Kindergarten classes in 2012 and he loved it. He is now in the first grade and loves it too. The Principal and school staff are very attentive and demonstrate genuine concern for the students. Parents are very involved as well which helps create a welcoming and supportive environment for everyone.


Phoebe A. Hearst Elementary School 5

Posted August 26, 2013
- a parent
Awesome school! Our son transferred to Phoebe Hearst (2nd grade) from a private school. Our worries were quickly put to rest when we found that parents are very involved in school activities and their students education. As a whole, the kids and their parents are respectful and considerate. The principal and teachers do a great job - especially considering the super high student:teacher ratio. Kids are eager to go to school and the environment encourages learning. Test scores are really good but this can be explained easily. Phoebe Hearst is a GATE feeder school so many of the top students in reading, math and science go to this school. There are a lot of ex-private school families. Most of the parents we talk to are really happy with PH. That said, each child has different needs and the classroom environment is largely influenced by the teacher, students, parents and overall tone set by the principal. The high student:teacher ratio means that parents have to really engage with their kids to make up for any lack of personalized attention that the teachers cannot provide. Looking forward to a great 3rd grade experience this school year.

Phoebe A. Hearst Elementary School 3

Posted July 29, 2013
- a parent
PH is a good school and scores well in all the standardized tests; however, this shouldn't come to anyone's surprise mainly because PH is a non-neighborhood schools most of the kids entering kindergarten are assessed prior to the opportunity of participating in the lottery. This school can handpick individual students which isn't a good practice in any public school system. Other schools do not have that luxury and no school should be allowed to conduct any kind of assessment as this promotes an imbalance in education opportunity.

Phoebe A. Hearst Elementary School 5

Posted May 20, 2013
- a parent
You get what you and your child put into this school. Yes, the teachers are strict and have high expectations. However, some parents expect the teachers to do all the work during school hours but does not provide any support after school. Don't blame the educational system if you're not helping your child by complementing the day's lessons.


Phoebe A. Hearst Elementary School 2

Posted May 18, 2013
- a parent
I cant see what everything about school is so great. as more students are joining the teachers cant prioritize their students. they are focused on high scores and good grades yet cant help them. its sad to see Phoebe becoming so arrogant and all.

Phoebe A. Hearst Elementary School 5

Posted March 22, 2013
- a parent
I switched my 3 children to this school, I have to say I'm very happy with all 3 teachers and the school in general. There is a lot of parent envolvement which is great. There are high expectations and it's "cool" to be smart at PH.

Nearby schools

Phoebe A. Hearst Elementary School
1410 60th Street, Sacramento, CA  95819-4221
(916) 277-6690
Last modified Phoebe A. Hearst Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top