Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 66 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


71 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Phoebe A. Hearst Elementary School 4

Posted May 22, 2014
- a parent
This is a wonderful school. When you are able to affort a private education but choose to go through a public school, you have a higher level of scrutiny. My husband and I have been very happy about this school. It is quite structured, however. Those parents who want their kids to be treated 'special', may be quite disappointed because every kid is treated the same. That is what struck me as a positive aspect of this school. There is not too much time allowed for non-academic exploration, but there are afterschool venues that are provided for a nominal fee and fill the gap. We have two children and are unsure what a fit it will be for our second one who is not as focused as the first, but I will say that the level of parental involvement in the school, as well as the quality of the teachers, has impressed us both that we will recommend this school wholeheartely. A word of caution though: A lot of Tiger Moms; so do not be surprised. This is not a laid back touchy-feely environment. If that is what you are looking for, this is not the right school for you...

Phoebe A. Hearst Elementary School 5

Posted April 09, 2014
- a parent
My daughter enrolled at Phoebe Hearst mid year of 1st grade. Her teacher Ms. Auge is AMAZING! She really helped Madison acclimate to classroom and Madison was in full pace with her peers by 3rd quarter. The staff, principal, and teachers are truly a community. Not to mention the support that the fellow parents provide is unmeasured. I would highly recommend this school to any parents that values their child's education.


Phoebe A. Hearst Elementary School 5

Posted September 14, 2013
- a parent
Phoebe Hearst has been a great fit for our diverse(2 inter-racial Dads with a bi-racial son) family. Aside from academics being a priority, we equally impressed knowing that the school was a big advocate and supporter of anti-bullying initiatives. Our son was one of the first Kindergarten classes in 2012 and he loved it. He is now in the first grade and loves it too. The Principal and school staff are very attentive and demonstrate genuine concern for the students. Parents are very involved as well which helps create a welcoming and supportive environment for everyone.
1 person found this helpful

Phoebe A. Hearst Elementary School 5

Posted August 26, 2013
- a parent
Awesome school! Our son transferred to Phoebe Hearst (2nd grade) from a private school. Our worries were quickly put to rest when we found that parents are very involved in school activities and their students education. As a whole, the kids and their parents are respectful and considerate. The principal and teachers do a great job - especially considering the super high student:teacher ratio. Kids are eager to go to school and the environment encourages learning. Test scores are really good but this can be explained easily. Phoebe Hearst is a GATE feeder school so many of the top students in reading, math and science go to this school. There are a lot of ex-private school families. Most of the parents we talk to are really happy with PH. That said, each child has different needs and the classroom environment is largely influenced by the teacher, students, parents and overall tone set by the principal. The high student:teacher ratio means that parents have to really engage with their kids to make up for any lack of personalized attention that the teachers cannot provide. Looking forward to a great 3rd grade experience this school year.

Phoebe A. Hearst Elementary School 3

Posted July 29, 2013
- a parent
PH is a good school and scores well in all the standardized tests; however, this shouldn't come to anyone's surprise mainly because PH is a non-neighborhood schools most of the kids entering kindergarten are assessed prior to the opportunity of participating in the lottery. This school can handpick individual students which isn't a good practice in any public school system. Other schools do not have that luxury and no school should be allowed to conduct any kind of assessment as this promotes an imbalance in education opportunity.


Phoebe A. Hearst Elementary School 5

Posted May 20, 2013
- a parent
You get what you and your child put into this school. Yes, the teachers are strict and have high expectations. However, some parents expect the teachers to do all the work during school hours but does not provide any support after school. Don't blame the educational system if you're not helping your child by complementing the day's lessons.

Phoebe A. Hearst Elementary School 2

Posted May 18, 2013
- a parent
I cant see what everything about school is so great. as more students are joining the teachers cant prioritize their students. they are focused on high scores and good grades yet cant help them. its sad to see Phoebe becoming so arrogant and all.

Phoebe A. Hearst Elementary School 5

Posted March 22, 2013
- a parent
I switched my 3 children to this school, I have to say I'm very happy with all 3 teachers and the school in general. There is a lot of parent envolvement which is great. There are high expectations and it's "cool" to be smart at PH.


Phoebe A. Hearst Elementary School 5

Posted February 06, 2013
- a parent
In a climate of a public schooling crisis, I feel Phoebe Hearst is rising to the challenges and continues to provide high academic expectations for all students. As a parent of a child in both a "GATE" class and "non-GATE" class, I see equal expectations of both children. There is no doubt that this year has brought big changes in the forms of bigger class sizes and "new" teachers (aka experienced teachers at a new campus). However, this is a change that all schools in our district have faced. In looking at a couple negative reviews of Phoebe from this year, I feel compeled to remind people that we must not place blame on our local schools for large class sizes and experienced educators teaching grades they have not taught before; as these changes are district, state, and union mandated. The principal's leadership at Phoebe is strong and for those that are willing to be part of a solution, there is a solution to be had for most problems. It's no secret that positive behavior and academic rigor are basic expectations at Phoebe, and that may not be for everyone; but if you want peace of mind that high expectations will be held for your child's public education, this is your school.
1 person found this helpful

Phoebe A. Hearst Elementary School 1

Posted January 25, 2013
- a parent
Everyone makes a big deal about Phoebe being the "top" school, but we don't see what all the hype is about. I would suggest parents sit and observe a few classes in action before putting their child here (don't just do the principal guided tour). The teachers are "handed" gifted students but some have become complacent and quite arrogant. There aren't any awards or kudos given to the kids for good attendance, improving academically or anything. They use negative reinforcement constantly by taking away recess. We can't understand why they don't use any positive reinforcement techniques to engage and reward the children. In addition, now that the lower grades are packed with 30 kids per classroom, my child's teacher is very overwhelmed and it's negatively impacting the students. Many of the parents feel that the principal needs to ease up on the constant "PR" and focus more on staff development INSIDE the classrooms. I would not recommend this school.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Phoebe A. Hearst Elementary School
1410 60th Street, Sacramento, CA  95819
(916) 277-6690
Last modified Phoebe A. Hearst Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades 1-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Phoebe A. Hearst Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 71 reviews. Top